We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sunrice hotel by the sea in Altea” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Altaya

Save Saved
You added Hotel Altaya to your Saves list
Hotel Altaya
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Altaya
c/ San Pere, 28, 3590 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Altea B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A sunrice hotel by the sea in Altea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here 1 night from Marz 26th to 27th. So we only had a dobbleroom with some seaview and that was ok for us and it only coast about half the money as what was to be payed for the dobbleroom with fully seaview. Thinking of that it is only a 2 star hotel it's ok. The location by the beach is just fine but remember it's a rocky beach no lovely sandbeach. The breakfast is so, so.
Old Altea is lovely and you have a couple of very nice restaurants to eat after our oppinion.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a room with fully seaview you have to stay in one of the 4 rooms in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Went away March 4th - 8th 2013 to celebrate our 39th wedding aniversary. We went with two friends and was looking forward to using this hotel for a base to explore the coast. When we arrived it was raining heavily so decided to eat in the hotel's restaurant, only to be told it was closed for the week. Surely an email to imform us when we booked would be normal practise. We got very wet running to a nearby chinese restaurant. We were told that the restaurant was under different management and was nothing to do with the hotel. We found the rooms clean and the views stunning, but one of our friends hurt themselves when sitting on a chair in the bar and it collapsing under him, when inspecting other chairs of the same type we saw that they had been reinforced by the hotel. So they had an on going problem with these chairs. We found the staff very helpfull but felt a little cheated that we had to eat out, we booked the hotel because it had it's own retaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We returned to this hotel 2 years after visiting for the first time and everything I said previously still holds. This is a simple but very pretty hotel in a beautiful location.
We had the room at the front and the view was stunning.
The room was very clean, the bathroom was big.
The hotel was very accommodating as they managed to fit all 4 of us into the 1 room as it was only for 1 night.
I would like to have stayed longer as the hotel has such a peaceful ambience.

Room Tip: The sea rooms are beautiful but a little nosier than the rooms towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great location - right on the seafront, and literally 100 metres away from the bus stop or train station, if ariving in Altea by these means. Hotel is simple, but clean and welcoming. The rooms were simple, but clean, and all had a sea view. We used the hotel for a one night stopover in Altea, so can't really comment on all the facilities, but for a cheap break in a good location, it was perfectly good value for money.

Room Tip: All have an oblique sea view, but there are 4 rooms at the very front of the building that have balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

staff were very helpful - we had a room at the side of this seafront hotel which gave us partial seaviews - clean room - good pressure in shower - lovely meal in restaurant - we would stay again

Room Tip: room at the side gave seaview without paying much higher rate for rooms at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This beach front hotel was charming! the position was perfect just a few steps to the beach. Private free parking which is a bonus.
Very clean and the staff friendly. Only stayed one night whilst on our travels along the mediteranian coast, we would use again when in that area.

Room Tip: Sea front rooms are more expensive, we had a side room with balcony and a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

The hotel is perfect.
It has a fantastic location right on the beach. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable.
Could not ask for more from a beach front hotel.
There was nothing pretentious about the hotel, it does everything it sets out to do which is to provide comfortable accommodation by the sea in Altea.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Altaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altaya

Address: c/ San Pere, 28, 3590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Altaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Altaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.