We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem - with serious service problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel SH Villa Gadea to your Saves list
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partida Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Seaside
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“A hidden gem - with serious service problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Quick recap - The landscaping, the pools and the long stretch of pine tree beachfront property are seriously breathtaking. The views from your private terrace overlooking the grounds and sea are remarkable. The rooms are more than adequate. The huge negative is that the service from the staff sadly ranges from outstanding to dreadful.

Pros -
Amazing beachfront property with spectacular views
Several pools, including one with a swim up bar!
Large, comfortable rooms with free high speed wi-fi, massive walk in showers and wonderfully comfortable air-conditioning.
Well appointed lobby bar, with outdoor terrace, open day and night
Some of the staff understand what "five star" means (not just "Spanish five star" but REAL five star)

Cons -
Some of the staff are dreadful. Some of them are obnoxious, rude, far too many do not speak English even though all the guests in the hotel are English (or English speakers).
The restaurants are mainly based on all inclusive buffet type and the food is mediocre at best.
Most rooms have two twin beds instead of a king or two queen

Full review

There are five star hotels, then there is what many people refer to as "Spanish five star" which is nothing like what you would expect from a normal five star hotel. This hotel is a bizarre mix of both. Some of the staff members, in all departments, from front desk to restaurant to housekeeping, clearly have service in their DNA and provide remarkable, true five star service. Others, offer the generic Spanish five star service which means they don't really have a clue what five star service is. Then, amazingly, and also in all departments from front desk to restaurants to spa, there are some staff members here who regularly seem annoyed at anything they are asked to do.

The woman working at the spa a few days ago was particularly obnoxious, maybe the most obnoxious person in the service industry I've ever met. She rattled something off in Spanish and when I said "I understand what you're saying" she laughed and turned around. Shocking!

The only way to improve the service of this hotel is if the general manager hires several English speaking guests to stay here anonymously and report back to him who specifically are these terrible staff members because those few really bring the entire hotel down.

There is nothing you can fault though with the grounds of the hotel, everything is beautiful and takes up a large portion of the coast so most rooms have a terrace with a great sea view.

The rooms as already described, with the exception of the stupid twin beds, are some of the best you'll find in Spain, especially this area (since most Spanish rooms have dreadful air-conditioning and slow wi-fi with no showers). Sadly they don't have down duvet covers, not sure how hotels get a five star rating without things like that.

With better food and better hiring/training of the staff this could be a much better hotel, but I would recommend it anyway based on all the positives it has already

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea for your stay in Altea.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, I have read your letter and I see that you were upset about some incidents that occurred during your stay.
The SH Villa Gadea staff would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused and we would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us. Although all our front line staff speak English we recognize that some need to improve it for a better communication with our guests.
We greatly appreciate your suggestions to improve our service in the future.
Yours sincerely
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    153
    58
    29
    16
See reviews for
139
212
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and had an amazing time. The room was big and spacious, huge King size bed and great seaview overlooking Altea pueblo. The spa is wonderful, lots of different massage fountains but treatments are expensive. The garden and pool are is gorgeous and it has plenty of deckchairs and 2 pool bars that serves food and drinks all day long. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and the interior of the hotel is wonderful and very clean.

Room Tip: we had room 2205 - amazing King size bed, bathtub with jacuzzi for one person, and great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments about our facilities and service, this encourage us to improve every day.
Rest assured that we will do our best to make your next stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Best regards,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife, my daughter and I loved staying at this hotel in 2012 and popped back last week. We made a mistake by choosing a lower price at the Marriott in Denia, big mistake as the Marriott is dated, tired and in the middle of know where! If you want a great 5 star hotel, in a great location then the Villa Gadea is as good as it gets in Spain...

