We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live like a local at Cherating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherating
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amelia's Guesthouse
Save
You added Amelia's Guesthouse to your Saves list
4 / 1185 Kampung Cherating Budaya Lama, Cherating 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Cherating B&B and Inns
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Live like a local at Cherating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We enjoyed two nights at Amelia's Guesthouse with our host Amelia and Amie with their two gorgeous boys, Azmi and Zaki (hoped spelt correctly).

Amelia and Amie welcomed us warmly and made us feel at home.

The accommodation is very comfortable, offering one double and two single bedrooms. All rooms have super quiet and efficient air-cond, plus comfy beds and pillows. There are three outside lounging areas where one can read or enjoy a cup of tea and chat with Amelia, Amie or play with the boys.

Amelia's Guesthouse is very clean, well maintained.

Meal cooked by Amie one evening was one of the best (if not the best) meals we ate whilst in Malaysia. Coffee and tea was readily available.

Tips: must do the river boat trip and batik.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliasGuesthouse, Owner at Amelia's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Wonderful having you stay with us. So glad that you opted to have dinner at the guesthouse one night. That was fun! We hope that the rest of your trip was fantastic. Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
4
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If you've prepared a checklist of things to look for when selecting a place to stay for a quiet homely weekend getaway, put a mark on comfort, value for money, and visual intrinsic on this place. Amelia's guesthouse is warm, inviting and extremely pleasant just as their owners Amelia and Amie. Not only do they make time to chat and indulge their guests, but their adorable kids are quite the conversationalists themselves. If you're lucky in the day, little Azmi might even indulge you with his star wars obsession and let you play with his massive collection of Lego bricks! Although it is located away from the typical beach strip merely a backdoor walk away so you can do all the things you came for and head back to the guesthouse for a quiet night in. There is an occasional breeze at the patio, and just ample of choices to relax and kick back. The most noticable thing about this place is how it is very well done up and combines elements of modern and traditional culture that caters well to the average travelers expectation of a truly Malaysian holiday. Mosquitos were the least of concern as they maintain a strict security of these bloodsucking meanies by filtering each door with a magnetic screen. The good old fashioned mosquito coil is also provided to ward of the evil suckers. Overall the hospitality and simplicity of this little sanctuary is one that is unmatched in cherating. Most of the chalets here have been in the business for years and have no interest to indulge their guests, not to mention tend to favour foreigners over locals. Our short stay at Amelia's guesthouse is one we will look forward to repeat next time we come around.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliasGuesthouse, Owner at Amelia's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thanks so much for staying with us. We're so happy that you were comfortable at our guesthouse. The boys really enjoyed your company and think that you're the coolest guests that have stayed here. Thank you for indulging our Star Wars and Lego fanatic. Adults that still know how to play are the best. We hope you come again for a chill out weekend sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful time in Cherating and felt like part of the family. I had a great time playing with the boys and evening discussions with Amelia and Amie. I slept well thanks to the air conditioning. The food was excellent. Short, pleasant walk to the beach where I saw beautiful sun rises and sunsets.
I will stay there again if I return to Malaysia

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliasGuesthouse, Owner at Amelia's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at Amelia's Guesthouse. We enjoyed your company very much and loved it that you had fun playing with the boys. Please come again and enjoy a meal with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My family have travelled to Cherating many times over the years and seen most accommodation go downhill over the years so we were thrilled when we found Amelia's Guesthouse on our recent visit in February. You just HAVE to stay here as there is nowhere else in Cherating where you will have such kind people looking after you as here!
Much as I love Malaysia a lot of the accommodation is quite run down but this is a refreshing change as it has recently been converted for accommodation and it is super clean, great air-con, wi-fi that actually works at a fast speed and loads of spaces to relax. We loved chilling on the patio and it's just a couple of minutes walk to the beach and shops so very handy.

