We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our visit to Altea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Trovador

Hostal El Trovador
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal El Trovador to your Saves list
Hostal El Trovador
Cap Negret, 15, 03590 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Powell River, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“our visit to Altea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed in this hostel for 3 weeks in total Sept - Oct 2013., it was very friendly , clean rooms and towels and linen changes each day. the mattress was the best of any hotel I have stayed. right on the beach, and the water was lovely and warm, , we needed swimming shoes , meals were good and very reasonable with free continual breakfast excellent coffee.
Will be staying their again when I next go to Altea. Thanks for everything you did for us M&B Penny

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Els Poblets, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed there for one night in August for the fireworks. We didn't expect much as it is a Hostal and was quite cheap but we were very surprised. The rooms were big, airy, clean and comfortable. We even had memory foam mattresses, haven't had them in 4 star hotels. The staff were delightful. Very helpful and friendly. They didn't speak English but why should they we are in Spain!! Free locked car park and a terrace overlooking the sea from where we watched the fireworks. Breakfast was continental and good. Very good value for money, enjoyed our stay. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

El Trovador is on the outskirts of Altea, down the main street, across the bridge and about a kilometre towards Calp on the right. It's not fancy, more a bar/restaurant with rooms, but ideal if you are looking for reasonable, clean accommodation in Altea. There is private parking and it is right on the beach. You will need swim shoes (jelly shoes) if you want to get into the sea as it is very stony.

It is about ten miinutes walk into town, and the road is busy with a poor footpath, so careful. The rooms were fine, clean, modern and spotless with air conditioning that worked well. The wi fi only really worked in the bar area, the signal was very weak in the bedrooms. El Trovador is a family run business and a few words of Spanish will help. Altea, as a town is popular with Spaniards and has a lovely laidback feel to it. Make your way uphill to the old town and the church plaza for some great restaurants in the steep lanes.

Room Tip: Room 101 has recently been redecorated and was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at El Trovador for 5 nights and found it to be really good value. Rooms were cleaned daily, towels changed and beds made. Staff were friendly and helpful but don't speak much English. There was a good sized balcony with a washing line, table and chairs.The Trovador is right on the beach, so is ideal if you love the sea! Food was reasonable and you can get a Menu Del Dia for 9 euros, which is 3 courses and includes wine. Snacks and drinks are reasonable. It's about a 10 minute walk into town, 5 mins to the train station and as stated before, 1minute to the beach. Be aware tho that the beach is pebbles, so you need sea shoes, and if you have children, you need to know that it shelves steeply so is not suitable for non swimmers. The beach about 10 mins walk away at La Olla is more gentle, but stones again so the sea shoes are a must! You can pick them up from one of the Chinese shops in Altea for a few euros.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Trovador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Trovador

Address: Cap Negret, 15, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal El Trovador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Trovador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.