We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the worst resort I've ever stayed.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Impiana Resort Cherating

Save Saved
You added Impiana Resort Cherating to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Impiana Resort Cherating
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km 32 Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Cherating 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Cherating
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the worst resort I've ever stayed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Im not a handicapped person, but Hotel never considered for disabled people(This is my first impression of the resort) Have to go up and down lots of the stairs. And then found "swimming pool closed for maintenance" when we were checking in...my nephew fully disappointment. We stayed for 2nights.about the room facilities, noisy n useless air con, damp towels, dark n small shower roomlaptop sized tv, unstable bed frame, very small terrace.... .the first night was bloody loud because of heavy metal live music until 2~3am..it might be from Fun pub..only one cafe with poor food with ants..the climax is the last moment in the resort..we were frightened of a centipede...itz huge about over 20cm hiding in my swimming wear( hung it in the terrace overnight).found it i was packing baggage.I called the desk twice for a help but no respose for 10mins ..so i asked a staff who was chatting with housekeepers...they sprayed insecticide and killed it with a stick...so awful experience...this resort should be closed for renovation asap...only thing was great is the beach..clean and calm.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear En Alias_kr,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very disappointed that you have had a bad experience while staying with us and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered.

We have always and will do our level best to serve all our guests to ensure they have an enjoyable stay and we sometimes fall short on certain areas unintentionally.

Your review will be used to improve where necessary and we thank you for highlighting.

Regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    113
    102
    34
    17
See reviews for
101
74
3
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is clean and staffs are very friendly, but the water supply is very bad, out of three shower, i had two shower with water pressure problem, it was around 11.30pm. quite late and tired but yet no water to shower, the staff told me to wait 5 min, but after two call and wait half an hour only i got water, but the water was not clean, it was yellowish. if you are coming for turtle, this is the right place, we arrive on saturday and there is turtle release every saturday.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Ms Syuen25,

Thank you for your review and we apologize that you had to go through some problems with the water pressure in your room.

We have taken note of your comments for improvement and we thank you for highlighting.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit to the lovely Impiana. This grand old hotel still offers peace, serenity and the chance for perfect relaxation.
If you want ultra modern, sleek and shiny facilities this place is not for you and you should go to a big chain anonymous hotel, but if you want to stay in an elegant, Malay style hotel then come here. The main area is open sided, with cooling breezes blowing over the water lily pond and through to reception. The rooms face the sea and are charming with bamboo blinds screening the windows. The air conditioning could be stronger but it was sufficient. The bathrooms, while not brand new, were clean and comfortable.
I brought a friend on this visit, on her first trip to Malaysia, and she adored the hotel. Our first afternoon was spent on loungers facing the sea, listening to the waves. The clean, white sand beach is beautiful.
The staff deserve special mention for their kindness and courtesy.
This is a marvellous place for a short break - excellent value - and we will be returning.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear WendallKL,

Thank you for staying with us again and for your kind comments on Tripadvisor.

We are glad that you have had a wonderful time appreciating the nature surrounding the resort.
We hope that your friend have also experienced and bring back great memories of Malaysia while staying with us.

Thank you once again and hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel location is very strategic, friendly staffs and near by activities and food.
Easy access and travel to Chukai town, fisherman village, sea turtle, and etc..

The only draw back of this hotel is 'not well kept'.
From the hotel entrance it looks elegant and rich in Malay sculpture. I and my girl friend are served with welcome drink and with warm smile and service. Makes you feel like home.

But when we are brought to the room. Ooo god. Not that fantastic. The room is so 'spoil moody'.
There are ants near the toilet (we didn't complain, we ignore it). Refrigerator is leaking.
Toilet...cleanliness just an average.the flooring is wood. It has some squeak sound whenever you are walking on it.
The room direction facing is great. Seaside facing.
Generally is okay but we won't return any more.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear MYTraveler84,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor and for staying with us.

We have taken note of your comments and share them with the team to improve our service standards.

We truly apologize for the shortcomings that you have experienced and hope that you will be back to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, yes it's tired and yes it needs investment. However, staff are very friendly and the beach is lovely and pretty deserted. If you want five start luxury with all the Tupperware, wipe clean, could be anywhere in the
World hotel chains then this isn't for you. If however, you like seeing the occasional monkey around the grounds, don't mind the odd Gekko (it is Malaysia after all) then it's absolutely worth a stay and its not particularly expensive. Restaurants on the main drag are good however you will need a car.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Mr StephenJM2012,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.
Your constructive comments will be used to motivate our associates to do better and improve where necessary.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Back again and found the hotel remains old, tired and needs refurbishment. All rooms are sea facing, that compensates.

Given that it shares the same beach as Club Med, we have decided to put up with it. You can imagine the beach is beautiful, in my opinion better because the sand is softer. The beach stretches for miles. Even during the peak season, it is not crowded. Only downside during monsoon season is the strong wave - red flag throughout our stay. If you are for the sun, its fine.

Our kids had fun riding bicycles, flying kites, picking seashells, building sand castles, swimming in the pool and dipping in the shallow waves. We saw a boy pulling out a fish literally minutes after he threw his hook into the sea.

Perhaps we were in season to release baby turtles. As a conversation effort, the turtle sanctuary picked up turtle eggs and hatched them. Otherwise the turtle eggs would be poached and sold in Terengganu, the neighbour state! Kids could hold baby turtles and release them into the sea - its very special.

Buffet breakfast is good. There is no buffet dinner and only 1 restaurant opens during our stay. Be prepared to drive out for food, if you plan for a long stay.

Room Tip: There is no lift, ask for level 1 or 2 if you have kids or seniors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mr Davidhii,

Thank you for your review and we are glad that you have had a great experience with nature.

We will sure to look into areas of improvement and we hope to see you again next season.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have just left from this hotel and we had a lovely stay. The staff were some of the most helpful and polite people that I have ever had at a hotel. The hotel was lovely, very big and a nice pool and grounds. Our room was lovely, we had a deluxe sea view, the room was clean, nice big bed, the balcony doors opened up so that we could over look the sea. The sea was very close to our room so you could hear it throughout the night, really nice! The food was fantastic and the morning breakfast buffet was a good mix of food the only issue we found was that the morning breakfast buffet food could be a bit cold. The hotel is right on the beach, it's in a quite location and quite far from other places, the hotel was very quiet but that's how we wanted it, to be able to relax. The hotel had some trips that they could arrange, we released some baby turtles one night which was a fantastic experience. I would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Beaverairlines,

It was a great pleasure having you with us and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciate the nature surrounding the resort.

Thank you for your review and we will work on the areas mentioned for improvements.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Impiana Resort Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Resort Cherating

Address: Km 32 Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impiana Resort Cherating 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Impiana Resort Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Resort Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Cherating

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impiana Resort Cherating, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.