Room Tip: Over looking the sea with a Jacuzzi on the Balcony, is pretty cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you for your stay with your family in our establishment again.
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for the positive comments, because we appreciate this very much.
It is very encouraging for us to receive positive appreciations about our facilities, situation, rooms... because this inspire us to make a bigger effort.
We hope to see you again very soon!.
Best regards,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked a delux room directly with the hotel, I have my doubts it's what we have actually been allocated. The hotel is in a nice position on the coast of Altea, the pools are lovely. The service is not good. The staff almost surly, the hotel is supposed to be 5 star, and even by Spanish standards, although the prices are 5 star, the hotel is 4 star at best. Having stayed quite a bit at other 5 star hotels in Spain this place is flying way under the wire. They have ridiculous rules, ie you can not bring your coffee on to the decking area from the breakfast room, but you can buy coffee and have it the there. I admit, I have a bug bear with pettiness and scams, this place would get top marks for both. My husband cut his foot on a standard lamp in our room on the first night and hobbled towards the bathroom leaving spots of blood on the floor, most of which we cleaned up, next day they were still there despite the room having been cleaned by the maid, which suggests to me the floors are not mopped! Not being given a receipt when you order a stink or lunch to keep an accurate record of what you have on your final bill is another problem, which I also know to be illegal. I hoped this would have been a regular place if rest for us I. Spain, but we will stick with the hotel arenas balanaeros in Valencia in future which is a true 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea as your hosts in Altea.
Our team has always made it their priority to be at the disposal of the guests to provide them with the high quality of service they deserve.
We are concerned about the comments you made showing us that you were not entirely satisfied with some of our service.
We do appreciate all the information you have given us and we will take them into consideration and work to improve all the points you mentioned.
Best regards,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family has stayed at this hotel each summer since it opened in 2005. We love the place & it gets better. Friendly staff & management, great service & a lovely location to top it off. Thank you to all of the staff for making us so welcome this August. Look forward to a return in 2014.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Dpto.Calidad at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Mr.Cooper,
Thank you for having chosen again SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain during your holidays.
We greatly appreciate your opinion regarding our services, facilities and staff, because it is very encouraging your positive appreciation regarding our hotel and our work.
We remain our gratefulness and we would like to continue with your confidence.
Best regards to all your family and we hope to see you again and enjoy Olla Fireworks!
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The family enjoyed the pool and the lovely beach. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was yummy with lots of options. Staff was friendly, but there weren't enough of them. For example, you had to wait in line at front desk to ask for your car. And there was often no one answering the phones. Another few personnel would make a big difference.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your holidays with your family.
We greatly appreciate your comments, being very glad to know you had a nice experience in our establishment, getting a positive impression regarding the services and facilities.
We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, so we will continue working in order to offer you a better service next time.
We remain our gratefulness and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.
Yours faithfully,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but forget it if you want to lounge by the pool. People throw their towels on the sun beds at the crack of dawn use them for an hour after breakfast and leave their towels on there for the rest of the day so no one else can use them. Why? Because the hotel staff and management let them. Reasonable hotel, not great value for money, and definitely forget about being able to enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
The SH Villa Gadea staff would like to apologise for the inconveniences caused during your stay.
Although our top priority is offering our guests quality service all the time, we have read your comments and we see that you were upset about the sunbeds.
We hope you choose to stay with us again and we will do our best to make your stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SH Villa Gadea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Address: Partida Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel SH Villa Gadea 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Villa Gadea Hotel enjoys a privileged location, on a platform-like enclave looking out over the Mediterranean Sea in the picturesque village of Altea. Its spacious public areas and carefully chosen decor guarantee comfort and relaxation. The hotel was opened in 2005 and is completely integrated architecturally with its surroundings, faithfully reflecting the traditional style of the nearby village of Altea, whose historical quarter is a mere 3 km from the hotel. The SH Villa Gadea Hotel offers a great choice of dining options. The Thalasso Spa Centre and Thermal Club provide almost 2,000 m² of health, beauty and wellbeing (2 thermo-leisure swimming pools with sea water, counterflow river, relaxing geysers, swan-necks, bubble seats). There are also aromatic showers, Turkish baths, Roman baths, Finnish sauna and a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel SH Villa Gadea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Melia Hotel Gadea Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SH Villa Gadea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.