We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, hotel comfy but old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Impiana Resort Cherating

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Impiana Resort Cherating to your Saves list
Impiana Resort Cherating
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Km 32 Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Cherating 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cherating
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Nice beach, hotel comfy but old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here with friends for a relaxing weekend. Check in was quite a breeze which was good as parking was quite far and hot to walk from. The staff were quite friendly and were quite ready to assist you when you need them. The room was big enough and we got a nice view of the sea. First thing i noticed howver was that the room was a bit rundown particularly the toilet and shower. The tiles and towels were very old and in need of some sprucing. Nonetheless it was clean. Ammenities were almost complete (it had everything except toothbrushes). They also provided rubber slippers for guests although they looked a bit shabby. The aircon was a bit noisy but cooling enough. Overall the place was very relaxing but in need of renovations.

Other areas for improvement include housekeeping which took forever to set up our extra bed ( i had to call twice even after the reception desk already told them to do it). Also the in house band should be banned from singing english songs! They were out of tune and did not know the lyrics well. They sing local chinese and malay songs well but please dont let them sing in english.

Foodwise the breakfast buffet had a good selection. The eggs station was good. I liked the beef bacon although the hashbrowns were soggy. Also it would be nice to have maple syrup instead of honey for pancakes/french toast. They also make a good bbq buffet for saturday night which at 50nett is really nice value. Minus the out of tune singers of course.

It seems that th resort has been doing renovations for some time. Hopefully they can finish it soon.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Ms Hazelmelanie,

Thank you for your recent visit and we are glad that you have had a relaxing weekend with your friends. We have taken note on your reviews to improve our services further so as to not have repetitions in the future. Comments, good or bad will always be useful tool for us to improve further.

We are also taking steps in upgrading our facilities as we do not want our guest's stay to be disturbed.

Thank you and regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    124
    119
    39
    22
See reviews for
121
80
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 22/03/13 to 24/03/13.Have nothing much to say about this place.Apart from the well furbished lobby and Kopi O restaurant everything else was pretty old, shabby and run down,badly needs massive upgrading.Service was terrible and extremely slow.Anythg that we ask or order from the room, takes hours to arrive.Food pricing was a rip off...we participated in the earth hour bbq dinner...and it was a sorry state...food was terrible and undercooked.No variety and no dessert for the staggering Rm60++ we paid.Wifi connection sucked.What put us together was the company and lovely beach.Had quality time with family.Gladly would say tht will return to this place nor recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Ms Venuschandralina,

First and foremost, let us offer our apologies for the situation you have encountered.

This is something that we try to avoid but, obviously, we sometimes fall short of the mark despite all our best efforts in satisfying the needs of every guest.

We have taken your comments seriously and will improve on areas mentioned. Your situation is not something that happens on a regular basis and it was not handled as it should have been. Guest’s point of view is most important to us as it gives us the opportunity to improve, where needed.

Yes, some areas are tired and old, but we are in the midst of upgrading our facilities, phase by phase as not to disturb our guests too much.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time.

Regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights there and had a peaceful time relaxing in a hassle free resort environment. The beach was less crowded, providing much needed time to enjoy the sight and sound without much disturbance. The staff were awesome. They were hardworking and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Petrus9518,

It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming
you back again.

Thank you for your feedback and we will continue to improve our services further.

Regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, it is an old property, yes it needs refurbishment but honestly it is surely the best resort in the area, great value for money! It has a real charm, sits on a beautiful CLEAN beach, has a very large well maintained park and offers quietness and a peaceful atmosphere. Staff is willing to please, accommodating and friendly. And the sea is at a stone throw. We had a great long week end away from the city and will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Great large family rooms, all with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear MarieK36,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you had had a wonderful stay with us and that we will always sustain the environment around us to ensure that our guest gets a clean room, beach, good food and service.

We hope that you have relaxed, recharged and ready to go back to the busy schedule and we will be here waiting for you in the near future.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It is a lovely hotel which brought back old memories. The deco and wood finishing really captured our hearts. Staying in the superior deluxe seaview room facing the beach is the best for us. Hearing the sound of the waves, seeing the sunrise just right from ur balcony is just heaven. My husband and I just couldn't stop being reminded to our growing childhood memories. Having the wooden floor with fans and wide windows feels totally like kampong. I highly suggest for the city-dwellers to have an escape here and relax. Fall in love just like how we did.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear WanieNapie,

We are glad and honored that you have had a wonderful stay with us.

Yes, that is what we offer to our guest. Traditional concept with a little touch of modern here and there. The nature itself, the beach, the waves, you can just sit and close your eyes and drift away! Run away from the hustle and bustle of the city life and enjoy peace and we believe that you have.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope that you will come back and rekindle more lovely memories..

Warm regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is my second visit after 6 years with my wife. The hotel still maintain very well.
Perhaps the staff’s attitudes are improved a lot, more professional and friendlier compare to last time.

The rooms are still maintaining very well, all type of room should be sea view and with balcony. But CTV change to smaller LCD TV, last time provided Vision Four channels, now change to Astro channels, wifi is free. The aircond is very powerful, but we love to use fan and open window is comfortable enough. My suggestion, please try not to use aircond, TV and electronic device, just listen the ocean and wind blow, it will ensure you will have unforgettable stay in this hotel. I am super love the sofa which attached at the site with window, is a good place to read.

We had our dinner at the restaurant Kopi house on Valentine day, the environment is peaceful and romantic, food is delicious and price is reasonable. However they didn’t provide any Valentine’s package. I would rather had my meal in this hotel instead of driving out to find restaurant, due to waste time and you may not guaranty to find a nice food with cheaper price. Furthermore mosquito attack can be avoided in this restaurant.

The hotel do provides some tour package, and some activities such as Cherating river cruise, night market, turtle sanctuary, bicycle rental and so on, can get those information in the room. However, it could be better with the spa and fitness center.

Online pre-booked is necessary in the peak season, please compare price in Agoda and others. I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Second floor is link to lobby, 1st floor and 3rd floor have to climb staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear WeilekHo,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your feedback. We feel very honored and glad that you have had a lovely stay with us.

We value your feedback and we can see that you are a nature lover who appreciates the best of the nature itself.

Yes, our rooms are all facing the sea and guests are able to just sit and enjoy the view from their window seat balcony and listen to the waves.

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Thank you and regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited this resort in February 2013 after reading some good reviews but our experience was rather disappointing. Overall, the resort is poorly maintained. Many of the board walks are uneven and some sections are even closed-off. The tennis and fusball courts look pretty bad and barely playable.

We also had ants in our room and the bathrooms were moldy!

Given the run-down condition of this resort, the room rates are exorbitant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noraini71, Manager at Impiana Resort Cherating, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Fncheah,

Thank you for your recent stay and constructive feedback.

The management appreciates such feedback and believe that we could be better when we know what our guests have experienced during their stay.

The areas that were closed was due to safety reasons and we are already in the midst of refurbishing them as we want our guests to be comfortable and safe while staying with us.

We would also like to apologize for the inconvenience that you have encountered during your stay.

Once again, thank you.

Best regards,
Noraini Ahmad
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Impiana Resort Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Resort Cherating

Address: Km 32 Jalan Kuantan Kemaman, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cherating
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Impiana Resort Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Impiana Resort Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Resort Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Kuantan
Impiana Hotel Cherating

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impiana Resort Cherating, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.