We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something was missing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre & Vacances

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pierre & Vacances to your Saves list
Pierre & Vacances
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle de Suecia, s/n Urbanizacion | Altea Hills, 03599 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Something was missing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Beautiful hotel location, nice size apartments, neat and clean. You have to pay for changing the towels, room and garbage cleaning.
The staff is friendly and speaks English. The pool is large with no towels available. No music, no entertainment, no drinks.
We arrived late evening and the resort was completely lifeless, nothing was open. No restaurants, no bars, no shops, no nothing…just a vending machine filled with cookies. We asked for a restaurant in the area and after an extensive insistence we were recommended a place CaJuan, at 3km far from the resort that was amazing and welcoming. There is something missing in the entire atmosphere of the resort; you don’t feel like you are in vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    75
    36
    17
    10
See reviews for
64
88
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We used to stay here some years ago when Melia were in charge so it was a bit of a shock to come back to a self catering style accommodation...gone is the fab spa and beauty salon, the poolside waiter service, the mini bars in the rooms, the ice machines in the hall way, the little touches of luxury in the rooms..what you get is

Charged for having your room cleaned
Charged for using towels for the pool
Charged for using the indoor pool and jacuzzi
Charged if you dont take your rubbish out
No atmosphere
Uncomfortable bed, hard mattress (blankets? not in 2012!)
No room service

Plus points....
Clean and attractive grounds
Very Polite staff
Quiet (we came out of season)
Value for money if you are on a budget and are expecting this kind of accommodation

Unfortunately if you want a little luxury and some great service this is no longer the place to come, it is just like being at home, where the cleaning and taking out the rubbish has to happen and you have to make your own bed, not our idea of a "vacance"!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for our 3rd wedding anniversary and this place truly was romance in the hills. The staff are amazing, everyone we met was so friendly, and the place is gorgeous.

The apartments really are luxurious, double jacuzzi bath, amazing shower, his and hers sinks, massive bed, the balcony was more of a terrace with seating for 4 and the length of the bedroom and living room. The kitchenette even has a mini dishwasher, as well as microwave and two hobs. - we viewed double rooms and would definately get the apartment so much more space and even to just put drinks and snacks in the fridge its nice to have the kitchenette. *Please note the supermarket there shut down so go before you arrive at the hotel if possible.

The pool is lovely and the weather was just hot enough this week for a dip although the water was still a little cold but we spent two days by the pool reading and relaxing among the palm trees in 26-30 degrees. There was loungers, a lifeguard, a childrens water slide, plenty of space and in summer there is also a bar in the garden near the pool.

The restaurant food was ok, but we gave feedback about the breakfast and the next day they had changed the format slightly so only enough food was brought out to each table as required so things weren't sat out - so they certainly take feedback on board.

we were given a free pass to the gym/spa (normally 9 euros each per session) and when we returned we found a fantastic chocolate and cake creation as an anniversary gift.

There was no local bus or hotel shuttle to get around and taxi to Altea was 11 euros out and 13 back, so if you want to be out and about maybe you should consider this for part of the trip, but we thoroughly recommend coming here for a romantic retreat, quiet family break or just a group of friends relaxing, this place is phenomenal, with amazing staff.

Room Tip: Apartment 312
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Lovely place, we are currently staying here and rooms are self catering apartments are lovely.the place is so quiet after easter and pool area is immaculate with plenty of loungers. Our car is parked safely within the gated hotel complex and didn't need to use inside parking. Hotel staff are very helpful and speak good English. On site you can also get fab paella from restaurant or get a takeaway pizza to take back to the room.laundry facilities on site and easy to use. Free wifi and can use by the pool and all over the complex. Need a car really as too far to walk down into altea and very busy road at the bottom. Buy food and water etc before you come up as there is no shop uphere.. Day trips go see the waterfall at calossa and we had fab meal near there at restaurant called domjoan which had onsite pool for kids and climbing frame. Also you can park there free! Drive past first car park as you enter waterfall area as a chap will charge u 3 euros to park. Guadalest village also very pretty. Elche safari a lovely day out and you can ride a camel and sit on an elephant! Will definitely recommend this hotel and come back

Room Tip: Floor 2 is good and had direct access to the laundry room by the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We got an off peak rate to visit this hotel in March 2012. Amazing place - bed bigger than my bedroom at home - lounge superb - quality fantastic - staff always helpful and available.
I would recommend this hotel very highly indeed.

Also have two recommendations for anyone visiting the area with a hire car:
1. Visit Javea beech - stunning spot about 40mins North from Altea
2. (For the Adventurous) visit Vall De Ebo about an hour drive from Altea and visit a bar called L'Entrant - looks basic from the front but a lovely garden behind and superb Tapas prepared by the owner (very busy even in March, so probably worth booking in the high season). Lovely atmosphere and food to die for,,,,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Travelled in September 2011.

Whilst the reception is very dated there was absolutely nothing wrong with the rest of the place.

We stayed in an apartment which was spacious with a living room, kitchenette and bedroom with a large terrace with a great view; I was surprised that there was no room service or maid service.

The hotel was very quiet during our stay which was great as we always found a sun bed.

We did eat in the restaurant there which had a buffet, the food was better than average, however we did eat very well down in Altea, the only problem being that it is some distance from the hotel.

I would return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Very nice hotel, ideal for couples with young children. It was brilliant from the moment we got there until the moment we left! There is a great breakfast buffet, they are so good, you can eat enough for breakfast and skip lunch. We love paellas and that's why I must confess that the ones prepare in the restaurant were delicious indeed. In short, they had nice restaurants: lots of choices...healthy and not so healthy....delicious and fresh.
We really enjoyed our stay there and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pierre & Vacances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre & Vacances

Address: Calle de Suecia, s/n Urbanizacion | Altea Hills, 03599 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pierre & Vacances 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing view of the bay and the marina from the terraces. The complex has 4 outdoor swimming pools. The heated indoor swimming pool is available at an additional charge (free access for spa customers). Squash and paddle courts are also amongst the leisure facilities (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Pierre & Vacances, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pierre & Vacances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pierre & Vacances Residence Altea Hills Hotel Altea
Pierre And Vacances Residence Altea Hills
Sh Altea Hills Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre & Vacances, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.