We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value food and drink free Wifi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Bar Morning Glory

El Bar Morning Glory
c/sant Pere 34, Altea, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 194 Restaurants in Altea
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good value food and drink free Wifi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Visited regularly for coffee which was always served with a small bun.The oowners are an English couple and the bar itself had its first anniversary at the end of March.When we ate there the food was freshly prepared and tasty.Great view great owners who deserve to succeed as they work long hours to provide a very good service

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calpe, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great breakfast on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Nice friendly welcome, fine tea selection, great choice, what a view great place to start the day,
Thanks guys nice to meet you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast at Morning Glory Cafe Bar in Altea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We often go to Altea for a nice relaxing breakfast by the sea and recently came across the Morning Glory Cafe Bar, having a pleasant outside terrace with a fantastic view of the sea we stopped and had the early bird breakfast. Freshly cooked with excellent value and a super cup of coffee we both enjoyed it immensely, and will return in the future. Highly recommended for quality food at any time of the day.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“'Seranaded at the Morning Glory Cafe - Bar'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Although on holiday in Benidorm which has everything to offer, we felt a sense of adventure and took a bus ride to Altea, however, not being familar with the area we made the mistake of getting off the bus in Albir which meant a lengthy walk along the promenade to Altea.
As it was a nice sunny day it was a very pleasant, the magnificent sea was rolling in as we strolled past a number of bars and cafe's before coming to an 'Oasis', The Morning Glory Cafe-Bar. - 'A jewel in the Crown of Altea'.

We ordered a cheese toastie made with real bread which was lovely followed by a large glass of freshly pressed orange juice, it was just a simple snack but it was delicious, at the point of sitting back on the Morning Glory terrace to enjoy the spectacular view, a trio of musicians appeared to serenade us with spanish music, - it was a 'moment in time' for us to treasure.

The morning Glory Cafe-Bar is owned and run by enterprising couple Michelle and David O'Brien. they open at 8.30am through to 9pm every day except Wednesday's. They serve various breakfasts from full English to healthy fruit and yoghurt ones, and also 'lite bites' all day from gorgeous toasties to fish and chips and 'specials' which change on a daily basis.

The Morning Glory Cafe - Bar also shows most sports on Sky and ITV but it's not one of those rowdy bars, it's a bit 'up market' in keeping with Altea itself.
English speaking Michelle and David, come across as a polite and hardworking couple striving to establish a respectable Cafe- Bar which welcomes all nationalities where one can enjoy the facilities and completely relax in good company.

We really enjoyed our visit and are sure that others would too.

Frank Coulter

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Bar Morning Glory also viewed

Altea, Costa Blanca
Altea, Costa Blanca
 
Altea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Bar Morning Glory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Bar Morning Glory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.