We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice and calm with a nice mountainview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tossal d'Altea to your Saves list
Hotel Tossal d'Altea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partida Pla del Castell, 96, 03590 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really nice and calm with a nice mountainview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A big room with a bigger bathroom and a great breakfast. The view is so great you see all the Mountains around Altea.
A short walk and you are in the old Town with narrow streets and White houses..must bee seen!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
91
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Not having been to Spain before the hotel more than match our expectations. We stayed for twelve nights from end of September until start of October, in a room with a balcony and view and also a bath in the bathroom. The service was excellent and so friendly and helpful that even when they could not supply you with what you wanted they would find a way e.g. a takeaway pizza!

There is free WiFi in the hotel and pool area and a P.C. for the use of hotel guests.

To us this was exactly the hotel we were looking for; small, luxurious with well appointed rooms, pool and small gym and with great location and views. The icing on the cake was the friendly helpful service from the lovely receptionist, Owner Vicenta (mum) and (daughter) (also Vicenta), son Manuel and barman Ben.

Room Tip: We sought advice beforehand and picked a 1st floor room with a balcony and view over the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in Altea for 3 nights in the middle of our vacation. Altea was wonderful, just like a little village on a Greek Island. So glad we stayed here. This hotel was awesome! The location is about a 10 minute walk, on a dark narrow road, but we felt safe, to the town. Once you are at the hotel you feel like you're out in the country away from all the city life. It was so peaceful and relaxing. I could've stayed here a month. The staff..... AWESOME. The owner and her son were wonderful. So helpful and sweet. I would definitely recommend this place and would easily stay here again. Breakfast was very nice, especially sitting outside overlooking the pool. Oh, it's a little tough to find, even with the map they emailed. If you get the map and follow it to the dirt road, keep going down the dirt road and you'll see the hotel at the top of the hill on the right. The hotel has so much charm and character. Really loved it. oh yea, i've never commented on the firmness of hotel beds because every person is different, but I have to say, the beds in both of our rooms were crazy hard. So if thats a problem for you, keep it in mind. great bathrooms too.

Room Tip: we were in rooms 108 with a nice view of the pool. and room 112 with a lovely 4 poster bed and quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel,it is no way a 4 star hotel!
Lovely setting very quiet infact only 3 other rooms taken!
Worst breakfast we have ever had,nothing hot!
very like faulty towers just waited for manuel to appear!
Only english channel on radio or tv was the discovery one,dont want to watch tv but the news would be good!
Not for english visitors and we are very nice well travelled people in our 50,s!

Room Tip: if you have to go stay on the top floor,thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in this former olive mill tastefully converted to a hotel. A great place to get away and relax. It is a 10 minute stroll to the old town. The staff were very friendly and attentive. A great find. The Spanish breakfast served was also first class...... Definitely worth a stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I visited Hotel Tossal d'Altea with my friend mid June 2013. We were aiming for a relaxing holiday to recharge. To start with, the location of the hotel was good (and has parking) - away from the main streets a little way up the hill, far enough away to be quiet, but within walking distance of the old and new towns and the beach. The hotel has been converted from an Olive Mill and has an individual and relaxed style. The room was spacious (and cool - thanks to the air-con) with a big bathroom (with loads of toiletries: razor kit and toothbrush/paste included, useful to know when only travelling with hand luggage) and a small balcony over looking the pool and the mountainous skyline beyond. There was also a safe and a mini-bar / fridge.

There weren't many guests when we arrived to it was nice and quiet and we got use of the pool etc. Breakfast was served everyday from 8.30-11.00 and consisted of a buffet of cereal and dried fruit, yogurts, croissants, bread, meats and cheeses and freshly squeezed orange juice- continental which was fine as it was warm and we didn't need a hot cooked breakfast. We ate at the restaurant one night as it seemed nice and there were a few people eating there, we had the seafood, chicken and veg paella - (11 euros each) no complaints. The staff were helpful when asked about sites/ location of supermarkets etc. The only downside really was there was a wedding on the following weekend which they were setting up for which meant hammering and banging and no more use of the pool which was a bit disappointing - and we didn't get an apology or explanation which would have been nice.

Overall a nice place - would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in this very well maintained small hotel on a very quiet location.
From the terrace of our room we had a nice view on the garden, the pool, the pinon of Ifach in Calpe, the sea and the surroundings. Although the water was still cold, it was nice swimming in the pool which is surrounded with comfortable loungers.
Personnel is very friendly and helpful (especially the young man and the woman in the restaurant). Breakfast is very good with lots of choices (meat/cheese/cereals/bread/delicious croissants...). 2 times we had dinner there and food was excellent, so was the red wine..
The mattress on the bed however was too hard for us and the towels in the bathroom could use some softener.
We can certainly recommend this hotel for a stay of ± 5 nights.

Room Tip: Room 207 has a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Tossal d'Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tossal d'Altea

Address: Partida Pla del Castell, 96, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tossal d'Altea 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the heights of the town of Altea, just 300 metres away from the Palau Altea Centre d'Arts, or Altea Concert Hall, and a stone’s throw from the Old Quarter, the Hotel Tossal d’Altea was built on the site of a traditional olive oil mill which for over 300 years was used to produce olive oil. The hotel, whose design is reminiscent of Altean tradition while incorporating modern amenities and luxuries, caters mainly for guests seeking relaxation and wellbeing in a warm and welcoming environment in the heart of nature. The structure and decorative style of the hotel, whose rural design is typical of Altean country houses, blend in harmoniously with its restful setting, and it has sweeping views of the countryside, mountains and sea. What sets the hotel apart and endows it with its own personality is its core philosophy to provide attentive and personal services and a quality product for the highest guest satisfaction. Inside the hotel there is a restaurant which has two air-conditioned dining rooms which are open to the general public, where guests can enjoy Mediterranean cuisine as well as typical regional dishes. The "Menjador Almàssera" has a cylindrical stone mill and some presses in the centre, and a fireplace, while the "Saló Altea" is a more intimate area that is set apart from the main dining room. There is also a coffee lounge for guests wishing to have a coffee, which also serves the open air terrace. Hotel and outside guests may use all the restaurant facilities. The hotel has 15 rooms on the first floor and 7 rooms on the second floor. The spacious double rooms (which can also be used as single rooms) have balconies with panoramic views, mini-bar, television, telephone, internet, a safe, air-conditioning, heating, exquisite bathrooms etc. We can also highly recommend our charming Double room with canopy bed, and the uniquely elegant Special Suite which has a private sauna and hydromassage bath in an adjoining room. Whatever your tastes and interests are, we guarantee that your stay will be as pleasant and restful as possible. The hotel’s outdoor grounds include two large outdoor car parks right next to the hotel which have security surveillance, landscaped areas for enjoyable strolls, and an extensive terrace where you can sunbathe and enjoy the gentle breeze. There is also a swimming pool and gym for those who wish to use them. There is no extra charge for using these facilities, which have all been designed to provide easy access for disabled people. You are our number one priority. Visit us and relax in a restful and peaceful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tossal d'Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tossal d'Altea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.