We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean, Location brilliant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Altea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel
Save
You added Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel to your Saves list
C/ Mar 65, San Pedro 7 | Situado en primera linea, con espectaculares vistas a la bahia de altea., 03590 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Basic, Clean, Location brilliant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

was better than i thought it would be, we requested a room with balcony overlooking the sea and that is what we got. Hotel is tired but very clean but with a cost of 88 Euro for 2 nights cannot complain at all. It was quite at night so maybe the people saying its noisy were at the back of the hotel which does back onto a busy road all we could hear was the sound of the sea. the man who checked us in was very friendly and the night porter was happy to make us cups of coffee coming when we came in at night and first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at the San Miguel in Altea. Great, basic hotel. Staff really friendly. Very clean rooms. Restaurant very busy at lunchtimes mostly with local people - excellent paella. Definitely staying there again.

Room Tip: Sea view with outside balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here, hadn't booked, price was €38 per night for 2, cheap as! Top location, had a balcony overlooking the beach, right across the road. Rooms not huge but considering the price, adequate, beds fine, aircon, older type, ok, bathroom small, sep shower, newish. Plain decor. 5 star location, nice local family run, has restaurant on ground floor and one on first floor terrace overlooking the water. Had breakfast, toast coffee juice €2.50, had dinner , fantastic, calamari, great paella. Would recommend. On tues am fruit market over main st back towards town, ask for directions, great bakery / chocolates next to market. Beautiful old town to walk around, plenty of restaurants there too

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I've never stayed at the hotel, but I have eaten at the restaurant several times, and, each time, it has been an amazing experience. The views from the second floor are incredible, the paella is the best in Altea, and the feeling is charmingly Spanish. Although it is located right on the promenade and seems like it might be too touristy, it is quite the opposite. Instead, it is a family run business that has been around for decades, so the majority of the customers are locals from Altea. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of the food and the views. I have recommended the restaurant to all my friends and family when they have come, and everyone has loved it. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk108
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

I'm not sure the other reviewer is talking about the same hotel I am, because this was a totally different experience. I had a twin room (single occ) on the 2nd floor, with front-line view of the sea, TV, heat/air, private bathroom, all very clean, with comfortable beds, for 24 euros a night including breakfast (this, however, is probably off-season special price, and it seems the breakfast thing is negotiable - the woman who checked me in said it was included, but the guy who checked me out tried to charge 3 euros per day - though he then took the charge off when I explained, without argument). It has a real traditional, old fashioned Spanish feel, with cheesy paintings and dark old furniture. Everyone was super friendly and helpful - in total contrast to my other hotel in experience in Altea (see my other review). There is a road in front of the hotel, but not a main road (though guess it's much busier in summer) - and anyway, all the frontline hotels would be on the same stretch.

Only drawback I can see is that it's next to a busy youthful bar, which I bet gets quite rowdy in the summer. Also, no wi-fi. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel

Address: C/ Mar 65, San Pedro 7 | Situado en primera linea, con espectaculares vistas a la bahia de altea., 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Number of rooms: 24

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel-Restaurante San Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.