I love the fact that you are staying with local people (Amie is Malay and Amelia is American that being said) and they went out of their way to look after us. They are really interesting people too and knowledgeable about so many things we spent ages enjoying their company.
We even had amazing home cooked Malay food at their place - Amie was a chef in America so it was just a treat to have his food. My husband reckoned it was the best food he had eaten in all of Malaysia and the breakfast is to die for.
They know all the places to go and were just so helpful to us it was a delight. Our two teenage kids really enjoyed staying there as well and said it felt like home. If you want to go somewhere where you don't feel like just another tourist but someone special then this is the place to be. The only problem we had was that we didn't want to leave! This is a special place and we had lots of laughs, great food and fun. We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliasGuesthouse, Owner at Amelia's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We're so happy that your family stayed with us here in Cherating. It was great hanging out with you and sharing life stories. Please do come again and stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Cherating is a small beach town with tasty seafood restaurants, good beach, and friendly villagers as well as foreigners from everywhere. Since I was a woman traveling by myself I wanted safety, cleaniness, and comfort for a reasonable price plus a bit of friendliness and hospitality. Their delightful guest house was all of this plus more. Amelia's place was a short 10 min walk off of the main drag so it was much quieter (voices and motor bike sounds were minimal) than most of the places I looked at. Yet it was close enough to easily go to the beach or join the town life. I felt safe walking day or night. Arriving "home" I was always greeted by friendly faces...Amelia, Amie, and their 2 quiet sons (10 and 2). Amie is Malay and Amelia is from California so English and Malay are spoken fluently by each....both are travelers and great cooks. They owned their own restaurant in Cherating and were cooks in the States....interesting, versatile couple around 45 years of age. I caught a cold and Amelia took care of me as she is also an acupuncturist and herbalist. Amie fed me ......I loved his cooking and he turned me on to some exotic fruit and told me about fishing there. We watched some interesting movies when they weren't answering my questions about Malaysia, its culture, and where to visit in Malaysia and Indonesia. Internet is fast and rooms had good air conditioning which is important. I especially liked sitting out on the porch in the evening looking at the coconut trees or for my reading time (Amelia had some good books). Boys were quiet as well as respectful....they even had their own house for playing in next door. Showers were hot and house was tastefully decorated....modern. Don't miss staying there! Only one risk.... you won't want to leave to go back home or to keep traveling as Amelia's guesthouse is so comfortable with nice people near by you.
Sandhya......Maui, Hawaii.....manager of a guest house

Room Tip: Speak with Amelia when booking and tell her your sleeping needs as she is very good at putting you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliasGuesthouse, Owner at Amelia's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
So happy to hear that you enjoyed our guesthouse and Cherating overall. Thank you so much for sharing your review of Amelia's Guesthouse. We hope that you come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great place. Squeaky-clean. Close to transport but quiet. No karaoke! Let them set you up with turtle or firefly watching! Run by a very cool Ameri-laysian couple - they've guesthoused around the world so they know how to run one. Beach three steps away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliasGuesthouse, Owner at Amelia's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for sharing a backpacker's perspective on our place. It was great to have you and hope you pass through again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

If you want the simple East Coast Malaysia village family life but with globetrotter hosts, this is the place!

Amie and Amelia just converted their home to a guest house as they are staying put for a while to raise their two young boys. Rooms are basic and clean but with new airconditioning, toilets, showers and free wifi, it's great value for money. And they have a huge compound to relax if you are not out on the beach or doing activities.

The hosts know the area and the people well and gives great tips for travellers to Malaysia. They are very hospitable and make you feel like family with their boys.

I will recommend this place to travellers who want to get value for their money and have a home to come back to after a day out.

Siti

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeliasGuesthouse, Owner at Amelia's Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks very much for your kind words about Amelia's Guesthouse. So glad that you enjoyed your time in Cherating and were able to relax. Please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amelia's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelia's Guesthouse

Address: 4 / 1185 Kampung Cherating Budaya Lama, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelia's Guesthouse is a brand new family run guesthouse in Cherating, Malaysia. We have modern amenities like air-con, cable TV, hot water showers, and wifi for your enjoyment. The owner is a chef and makes you a fabulous breakfast. He also offers Malaysian cooking classes. We are on one acre with lots of coconut and fruit trees. Our guests love enjoying fresh coconut water in the afternoon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amelia's Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.