We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for business and personal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maritina Hotel to your Saves list
Maritina Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   L Vironos Street 19, Kos Town 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Kos Town
Rhodes, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for business and personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I only got to stay for 1 night but I had a great stay. Everything you expect from a City Hotel. The room was very clean with comfortable bed. Everything I needed for a 1 night stay

The staff was very friendly. I would love to use this hotel for my next business trip again.

Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    17
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
23
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Everyone, who will visit this hotel, will do so for it's convenient proximity to the old town of Kos and the center of Kos town itself. Or because it is opened all year round.

We thought it was a cute little hotel, a perfect base for our 3rd holiday in Kos. Don't expect luxury, but you get what you paid for. And the staff is very nice.

The room was nice, with al the ammenities you would expect: double bed, TV, free wi-fi, shower, hairdryer, fridge and a closet to put your stuff in. And I always appreciate it, when a room has a lot of mirrors and a holder for my suitcase. And they change bath and hand towesl every day. I think there are no sea views from the hotel, but we had the honor to have a view of the new excavation of the Agora on Kos. We will certainly be back, to see the new site up close, because I love to learn about history and every time we go back to Greece, it feels like I am going back 2000 years in time to explore ancient cities.

The breakfast was fine, lots to choose from. And they had some traditional greek pastries and breads also, which were home made. So we didn't understand what the other reviewers are wining about. In addtion to traditional greek food there were also eggs, toast, jams, cheese and ham, even cereals and warm milk, which you do not get often in greek hotels (other hotels often only have cold milk, which makes my coffee too cold).

We had a bit of the sniffels from the weather back home in Slovenia, so we also appreciated hot water and cammomille tea. And we had great company of 3 parrots at breakfast :-).

But the weather in the middle of September in Kos is still hot, great for swimming on Bubble beach (or Paradise beach) The hotel is close to the bus station, which was great for daily excursions to other parts of the island. I must say that the bus transport runs smoothly on Kos, so be punctual, if you travel with them, or you will be late.

We liked this hotel. It is close to everything in Kos town (old town, town center, bus station, and our favourite sweets shop To special) and the location is very calm, there was no noise from the streets. Overall, a great place to stay.

P.S.: As a lot of hotels these days, they have key cards, and you can even get a 10 % discount with your key card in Avanti restaurant by the sea (at their sister hotel Triton), just remember to mention this to the waiters before you order.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at Maritina hotel for 5 nights. Great location, really central and close to all the amenities.
Very poor quality of breakfasts, food was cold and not good at all, we ended up eating out most of the time. The reception not very friendly or helpful either but at the end of the day, we still enjoyed our stay. The hotel had a free wifi and nice clear rooms, rather tiny so a long time stay not recommended, but for a short stay, especially if you're planning on spending most of the time out, that's not a problem at all. Would recomment

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We've stayed at Maritina for 2 weeks during August. This hotel deserves an "average" score by all means, except for the location. It is very close to the city center, and to our most favorite restaurant in Kos, which is Ali.

If you are in Kos for a sea-sand-sun type of holiday, and have kids, the best beach you will find around is Paradise (we've visited nearly all other beaches on the island, and I can guarantee that this is the best one), which is very close to Kefalos, but it takes a 40 min drive from Maritina Hotel to reach there. We didn't know that and we had to travel that road every single day, back and forth. Other than that, the location of the hotel is nearly perfect.

I can not easily say that the hotel is clean, and the services are perfect. We had to ask the reception several times to get our bed sheets to be changed, or the floor of the room to be wiped regularly. We even had to ask to get our shower jel to be re-filled. But the staff is helpful.

The breakfast is terrible. If you will stay at this hotel, just pay for the room, and have your breakfast wherever else you can.

The rooms are small, and the beds are not comfortable. But the utitlities are ok. The air-conditioning is perfect. The elevator is terrible.

After our unplanned and long lasting experience in Kos island, I can confidently say that it is a place that you must stay for only 1 or 2 days; even a daily visit will be enough.

The last point is, the restaurants in Kos are really expensive for such a service level and quality. The only restaurant that deserves a 5 star is Ali. You can have the best local food there, with reasonable prices; but don't forget to make a reservation before you go.

Room Tip: I never give staff names in my reviews, but Katerina deserves an exception, and she is the best pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed three nights in July 2013 in an emergency situation following my wife needing to be admitted to the main hospital in Kos Town whilst on vacation.
The hotel is the nearest to the hospital (80m) and the receptionists were very sympathetic as I did not know how long I would be staying, so they gave me an open-ended reservation at a reduced cost.
The hotel itself is a well maintained in a good position for the shops and harbour etc. It has a mix of clientele - at breakfast, there are business people dressed formally sat next to holiday makers in swimwear & arm-bands!
I would recommend especially if you had the misfortune to need to stay near the the medical centres in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

In a Very convenient distance to main bus terminal and old town, Maritina hotel is a good choice when visiting Kos. The breakfast buffet is good. The price level is right and the rooms are clean. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Greece
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

located in the center of the city of Kos, is a good option for a short trip. in close distance you may visit all the important monuments, argheological sites and the market of course. Clean and abient roomd (except the bathroom that was rather small, but well equipped). friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritina Hotel

Address: L Vironos Street 19, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maritina Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maritina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritina Hotel Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.