We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart, relaxing Not quite living up to its pricetag.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel SH Villa Gadea to your Saves list
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partida Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Smart, relaxing Not quite living up to its pricetag.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a quiet setting and stylishly Furnished. The rooms are large, the bar is excellent the pool and the Beach access is also good. The hotel is well connected to the Main roads and Has easy access to the Old town of Altea Which is a nice town with a historic centre and an Attractive beachfront with lots of restaurants And shops. Breakfast at the hotel could only be described as average served in a slightly unappealing restaurant. We were there in the summer and it was a nice retreat from easy bustling Spain. However, this is not a cheap place to stay.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a high up floor in order to get a good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your comments, being very glad to know you had a nice experience in our establishment, getting a positive impression regarding the services and facilities.
We would like to emphasise that guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, so we will continue working in order to offer you a better service during the Breakfast next time.
We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.
Yours faithfully,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    153
    58
    30
    16
See reviews for
139
213
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My family (consisting of me, my wife, and three year old daughter) have just returned from a two week break in the Villa Gadea. Overall, this is an impressive hotel which is definitely a step ahead of a Spanish four star beach hotel but as some say, slightly behind a European city five star hotels.
My review will look at the hotel under a number of headings;
LOCATION If you plan not to leave the hotel for the full term of your stay, the hotel offers everything that you need - beautiful sea views, spa, three pools, tennis courts etc. if however, like us, you wanted a mix of both a hotel and area based holiday, then this hotel is at least an €8 taxi ride away from anywhere. The walk into Altea can be done but it is a long slog. When you get into Altea, you can get either a bus (number 10) or a train (FGV) to Calp, Benidorm, Algirs - anywhere in Costa Blanca. When I go on holiday, I don't want to drive so I don't want to hire a car. A rental car when in the Villa Gadea however unless you have an unlimited taxi fund, is a must.
ALTEA The old town in Altea and the promenade, especially at night are a must see. The Old Town is Spainish to the core and just perfect to sit with a cerveza in one of the bars beside the church and watch the style go by.
VALUE FOR MONEY There is nothing cheap in the Villa Gadea and be wary about putting anything onto your room as depending on the waiter you get, sometimes you get a receipt and sometimes you don't. I have serious doubts over some of the waiters especially at the Oasis Pool Bar as they went out of their way not to give you a receipt. It is extremely difficult thereafter to get everything tallied up.
FOOD Breakfast is OK, personally I prefer in a five star hotel (and also good four star hotels such as the Four Seasons Villamoura) table service for breakfast, I.e. if I want Eggs Benedict or an omelette, then I order it and its brought to my table. Lunch and Snacks can be had at the restaurant beside the pool bar, in the main bar and I think in the restaurant where you have breakfast. Evening meals can be had in the excellent restaurant upstairs and this I have to say is excellent.
ROOMS Beautiful room with a great bathroom equipped with both a powerful shower and hot tub.
SPA I had a great full body massage but men be aware that you will be expect to wear those hygienic throw away pants that leave nothing to the imagination.
OVERALL Top hotel but location is a bit of a pain. Other than that, a great 5 Star option

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your recent holidays in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your opinion regarding our services and facilities, because it is very encouraging your positive appreciation regarding our hotel and our work.
We are glad to know that your overall impression and experience was positive. We will take into account the detail you mention about tickets in the Oasis Bar, to improve our service.
We remain our gratefulness and we would like to continue with your confidence.
Yours faithfully,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had an excellent time and loved the hotel. On arrival the staff made a good impression and we were sat by the swim up pool bar in no time. At the end of our stay they were very accommodating allowing to check out late at no extra cost .

The room - 1008
We had a superior room with a sea view. The room was spacious, clean and faultless. The bathroom was again a good size with a separate shower and jacuzzi bath. There were a toothbrush each waiting along with robes and slippers. The TV is on the small side and had very limited English channels and yes we couldn't find BBC world news so was stuck with sky news. The Wifi worked well and the room was cleaned daily as expected.

The hotel

It has three connected pools with a swim up pool bar at the bottom. They were clean and pleasant but I do agree with some other reviews it would be nice to have an adult only pool because there was a lot of children and as couple we would have preferred a slightly quieter area.

There is a spa which we didnt use but looked nice. I used the gym which is basic but well maintained and (from an experienced / daily visited to the gym) there is enough equipment to maintain your ph isque / fitness whilst away.

We only had breakfast at the hotel which was more then adequate and well displayed. It was in a buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food. You could even have a glass of Cava if desired.


The location

The hotel is on the sea front approximately 3km to the centre of Altea. The old town of Altea was lovely and is the main attraction of the area. We visited this area every night to eat out.

