We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Save Saved
You added Hotel SH Villa Gadea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partida Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Altea
Skegness, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I spent a week in the Villa Gadea with some friends. I found the hotel to be clean and well maintained. All the staff were really nice, polite and friendly. I find it strange that some reviews complained. Still it happens. The food was excellent but sometimes I found it only warm instead of hot. There was show cooking every day and the Asian night was nice but I found the dish to be very salty. There is the usual salads etc that you find in every hotel abroad but plenty of choice. I and my friends travelled with Saga. We did venture onto the beach a couple of times, it is pebbly and had a lot of seaweed on it. Not that brilliant and some pretty big stones in the water so watch your footing.
Unfortunately there were two holidays in the first few days so shops were shut in Altea. The hotel provided a taxi to the town free of charge at 10am return 1pm free of charge,book this the night before. This hotel is, in my opinion, a place to relax. If you are expecting a night life this is not for you. It is a little isolated and there are no shops or supermarkets in the vicinity. There is a small fashion shop in the hotel but it is very pricey. Kettles are NOT provided and they cannot be hired. The pools were superb and there is a pool bar, which was still open. Also an outside restaurant not included in the All Inclusive deal. The Manager/Director is a very hands on person with the hotel and was usually in the restaurant at meal times. On our first night we encountered a rather drunk gentleman who was quite rude to the older generation there. Not so pleasant. The entertainer on at the time handled it well. There was a flamenco night, which we missed, as we went to watch the new Nostalgia show at Benidorm Palace, this was excellent. There were a couple of evenings with no entertainment, we had a pianist one night and the 'sing along' a couple of nights. The spa was really good I think €22 for about 90 mins. Half price for Saga guests Monday to Thursday. If you want a really nice relaxing holiday this is ideal, the bedrooms were really nice with a jacuzzi bath and walk in shower, good size with sofa, table and chairs. If you want a lively holiday this is not for you. But recommend highly for an easy going time.

Room Tip: A room facing the Med is ideal as the sun comes up that way in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Allow me to thank you for having chosen us as your hosts during your stay in Altea with Saga.
It is a pleasure for us to read your comments in Tripadvisor and to know that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel.
We hope to welcome you back during your next visit to Spain.
Sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    140
    56
    26
    14
See reviews for
125
197
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here on a Saga inclusive holiday and found the Villa very good indeed. Not quite 5 star but getting there. Particularly appreciated the picturesque view from our balcony, overlooking the three pools and the sea. Room itself very large, comfortable, with plenty of storage space. Twin beds were fine. Bathroom amazingly large with jacuzzi bath, lovely 'wet-room shower, plus seperate toilet and bidet - both shower and toilet have glass doors if privacy desired. Everything was very clean and tidy. Reception area and bar/lounge create excellent impression and staff friendly, helpful, most English speaking. Did not experience any surliness from staff members whatever, although realise the few non-English speakers can give a misleading impression to those not speaking at least a modicum of Spanish. I found all staff a real pleasure to talk to even though my Spanish is less than fluent.Meals on a buffet basis and good quality. Interested to see chef did not like to put more than a few hot meat or fish portions on display but preferred to cook freshly, as portions taken. We also enjoyed the occasional theme night when specialist dishes were cooked, again virtually to order. There is no beach at this resort but this really does not matter. Altea is an 8 Euro taxi ride away but can also be accessed by the light railway (known as the tram) every hour running between Denia and Benidorm with connections elsewhere. The station is a short, slightly uphill walk and known as Olla Altea - alight at Garganes, next door to Town Hall. Tickets issued on the train. No.27 bus from Altea will stop right outside the hotel but not quite so easy on the journey into town as road is busy, no path and the stop quite a distance. Suggest taxi in to town and bus out is a good (and cheap) compromise. Enjoyed this holiday very much.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea for your recent stay in Altea with Saga.
It is very glad to check you had a nice experience during your stay, this is an indicator that we are in the right way.
We appreciate very much your comments regarding the facilities, the service and the staff, your feed-back encourage us to improve our service every day, we greatly appreciate your opinion.
We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Yours faithfully,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Quick recap - The landscaping, the pools and the long stretch of pine tree beachfront property are seriously breathtaking. The views from your private terrace overlooking the grounds and sea are remarkable. The rooms are more than adequate. The huge negative is that the service from the staff sadly ranges from outstanding to dreadful.

Pros -
Amazing beachfront property with spectacular views
Several pools, including one with a swim up bar!
Large, comfortable rooms with free high speed wi-fi, massive walk in showers and wonderfully comfortable air-conditioning.
Well appointed lobby bar, with outdoor terrace, open day and night
Some of the staff understand what "five star" means (not just "Spanish five star" but REAL five star)

Cons -
Some of the staff are dreadful. Some of them are obnoxious, rude, far too many do not speak English even though all the guests in the hotel are English (or English speakers).
The restaurants are mainly based on all inclusive buffet type and the food is mediocre at best.
Most rooms have two twin beds instead of a king or two queen

Full review

There are five star hotels, then there is what many people refer to as "Spanish five star" which is nothing like what you would expect from a normal five star hotel. This hotel is a bizarre mix of both. Some of the staff members, in all departments, from front desk to restaurant to housekeeping, clearly have service in their DNA and provide remarkable, true five star service. Others, offer the generic Spanish five star service which means they don't really have a clue what five star service is. Then, amazingly, and also in all departments from front desk to restaurants to spa, there are some staff members here who regularly seem annoyed at anything they are asked to do.

