We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherating
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ruby's Resort
Save
You added Ruby's Resort to your Saves list
Lot 350, Jalan Kemaman | Kg. Chendor, Cherating 26080, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Cherating B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Found Ruby's Resort when we had a rental vehicle to go exploring, complete chance! This place is wonderful and Ruby is great character. You can find her too if you do a search for pet friendly places to stay, she loves her animals and yours are welcome too! The location is remote and well hidden and that makes it even nicer. There are no near neighbours though Club Med is not far nor is Cherating. The beach is pristine as Ruby keeps it clean for her guests also there is a much needed shaded area with picnic tables and benches and the tree house is magnificent!
The rooms and outside living areas are absolutely pristinely clean (I'd be afraid to make a mess!) and have a charm and authenticity that is hard to beat. Ruby has done herself proud and I can't wait to return to stay. Truly unique!

Room Tip: They are all great and far enough away from communal areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Excellent homely place and Dogs will love the freedom.
6 of us stayed there. Acacia Room for 4 and Lily for 2pax.
Acacia was very much a family setup. Small pantry with fridge,microwave, and toaster.
Nice to chill near the small tv hall.
Place is definitely clean.Good job on the cleanliness.
No dog scent of any sort in the rooms.
A stand fan is given in acacia,and was handy for the dogs.
The porch was not bad as there were mosquito coils to repel it away.
Very practical setup to wash and clean the dogs before entering the rooms.
Tree house - very original and amazing to see the tree come thru the house.
Beach was clean, and quite private. A big area for the dogs. You won't run out of ground.
In front of the rooms, there is an large area where the dogs can run loose as the gates are closed.
Personally, I found the parking concept in front of the room practical as it eases the loading and unloading of stuff.
Entrance from the main road, a little scary as the narrow roads is used by container lorries and buses speeding,and the turning to the place is in between it. I guess its normal in Cherating and people who are used to it, but first timers should keep a safe distance and speed.Moreover the signboards are immediately before the turning, so best not speed and make a sudden stop to turn-in.
The entrance is dark at night,as I was told, local city council has not installed any light although multiple
requests by club med and Ruby. Even, several times lamps have
been installed by Ruby's team, but unfortunately it has been stolen.
The saved stray dogs and cats lives together and are very friendly.There are good company during breakfast.
Breakfast was simple, but certainly very homely.I loved the coffee.
Lastly, the staff was excellent. Aminah and Anuar. I salute their simple nature and friendliness.
Made the whole family feel very welcomed and at home.
Certainly planning another trip there soon. 1 night wasn't enough :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

had 3 days 2 night trip here second visit first time was April last year this time March, the place is clean as were the rooms, had a very good cooked fish and chip lunch there at their cafe it was so nice had it both days.
Would like to go longer but every time I go the weather there is so nice the sun burns me even with sun cream if it did not would spend a week there but will go a few times each year for 2 nights 3 days every one is friendly including all Ruby's cats and dogs well recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This resort allows you to bring your pets but you have to bring your own blanket, pillow case, bed sheet, and towels. I rented a bigger chalet so there is a room with a queen size bed, living room with 2 single bed, kitchen, and sharing toilet. Generally the chalet is quite clean as well as the resort. Although the owner of the resort has 7 dogs and 25 cats, the dogs have their own place to roam around so you do not have to afraid your dog will get bitten by her 7 dogs. The whole resort has fences and gates so you do not have to worry your dog will go missing. Even the chalet itself has a short gate in front and there is a water tap and place for you to bathe your dog.

The resort is right in front of the beach and it is a private beach. The only drawback is the resort does not have a swimming pool but there are a lot of chairs and tables outside the chalet for you to enjoy the fresh air with your pets. The resort does not have a cafe or restaurant. You have to drive out for meals.

The owner manages the resort. The owner provides excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor, Johor, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I strongly believe that all pet owners shares the same problem here in our country - we do not want to leave our darling furkids behind when we go for vacation, but we do not have a choice because people are so sensitive about them. I am a person that can't live one day without my cats, so every vacation I went I had to smuggle them into a hotel.

At Ruby's, things are totally different. The feeling of my pets being so welcomed here has made up for all the trouble (long and tired drive from JB, setting up their "nest" in the cabin, bad traffic and etc.) We arrived a bit late in the evening, but Auntie Ruby herself came out to welcome us. Not only that, 7 dogs and quite a number of cats came out to welcome us as well! This is one hospitality that no other place in our country can provide.

The rooms are equipped with basic facilities, but they can already cater to all our basic needs. The rooms are air-conditioned, but I especially appreciate the fan, because i am not used to sleeping in air-conditioned room, and I normally do not have a choice in other hotels. There are also a fridge, exactly what we need to keep our canned pet food. It's already more than what i can ask for. Bins and brooms and mops and pails are provided to keep our rooms clean. Bed sheets and towels are not provided due to hygiene issues. I can totally understand that. We are already so blessed with a place where we can bring our pets along, so it is our responsibility to keep the place clean for other people to enjoy such privilege as well. Besides, who would know what will happen if everyone uses the same bed sheets and blankets and towels? Think about allergies, think about bacteria or diseases that might spread, think about our pets might not be able to accept the scent of other animals, I'd rather bring my own, and my pets actually felt more like home with scent they are familiar with.