Helpful Tips and facts

There is a beach exit to the hotel which can be unlocked using your room card. The gate is behind the top pool.
The walk into Altea does take 30 minutes and 45 minutes to the Old Town. And we walk at fast pace.
The taxi cost 8 euros to the Old Town where the restaurants are located.
The Tram station is only a 5 min walk away from the Hotel. The station is called Olla de Altea. It is very cheap, air conditioned and there was plenty seats. It costs 1.35 single / 2.30 return if you stay within the immediate zone which included going to Benidorm. The tickets are bought on the train using a self serve machine. We highly recommend the tram! For more information please see, www.tramalicante.es
There is a supermarket on the main road just under 1km away and a main one in the Centre. There are few supermarkets around and they shut quite early.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Dpto.Calidad at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for share your comments about your stay at our Hotel.
Your feedback is very important to us and we value your opinion. We agree with you about the Tram, this train is actually an easy and cheap transport to go to Altea, Benidorm, Denia, etc, and with great views! Thank you for your nice clear comments about all the services and specially about our staff.
If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.
I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Altea with us!
Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Having read the reviews from fellow travellers I think I must write from a different viewpoint.

Typically Spanish Hotel ratings do not relate (star for star) to general expectations in other Countries. A typical Spanish 5 star hotel is, in reality, more in keeping with a 3/4 star elsewhere.

With that in mind this hotel really is quite lovely. It's position is outstanding and the facilities are beyond those expected from a from a family 'resort' hotel. Pools are excellent - pool bar is open all day, poolside restaurant offers great choices and good service. The hotel buffet breakfast is more than adequate (although I do have great problems with Nescafe coffee machines AND one tea bag per pot of not boiled water is not on).

For families there is a baby club on offer and for the grown ups a spa.

The hotel bar is beautiful.

Rooms are spacious and the beds are fantastically comfortable. Different types of pillows are on offer. Bathrooms are superb.

Staff are courteous, speak all manner of languages and service is always with a smile.

It is priced at a 5 star level so I must agree that tea and coffee making facilities should be on hand and I also agree that the TV channel options need reviewing. Likewise one of the pools should be designated as 'adults only' - just for some quiet for those of us not with children.

It is a short distance from the beautiful old town of Altea which, at night, comes to life and is quite beautiful. Another plus is that dining out is not expensive, so for those not on half or full board the options are not scary.

In truth I cannot fault it and I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms are in 3 blocks - if you like the sun then ask for a room facing South or West and, for optimu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea for your recent holidays in Altea.
We greatly appreciate your opinion regarding our services and facilities, because it is very encouraging your positive appreciation regarding our hotel and our work, and it is a useful tool for continuous improvement.
We are glad to know that your overall impression and experience was positive, and you would repeat the stay with us. We will take into account too the improvement details you mention about TV channels and making coffee facilities, to make your next stay even more enjoyable.
We remain our gratefulness and we would like to continue with your confidence.
Yours faithfully,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

To get more than average in my opinion a hotel has to be able to do something over and above what you expect from a hotel in its class and price category, it is the this reason that this hotel only gets three stars. A five-star hotel really has to be at the top of its game, with an extremely polished performance in all areas.

This hotel has a five-star location on the beach with beautiful views and is simply ideal. Note, if driving from Alicante, did not take the exit for Altea, but the one after, this brings you to the door of the hotel.

The actual bedrooms are the size of a five-star hotel and have nice balconies. The flooring will definitely not be to everyone's taste being a stone floor, more commonly found in a bathroom. The big letdown is the television, it is a 14 inch flatscreen, and the selections a program that are available is poor. This is simply to significant failing for a five-star hotel in my opinion.

The staff as others have mentioned are extremely helpful and efficient.

Internet is free and of an acceptable standard. Parking if you can obtain a space outside the hotel is free, €11 if you park downstairs.

Another significant failing for five-star hotel is that there is no coffee and or/tea making facilities in the room, this again in my humble opinion is a significant failing for a hotel in a vacation location.

Therefore increase the positives are lovely size whom and are beautifully maintained premises, the letdowns other things stated above.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea for your recent stay in Spain.
We greatly appreciate your opinion and we would like to apologize for all the aspects which were not according to your expectations.
We have read your comments carefully, and we will consider them to improve the aspects you mention concerning the facilities.
We remain our gratefulness for your confidence in our hotel, and we really hope to welcome you in the next future.
Yours sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently returned from a week at Villa Gadea which was thoroughly enjoyable. Our party of 4 travelled with Saga so can only comment on the All Inclusive package that they offered.
The rooms are very spacious with an exceptionally well appointed bathroom, comprising of whirlpool bath and seperate walk -in shower. Ours was a sea view room so cannot vouch for the layout of all other rooms.
The buffet restaurant food was varied and good quality. The many meats and fish were "show cooked" in the restaurant allowing for cooking in small quantities, ensuring that food was fresh and hot. Occasionally this lead to a food item running out but this was soon replenished. It was a pleasant change from the many trays of cold, dried up food you often get in larger buffet restaurants.
The A. I. Saga package offered a full range of locally produced beer, wines & spirits. No cocktails were offered, but for a charge, the hotel could provide you with any drink you cared to mention.