The woman working at the spa a few days ago was particularly obnoxious, maybe the most obnoxious person in the service industry I've ever met. She rattled something off in Spanish and when I said "I understand what you're saying" she laughed and turned around. Shocking!

The only way to improve the service of this hotel is if the general manager hires several English speaking guests to stay here anonymously and report back to him who specifically are these terrible staff members because those few really bring the entire hotel down.

There is nothing you can fault though with the grounds of the hotel, everything is beautiful and takes up a large portion of the coast so most rooms have a terrace with a great sea view.

The rooms as already described, with the exception of the stupid twin beds, are some of the best you'll find in Spain, especially this area (since most Spanish rooms have dreadful air-conditioning and slow wi-fi with no showers). Sadly they don't have down duvet covers, not sure how hotels get a five star rating without things like that.

With better food and better hiring/training of the staff this could be a much better hotel, but I would recommend it anyway based on all the positives it has already

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea for your stay in Altea.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, I have read your letter and I see that you were upset about some incidents that occurred during your stay.
The SH Villa Gadea staff would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused and we would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. Although all our front line staff speak English we recognize that some need to improve it for a better communication with our guests.
We greatly appreciate your suggestions to improve our service in the future.
Yours sincerely
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had an amazing time. The room was big and spacious, huge King size bed and great seaview overlooking Altea pueblo. The spa is wonderful, lots of different massage fountains but treatments are expensive. The garden and pool are is gorgeous and it has plenty of deckchairs and 2 pool bars that serves food and drinks all day long. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and the interior of the hotel is wonderful and very clean.

Room Tip: we had room 2205 - amazing King size bed, bathtub with jacuzzi for one person, and great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments about our facilities and service, this encourage us to improve every day.
Rest assured that we will do our best to make your next stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Best regards,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife, my daughter and I loved staying at this hotel in 2012 and popped back last week. We made a mistake by choosing a lower price at the Marriott in Denia, big mistake as the Marriott is dated, tired and in the middle of know where! If you want a great 5 star hotel, in a great location then the Villa Gadea is as good as it gets in Spain...

Room Tip: Over looking the sea with a Jacuzzi on the Balcony, is pretty cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for your stay with your family in our establishment again.
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for the positive comments, because we appreciate this very much.
It is very encouraging for us to receive positive appreciations about our facilities, situation, rooms... because this inspire us to make a bigger effort.
We hope to see you again very soon!.
Best regards,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked a delux room directly with the hotel, I have my doubts it's what we have actually been allocated. The hotel is in a nice position on the coast of Altea, the pools are lovely. The service is not good. The staff almost surly, the hotel is supposed to be 5 star, and even by Spanish standards, although the prices are 5 star, the hotel is 4 star at best. Having stayed quite a bit at other 5 star hotels in Spain this place is flying way under the wire. They have ridiculous rules, ie you can not bring your coffee on to the decking area from the breakfast room, but you can buy coffee and have it the there. I admit, I have a bug bear with pettiness and scams, this place would get top marks for both. My husband cut his foot on a standard lamp in our room on the first night and hobbled towards the bathroom leaving spots of blood on the floor, most of which we cleaned up, next day they were still there despite the room having been cleaned by the maid, which suggests to me the floors are not mopped! Not being given a receipt when you order a stink or lunch to keep an accurate record of what you have on your final bill is another problem, which I also know to be illegal. I hoped this would have been a regular place if rest for us I. Spain, but we will stick with the hotel arenas balanaeros in Valencia in future which is a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea as your hosts in Altea.
Our team has always made it their priority to be at the disposal of the guests to provide them with the high quality of service they deserve.
We are concerned about the comments you made showing us that you were not entirely satisfied with some of our service.
We do appreciate all the information you have given us and we will take them into consideration and work to improve all the points you mentioned.
Best regards,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel each summer since it opened in 2005. We love the place & it gets better. Friendly staff & management, great service & a lovely location to top it off. Thank you to all of the staff for making us so welcome this August. Look forward to a return in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Dpto.Calidad at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr.Cooper,
Thank you for having chosen again SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain during your holidays.
We greatly appreciate your opinion regarding our services, facilities and staff, because it is very encouraging your positive appreciation regarding our hotel and our work.
We remain our gratefulness and we would like to continue with your confidence.
Best regards to all your family and we hope to see you again and enjoy Olla Fireworks!
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SH Villa Gadea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Address: Partida Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel SH Villa Gadea 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Villa Gadea Hotel enjoys a privileged location, on a platform-like enclave looking out over the Mediterranean Sea in the picturesque village of Altea. Its spacious public areas and carefully chosen decor guarantee comfort and relaxation. The hotel was opened in 2005 and is completely integrated architecturally with its surroundings, faithfully reflecting the traditional style of the nearby village of Altea, whose historical quarter is a mere 3 km from the hotel. The SH Villa Gadea Hotel offers a great choice of dining options. The Thalasso Spa Centre and Thermal Club provide almost 2,000 m² of health, beauty and wellbeing (2 thermo-leisure swimming pools with sea water, counterflow river, relaxing geysers, swan-necks, bubble seats). There are also aromatic showers, Turkish baths, Roman baths, Finnish sauna and a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel SH Villa Gadea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Melia Hotel Gadea Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SH Villa Gadea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.