We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Altea Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Saffron Altea Indian Restaurant
Calle de la Estacion 18 | El propio edificio de la estacion, 03590 Altea, Spain
965 845 837
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
swansea
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have had our apartment in Altea for over five years and had not up until this evening found a good Indian Restaurant in the area. As soon as we walked in there was a great atmosphere with a log burning stove and large solid wooden table. It was a renovated train station and the trains actually stop outside.
The kitchen was in full view and the owners made us feel completely at home. starters were excellent as well as the main courses and the ice cream with the toffee and vodka sauce.
The whole experience was excellent and we would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    4
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altea, Spain
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic resturant the owners Jane and Robbo make you feel very welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Of you like curry, good wine and good company,this resturant has it all, in the winter tables around an indoor log burner make you fell very warm and welcome. In the summer the terrace offers the best of both worlds, curry and a chilled ambience that creates a very relaxed experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great place for a curry .. 'superb'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Safforn Indian Restaurant ... what a gem.... located in the old 'La Olla' tram station it has been transformed with rustic style surroundings, beautiful courtyard / terrace with an indian theme, the food was of excellent quality cooked in an open kitchen, and the owners Ian & Jane are lovely friendly people that made our night feel special.
Our Chicken Makkani (tikka Masala) was probably the best we've ever had ... absolutely delicious indian cuisine at its best, and our good friends who tried a Dopiaza and a Jalfrazi were equally impressed.
This is one place that should not be missed..... we will be returning hopefully soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little India!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Easily the best Indian food in the whole area!

Situated in an old railwaystation, and with an open view to the kitchen, this reflects the owners. Honest, direct and spicy, if you like. Just excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Received a warm welcome from the lovely owners and decided to sit in the courtyard of this beautiful quirky little restaurant. As there were four in our party we decided to try a variety of different starters and main courses. As previously mentioned the Samosas were delicious and our favourite was the lamb. We each tried the different sauces and every one was excellently flavoured. This is a restaurant that needs booking in advance as the two English owners cook and serve without any other help. Will definitely return on our next visit to Altea.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Altea Indian Restaurant also viewed

Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 
Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Altea Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.