We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Payung Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherating
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Payung Guesthouse
Kuantan, Pahang Darul Makmur, Cherating, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Cherating B&B and Inns
Meleka, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Yahya(owner) at Payung guesthouse for two nights. He made us feel very welcome from the very start. He brought us extra bed linen when the temperature cooled after a rainy evening. He was very helpful and gave us advise on where to eat, activities etc. The chalets are basic but very cute. We had fresh mangos when they fell from the tree outside our chalet. We would definitely recommend this as a budget place to stay.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
16
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frauenfeld, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The guesthouse is quiete cheap (but there are some even cheaper ones) but therefore the chalets are quite basic but nice. I went there because of the fantastic feedback on tripadvisor and it met my expectations but it was not that brilliant as it as rated back in march 13 (but still good). Its close to the beach and to other facilities. But be warned of the noise from the live music of "little bali" which is right next to the guesthouse it goes on every day untli 3am

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondebosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights only but could have stayed much longer. Unless you are looking for upmarket accommodation, this place has all you need for an uncomplicated stay. And the guys running it will bend over backwards to help you with just about anything - well done guys!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Travelling as a budget traveller you could stay propably cheaper in Cherating but at Payung guest house you get in our opinion a great package. Good accomodation for a fair price, very friendly and helpful people and great service. We booked the night bus to Melaka and surprisingly the guy from the travel agency (Yahja) gave us a lift to the bus station and waited there with us to stop the bus. He do that though for everybody. I never experienced that - wonderful service. We will come back when there are waves to surf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading the great reviews, we stayed 3 nights at Payung Guest House and could have easily stayed longer. We were warmly welcomed by Yahya who was a great source of information. We booked the firefly cruise and turtle watching with him and had a wonderful time.

The chalets are a little run down but they maintain a rustic charm about them. Our room was a good size, comfortable and come with mosquito nets (which we didn't need) and a fan. We enjoyed spending our afternoons sitting on the porch reading or making the most of the free wifi.

There is a common area near reception with books, coffee, tea and not to mention the friendly cats who enjoyed the attention.

I will mention that the Bali Bar nearby does like loud music until the early hours. We used ear plugs and they seemed to work.

Cherating is fairly small so the beach and cafes were all walking distance. This is the place to get away from it all and actually relax!

Room Tip: Try and get a room near reception as the Bali Bar is next door towards the back. And bring ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this very chilled out but super helpful place for 3 nights. It is a great location and only less that 2 minutes from the beach.

Cherating is a very laid back and fairly quiet town and Payung seems to be in the heart of the action as you can book tours, travel and much more through Payung.

Yahya needs a special mention, he runs Payung and is just full of information and so helpful. we were given a map on arrival (even though there are only really a few streets) and he told us all about the best places to eat and drink. We went on a firefly night tour (RM20/person), which was great fun and on the following night we went on THE BEST night trip to see the Green Turtles come up on the beach, lay eggs and also we released some hatchlings (RM50/person).

The only downside is that there is bar that backs onto the property, which plays music until quite late with bad karaoke, so get a room towards reception as it is much quieter.

There is also free tea and coffee all day long!!

Room Tip: Get a room towards the reception area as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very happy with location, staff and helpfulness, even though it was Hari Raya so not much open. Cherating great place to 'get away from it all' and Payung Guesthouse contributed in no small way.
One small problem - there were some lovely kittens with their mother who kept us entertained but they obviously think the rooms are theirs as we discovered we had been bitten to death by fleas!
This only happened in one of the rooms as our children did not have a problem in theirs. This definitely put a damper on our holiday but at least they were just fleas ....
Aside from that, rooms very clean and yes, we would stay again - with flea powder!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Payung Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Payung Guesthouse

Address: Kuantan, Pahang Darul Makmur, Cherating, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cherating
Also Known As:
Payung Guesthouse Hotel Cherating

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Payung Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Payung Guesthouse to your Saves list