We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr X-cellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mister X

Mister X
Calle Partida el Planet 136, 03590 Altea, Spain
0034965842881
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 183 Restaurants in Altea
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
El Albir, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mr X-cellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

What can we say about this wonderful restaurant! Lovely home cooked food that leaves us wanting to go back time and again and service to match.

From the moment you walk in you are made to feel warm and welcome and by the time you leave your happily fed with that lovely content feeling i remember getting when going to my grans house for Sunday lunch.

Mr X is a hidden gem well worth finding when visiting the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    18
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Many Happy Returns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had a holiday home in Altea for many years and on our frequent visits we never failed to visit Mr X. We were never disappointed. The warmth of the welcome, the consistent high standard of the food, the summer dining on the terrace surrounded by Bougainvilea, geraniums and the wonderful perfume of galan de la noche, the winter dining in a cosy atmosphere with a roaring log fire made every visit memorable. It was with great sadness therefore that we learned two years ago that it had closed. Prior to a recent visit to Andalucia, however, we became aware that Mister X had re-opened earlier this year. It was cold in Andalucia and. perhaps by a combination of bad luck and bad choices, we never had a decent meal in the time we were there. So, what else to do? We travelled 450 miles to Altea, stayed four days and dined every night at Mister X. I cannot think of any restuarant in the world (and I've seen a lot of it) that I would travel 450 miles just to visit. Everything was just as I remembered it, if anything, even better. Roast duck to die for, the tenderest of beef stroganoff, prawns Mr X, fresh sole, ossobucco - and, Spanish restuaranteurs please note, hot food on HOT plates. This is not Michelin Star. It doesn't pretend to be. It is simply the the best ingredients prepared with flair, served promptly with a smile and without fuss. You simply cannot go wrong.

Ian and Elizabeth Stirling

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love Mr X”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We never knew this restaurant before it closed down but since it has reopened (by the same family) we can't keep away. We have become regulars even though it is quite a drive from our home in Jalon Valley. Our last visit we were accompanied by ten friends who had never been before. We all had a wonderful meal and a lovely evening. Try the knuckle of pork, it is really tasty although everybody we have introduced to Mr X has loved the place, the food, the service and the prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were taken to this restaurant by friends who live locally and what a wonderful evening we had. The restaurant is in a quiet location with plenty of parking across the road. It is full of character with beams in the ceiling and lots of old paintings and artefacts. The outside courtyard was an absolute delight and so colourful with lots of bougainvillea draped downs the walls.

We took the set evening menu which had plenty of choice and was excellent value for money. Three of us had the Duck a l'orange and agreed it was one if the best duck meals we had ever tasted.

The service was excellent. We will return again very soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“First Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

went to mr x for the first time last monday 17/09/12. had the set menu and was excelent. best meal for a fortnight. would definately go again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mister X also viewed

Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Mister X? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mister X, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.