Breakfast is provided during our stay. Not fancy international buffet but it is actually something that matches the environment and ambiance in the place - cozy country side, quiet, tranquil kampung with no stress and tension from the busy city. A coffee and some bread and eggs are just perfect to go along with the ocean breeze and sound of wave. If you are expecting fancy hotel breakfast, then what you need is just a typical no-pets allowed 5-star hotel, not a homely kampung with cats and dogs all over the place.

Overall, this is the best vacation I've ever had. 3d2n is just not enough here. We have already planned for our next visit. I highly recommend this place for any pet lovers.

Room Tip: They have different types of rooms, depending on your needs. We took Palm and Angsana, big and cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

At first glance Ruby's place does not seem to offer much, but stay in awhile and you will soon see why its a heaven to pet lovers. Even before arrival while i contacted her through sms, she was extremely friendly to talk to. As i was checking in during monsoon season to bring my dog in for his birthday, she kindly offered to upgrade our room to a bigger size room without extra charges as well as waving the deposit fee as i was the only person staying in. It was such a joy to see a group of dogs waiting at the gate to great us. Not to mention the cats lazying around the compound were such a joy to see. The room provided was decent and did not smell bad. The resort location was close to the beach at a stone throws away with a private stretch to walk or run. Everything in the resort decorations was mostly DIY(do it yourself) and recycled for old parts gave the place a homely feel. Hammocks were all around for you to lie down in, barbecue areas were also present for group outings. But the best of all was the amount of land for your pets to go crazy in. The only thing was you need to be prepared to bring your own towel for your pet as well as hair dryer as wet pets are not allowed into the rooms. The 7 dogs and many cats just completes the picture. Having a late night play time with them was unforgettable. i would say this place is mostly catered to animal lovers who is looking for a simple fun time with their furkids. If your looking for a hotel with a swimming pool this is defiantly not the place for you. However if your looking for an unforgettable time at the beach with your fur kid, this is the place to be in malaysia as this is THE ONE AND ONLY few PET FRIENDLY PLACES IN MALAYSIA!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

On paper and the web, Ruby's Resort sounds interesting, beach setting, cabin accommodation and pets are allowed to stay.
On arrival, it is exactly what it states, small cabins located metres from a massive beach front, rolling waves, potential surf, and plenty of sand. The luxury of Ruby's is the solitude, it is quiet, bush setting, off the main trail and secluded from the bustle of daily life (if you want...).
Located near Cherating Beach on Malaysia's east coast, north of Kuantan by 40kms, it is an ideal getaway from city life which you can bring your pet dog or cat.
We choose to bring our dog, which felt quite at home with Ruby's 8 dogs, as well as her 24 cats... yes, I am not understating that figure. Ruby looks after dogs and cats, as a refuge from strays or injury. Her property is ideal for this, as there are a dozen cabins, well spaced out for privacy, basic living but fine for a break, beds, bathrooms, good meals at the dining room, and of course the beach... The property is about 2 hectares in size, cabins aligned on the south side, the remaining being open cleared land, plenty of parking... a great tree house for the kids beside the beach (I think it's larger than our 6 person cabin...) and garden, a pen with chickens, ducks and geese, and a lot of room for the dogs and cats to run around... big rule, no wet pets in the cabins! so bring a hair dryer and towel for your pet.
We picked our winter break to spend some time with the family and our dog, although we took a risk to come as there'd been floods in Kuantan the previous week, and plenty of rain. There was rain each night, and some of our plans to do exploring was dampened by the weather, but we expected that. The local area is great, the firefly tour by Hafiz was great, more than I even expected, as these tiny little insects give off the most amazing light, and Hafiz's skill and knowledge of these fireflys did help our understanding. Seeing these small lights come across the water towards our boats was enlightening, and being able to gently catch them and see their body alight was truly one thing I will strongly remember from this holiday.
Ruby's has a range is cabins, various sizes, but well sized for any size group. We arrived after driving 3 hours from KL and unpacked, gave our dog a run, water and a 'comfort stop', then explored the local area before coming back and settling into our bright blue cabin called "Jambu".
If you don't like a bit of sand on your feet, floor, bed, then this is not the place for your break, and especially if you don't love cats/dogs, as there are plenty of them to rub up against you and receive a pat. Ruby's is for a change, open, honest and a great place to unwind... as the beach is km's in length, the water refreshing and warm, good surf waves for beginner surfers or for the kids, and the sound of the crashing waves is very relaxing, either from your cabin, the dining area, or from the beach.
The property is well sign posted once you hit the end of the highway (we used our GPS which did a strange detour, but got us here safely). The property is gated, meaning you need to open and close these to prevent the pets getting out, and there is plenty of flood lighting at night to clearly see around the place. There is a covered walkway along the from the cabins, leading to the dining area and office, which helps in those wet periods and at night. All cabins have a small entry area which is gated for your pets to be closed in, with seating for your own relaxation time whilst reading or talking.
Ruby's Resort has cabins for sleeping 1 to 8 comfortably, in dormitory style accommodation (all in together). These are clean and comfortable, good mattresses and tiled flooring, fan and air-conditioned rooms throughout all cabins, with wet bathrooms for all cabins. She has had school, Uni and conservation groups stay over the years as part of 'getting back to nature' experience, as well as being close to the turtle conservation facilities.
I will be back to Ruby's again, bringing our dog back for a well earned break... and to enjoy the beach, the quiet and the relaxing time without ISP...

Room Tip: Rooms are all differing in size and facilities, pending your requirements or needs, all are clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ruby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruby's Resort

Address: Lot 350, Jalan Kemaman | Kg. Chendor, Cherating 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Cherating
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cherating
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Ruby`s Hotel Cherating

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.