We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - extraordinary service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Payung Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherating
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Payung Guesthouse
Save
You added Payung Guesthouse to your Saves list
Kuantan, Pahang Darul Makmur, Cherating, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Cherating B&B and Inns
Melaka
1 review
“Great place - extraordinary service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Travelling as a budget traveller you could stay propably cheaper in Cherating but at Payung guest house you get in our opinion a great package. Good accomodation for a fair price, very friendly and helpful people and great service. We booked the night bus to Melaka and surprisingly the guy from the travel agency (Yahja) gave us a lift to the bus station and waited there with us to stop the bus. He do that though for everybody. I never experienced that - wonderful service. We will come back when there are waves to surf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    24
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
20
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After reading the great reviews, we stayed 3 nights at Payung Guest House and could have easily stayed longer. We were warmly welcomed by Yahya who was a great source of information. We booked the firefly cruise and turtle watching with him and had a wonderful time.

The chalets are a little run down but they maintain a rustic charm about them. Our room was a good size, comfortable and come with mosquito nets (which we didn't need) and a fan. We enjoyed spending our afternoons sitting on the porch reading or making the most of the free wifi.

There is a common area near reception with books, coffee, tea and not to mention the friendly cats who enjoyed the attention.

I will mention that the Bali Bar nearby does like loud music until the early hours. We used ear plugs and they seemed to work.

Cherating is fairly small so the beach and cafes were all walking distance. This is the place to get away from it all and actually relax!

Room Tip: Try and get a room near reception as the Bali Bar is next door towards the back. And bring ear plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in this very chilled out but super helpful place for 3 nights. It is a great location and only less that 2 minutes from the beach.

Cherating is a very laid back and fairly quiet town and Payung seems to be in the heart of the action as you can book tours, travel and much more through Payung.

Yahya needs a special mention, he runs Payung and is just full of information and so helpful. we were given a map on arrival (even though there are only really a few streets) and he told us all about the best places to eat and drink. We went on a firefly night tour (RM20/person), which was great fun and on the following night we went on THE BEST night trip to see the Green Turtles come up on the beach, lay eggs and also we released some hatchlings (RM50/person).

The only downside is that there is bar that backs onto the property, which plays music until quite late with bad karaoke, so get a room towards reception as it is much quieter.

There is also free tea and coffee all day long!!

Room Tip: Get a room towards the reception area as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very happy with location, staff and helpfulness, even though it was Hari Raya so not much open. Cherating great place to 'get away from it all' and Payung Guesthouse contributed in no small way.
One small problem - there were some lovely kittens with their mother who kept us entertained but they obviously think the rooms are theirs as we discovered we had been bitten to death by fleas!
This only happened in one of the rooms as our children did not have a problem in theirs. This definitely put a damper on our holiday but at least they were just fleas ....
Aside from that, rooms very clean and yes, we would stay again - with flea powder!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

A great place to stay! Good location, 2 mins walk to the beach, nice garden area between chalets, good wifi in room and Yahya at reception is outstanding! Has everything ready for your next location and can organise all trips, a wealth of knowledge. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My friend and I had a great 4 night stay here in Payung. When we first arrived we were a skeptical about the place as they misplaced our reservation for the first night somehow. Initially upset due to a long day of travel they accommodated us in a nearby guesthouse complimentary our first night. The following day we were able to move into Payung by noon and even picked our little hut.
The main manager was delightful, he was so helpful and accommodating and really went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable with out stay. He took us to see the turtle hatching and really made it worthwhile for us, taking us on an extra little tour at the end.

Be aware that this is Cherating... Small town and nothing is glamorous from what we could see. We were looking for something exactly like payung offers, hut style accommodations, simple, safe, clean, and affordable. We stayed in a double room with a fan. The fan absolutely kept us cool in the evening despite the 30 degree weather. The bathroom is small but we were used to that. The porch with furniture is ideal and they have a kettle and dishes in a common area. Although we certainly did not use the fridge. Overall great stay and I would with no doubt stay again.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs! A nearby place likes to crank the music until the wee hours of the morning- which I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I checked in to the Guest house in 24 Mar 2013 with my 2 children & wife. We all stayed in a 2-double beds room with no air-cond, just eelctric fans. It was hot in the afternoon but pretty nice temperature at night. The Malay style hut gives a genuine 'Kampong feel' with chickens & cats walking around. My kids were excited with the spacious environment.

It is just 5 mins walk to the charming Cherating beach. Eateries are nearby. I like the breakfast nasi lemak just opposite the guesthouse. Turtle sanctuary centre is 2km away which is located at the entrance of ClubMed resort. Encik Yahya is friendly and informative. We joint his fireflies tour at night. Really an adventurous Cherating river cruise trip.

The accommodation and fireflies tour are both value for money.

Room Tip: To choose a non air cond room to have a genuine nature holiday experience. Cherating river just behi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Payung Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Payung Guesthouse

Address: Kuantan, Pahang Darul Makmur, Cherating, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cherating
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Payung Guesthouse Hotel Cherating

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Payung Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.