We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BLISS IN ALTEA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abaco Altea

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abaco Altea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Abaco Altea
C/ Salva 13, 03590 Altea, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Altea
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“BLISS IN ALTEA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at ABACO to/from Barcelona recently and were surprised at the level of care and attention that the owners have put into this lovely small hotel. We usually stay at grand hotels around the world and found the genuine warmth and love that makes ABACO special may make us look further in the future. We stayed in two different rooms during our stays and both were well appointed and had everything we needed. The bathrooms were better than some we have experienced in much grander establishments so well done ABACO!

Room Tip: As each room is different it would be difficult to say which were better although some have a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dearest Client,

Thank you, thank you and thank you!

We are so thankful for your amazing and most sincere comment. Your post was the bliss of our day! We are most grateful and so pleased to know that you found our Abaco so special!!

You know how much your comment means to us and so flattered to know that you compared us to the grand hotels you have stayed in, a real honor!

Thank you again and hope you keep in touch and come to visit us often.

Abaco is your home; we look forward to having you again soon!

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
145
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Julie was very welcoming (as were strawberries & bubbly). Provence room was very nice. Breakfast was really good with fresh juice and fruit as well as lots of other items. Both Julie and Tom were helpful about suggestions of places to eat and Tom checked the weather for our proposed hike up Peñón de Ifach (which we completed!).
We hope to return......

Room Tip: Provence room very nice with small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Client,

Congratulations on your hike, definitely it is something to remember!

We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much and found our welcoming and service so lovely.

We hope you can return back again soon, just let us know and we will put the bubbly in the fridge and prepare your strawberries!

Thank you again, it was a real pleasure having you with us.

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuente Alamo, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just returned from short break In this delightful house. The lovely family who run this establishment have got it right in every way, customer care exemplary, rooms original and extremely comfortable, breakfast varied and tasty. Very much a home from home. Thank you for making each of your guests feel special. We will be back with our friends in tow.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Client,

We are so happy to know you felt like home, Hotel Abaco is your HOME and you are most welcome anytime!

Thank you for expressing your experience and for letting us know how satisfying your experience was. We appreciate greatly your compliments and feedback, truly this way is the only opportunity to know if we are doing it right so we are happy to know that we got it right! Very pleasing to hear!

Thank you again and we do hope to have you back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very unique and well managed. Each room is different. Great location and interesting area. We were there during the low season so the town was quiet. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Each room is very unique. Ask for a recommendation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear John,

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel unique and well managed. Also happy to hear that the service provided was positive and found our breakfast great!.

We hope to meet you again soon, the pleasure was ours!

Thank you for your fantastic comment placed in our Tripadvisor page!

Best regards,

Thomas & Adelina Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umeå, Västerbottens Län, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our second trip to Altea, and once again we chose to stay at the wonderful Hotel Abaco Altea. The service was, yet again, top notch, with the staff doing everything in their power to ensure our stay was as comfortable as possible. On our arrival, we were met by the delightful Julie, who greeted us with a glass of Cava and chocolate-dipped strawberries, what a welcome! We booked the same room as last year, Provence, a delightful room with a small balcony. The hotel was spotlessly clean, and the beds were the best we'd slept in on the whole of our holiday in Spain. Thomas, the manager, helped us out daily by giving us tips on places to visit, and things to do, aswell as the best way to get there. He certainly does know the area and all it has to offer. Rita, also a member of the staff, was so nice to us aswell, and was even helping us out with our Spanish! And whatever you do, don't miss the breakfast buffet, a real treat to set you up for the day. All in all, a very memorable stay, in a most delightful hotel run by fantastic people.......Thank-you, see you all again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Nick & Ninni,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. It was wonderful seeing you both again and a real pleasure having you in our hotel.

Once again the pleasure was ours and we are very much pleased to know that your experience was again wonderful.

We hope you have the chance to come back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Thomas, Rita, Julie, Adelina & Tristan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is difficult to highlight one aspect of Hotel Abaco ,as the whole production is without doubt first class. However, the stars of this particular show have to be the managers and staff, who put 110% effort into making your stay memorable! Cava and strawberries dipped in chocolate and ice cold towels made our arrival unforgettable! A kettle with tea bags was placed in our room for our stay as we like an early morning cup of tea, more iced towels as we escaped from the heat of the day and a surprise bottle of cava with chocolates delivered to our room with a card wishing us a happy wedding anniversary! The hotel itself is a little gem! Excellent location between the centre of the old town and the beaches. Beautiful, spotlessly clean, themed rooms, ( ours was the Moroccan styled "Kasbah") comfortable beds with quality linen and good quality and range of bathroom products. Breakfast again top class choice of cold cuts, fresh fruit salad, yogurts,different breads, eggs, traditional crushed tomatoes with oil, a choice of coffees and teas and attentive service. Only one small problem. In trying to help clients park in busy Altea, the hotel have provided underground car parking for about 3 cars. it is a very small space and for even the most confident driver, manouevring around other cars and avoiding walls is difficult. However, I really cannot see a solution to this and have not marked them down for it. We have had a memorable weekend, thank you Thomas, Rita, Julie & Natalia for making our anniversary weekend one we shall never forget!

Room Tip: Kasbah and Provence both have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Gerente at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Hilary,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with all of us.

We are so pleased to know that your stay was memorable and special. We were very happy to have you and be part of such an important event.

We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, cava, cold towels, amenities, location and found the hotel spotless clean.

Once again thank you for highlighting the highs of your stay and for making this public as this is the most valuable way to know where we are, where we need to improve as well as feel proud of what we have achieved.

Happy customers, happy owners!

We hope to have you again soon!

Best regards,

Adelina & Thomas Caparo & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Whilst this is a small (6 room) hotel it is extremely welcoming and very clean. The team; Julie, Thomas and Rita make you feel so welcome with cava and chocolate strawberries on arrival. They also know the area intimately so offer great dining, beach and walking advice. The rooms very comfortable and attractively furnished. Great breakfast buffet. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAbacoAltea, Manager at Hotel Abaco Altea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recommendations and experience in our Tripadvisor page.

We are so thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel extremely welcoming and clean. These are very important areas for us. We are glad to know that you liked our welcome amenity and recommendations.

Thank you again for highlighting that your breakfast was great and not to be missed.

We hope to have you back again soon.

Regards,

Adelina and Thomas Caparo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abaco Altea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abaco Altea

Address: C/ Salva 13, 03590 Altea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Alicante Province > Costa Blanca > Altea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Altea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former 18th century bakery shapes this charming hotel in the heart of Altea a few meters from the commercial center and coastline. Its six themed rooms offer a warm and friendly atmosphere full of small details that will make your stay unforgettable.After 8 years at the controls of Tony and Linda (founders and restorers of the hotel), Hotel Abaco is currently managed by Adelina and Thomas - a couple of hoteliers who decided to embark on this world since its start in Switzerland in the prestigious university "Le Roches". Place, where they met and decided to share their passion for working in luxury hotels and since then have worked through the world in (U.S., Europe, UAE and Seychelles, etc.) Both very versatile in their areas of expertise have based their principles on three specific factors: Quality, Attention to detail and Customer Satisfaction.Their work philosophy is reflected not only in the management of the hotel and rigorous attention they devote to the rooms, but also through the personalized and attentive dedication to exceeding their customers satisfaction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abaco Altea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abaco Altea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.