Disabled access was good to all parts of the site, however there are several steep slopes between the 3 swimming pools which could not be negotiated by a solo wheelchair user. The hotel has provided a dedicated path for wheelchairs that takes you in an easy slope from the top to the bottom of the beautifully landscaped site.
The sun terraces boast lots of high quality sun loungers (Kettler) and apart from the weekends when many Spanish families arrive there are more than enough to go around. Forget the need to get down before breakfast to book your spot - you will be embarrassed to be the only one to do so.
The staff were helpful, friendly and very hard working. I should point out that all senior managers were to be seen each day working with their staff. Virtually every day the hotel's general manager, Snr Serano, would be in the buffet restaurant greeting guests and showing them to their tables - even taking their beverage orders. We made some room requests to the hotel prior to arrival and a big thank you goes to the reservation department for providing us with just what we wanted.
The hotel has the feel of a more Spanish style holiday hotel that welcomed guests from abroad.
If you are looking for a hotel with lots of daytime activities and loud evening entertainment then the Villa Gadea is NOT for you. Likewise, the nearest bars and restaurants not on the doorstep. The centre of Altea is around 2 km although you will find nice restaurants much closer.

However, if you want to relax in a superior hotel with friendly and attentive staff I would highly recommend staying here. We hope to return- again with Saga - as their on-site rep, Jan J. looked after us so well.

Room Tip: Suggest a top floor sea view room. Rooms in block 3 are nearest to reception. The view from inland...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for share your comments about your recent stay at our Hotel with SAGA.
Your feedback is very important to us and we value your opinion (thank you for your nice clear comments about our services and specially about our staff).
If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail.
Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.
I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Altea with us!
Sincerely,
Quality Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel in the lovely location of Cap Nagret, just outside Altea, The hotel from the outside is fab even though it stands on the N332 which is a main road, beware if you get cheap rates, your room will probably be on this side, Ours was and because I didnt want to overlook this main road, I went straight down to reception and asked to change, they were very nice and even though the hotel was busy, we got another room and this is where they loose a star from me, I dont know if this is kind of an ermergency room as their usual balconies look lovely with plants etc, we had weeds, also the curtains had tears in them, for us, we didnt mind, the room was spacious the bathroom with jacuzzi bath wonderful BUT if you are used to 5 star and you pay the correct rate, (we got a deal) you will not be impressed. Everything else is lovely, buffet breakfast good quality, gin and tonic club on the first floor was great, those guys really know how to make a mean G&T and its like a show to watch them. Grounds are lovely and although not huge, there seemed enough beds to go round, just one negertive, people should pick up after themselves with their rubbish or the hotel should have more staff on to keep the area round the pool, particulary the kids area clean. Loved this hotel and we walken into Altea, where a walk to the church in the old part is just fantastic with lots of cute resturants and great views, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: try not to get a room on the N332
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having chosen the SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea.
We greatly appreciate your comments about our Gin Club, this encourage us to improve our service every day.
If you reserve a Double Superior Room with Sea Views you will enjoy an unforgettable views of the Mediterranean Sea.
Rest assured that we will do our best to make your next stay thoroughly enjoyable.
Best regards,
Quality Department
SH Villa Gadea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel SH Villa Gadea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SH Villa Gadea

Address: Partida Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel SH Villa Gadea 5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SH Villa Gadea Hotel enjoys a privileged location, on a platform-like enclave looking out over the Mediterranean Sea in the picturesque village of Altea. Its spacious public areas and carefully chosen decor guarantee comfort and relaxation. The hotel was opened in 2005 and is completely integrated architecturally with its surroundings, faithfully reflecting the traditional style of the nearby village of Altea, whose historical quarter is a mere 3 km from the hotel. The SH Villa Gadea Hotel offers a great choice of dining options. The Thalasso Spa Centre and Thermal Club provide almost 2,000 m² of health, beauty and wellbeing (2 thermo-leisure swimming pools with sea water, counterflow river, relaxing geysers, swan-necks, bubble seats). There are also aromatic showers, Turkish baths, Roman baths, Finnish sauna and a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel SH Villa Gadea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sh Melia Hotel Gadea Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SH Villa Gadea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.