We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine hospitality thats second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Springs Hotel

Save Saved
You added Alice Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alice Springs Hotel
Lampi 100, Kos Town 85 300, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 49 hotels in Kos Town
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Genuine hospitality thats second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having never been before, I chose this Hotel based on good value and excellent TA reviews. I emailed the Hotel with a room request a week or so before we flew out, and received an unexpected, pleasant surprise phone call from the owner, George, a few days before our arrival!, I had read on TA that he has a healthy sense of humour, so we shared a joke or two about my room choice before he told me he was calling me from Brisbane in Australia!! At the time I did think he was pulling my leg but went along with it. George did assure me he would do all he could to accommodate my request. On arrival and checking in with, and being introduced to Barbara and Elias, we were indeed given what we asked for. And it also transpired that George was indeed in Brisbane, on business, yet he had taken the time and trouble to phone me in the UK. Now that is service!! I did get the chance to speak to him on Skype also one day when he was chatting to Barbara. This customer service approach and ethos is clearly the family and staff 'mantra', as it continued for us, and others throughout our two week stay. Being one man down as it were, you might think that the remaining 'team' might show a weakness. Not a bit of it. The family and staff from cleaners, cook, grounds man (watch out for their supermarket laundry sweep round the pool!) night watchman, to Elias, Maria and Barbara all work hard and well together as a team, clearly enjoy their work, give helpful advice on recommendations on tavernas, and ensure all guests are happy and accommodated. The atmosphere on complex, day and night, is wonderful, brilliant varied music selection played.(Many thanks Elias for your very kind and generous gift, by the way!...our secret!) As I don't eat meat but enjoy fish, I have a tendency to go 'off menu' and create my own adaptations of lunch menu, Barbara and Ellie were always more than happy to oblige and if no one has ever tried Aussie Omelette with Tuna instead of Ham , I can highly recommend it!! I can also recommend Elias's, and now my, favourite drink of Amaretto with fresh ice and diet lemon!! On the subject of Elias, watch out for his favourite funny party trick round the pool. Its amazing the hilarity that a simple leaf can create!. If you've been, you'll know! I'm convinced that young husband and father is really a cheeky 10 year old boy in disguise! We had such fun on our holiday, met some lovely people, some first timers, who would return, some who have been returning for years, decades even, and will come back again ourselves. George and Barbara work hard, are clearly a very devoted couple who have committed, strong family and business values, are dedicated to running a tight ship and are determined to succeed at all costs. They have the right formula and balance, should be very proud of themselves and each other and deserve every success they make.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    439
    59
    14
    10
    5
See reviews for
182
237
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday after asking Thomson for somewhere in Greece that's quiet, close to the beach and not too expensive.

Not knowing anything about the area we looked at the brilliant reviews of the hotel, but weren't expecting it to be so perfect for us. It was busy but quiet at the same time! Every room was occupied but you could go down to the pool or garden at any time of the day and no one had reserved a sun bed, and there was always plenty free. The bar area was also fairly busy but not rowdy, and the place seemed to attract nice guests looking for a nice peaceful holiday.

The location was great, a stones throw from a lovely beach, and we even had a sea view from our massive balcony. There's a nice taverna across the road called Efkalipty, a few more round the corner and some nice beach bars which served good and also reasonably priced food - we found the best restaurant in the area to be Filarakia, about a mile away on the beach. On an excursion to the beautiful mountain village of zia we passed through Tigaki, Marmari and a couple of other resorts, and the hotels looked okay but in the middle of nowhere and not really In walking or cycling distance to anything any good, so We found Lambi very good being far enough away from Kos town to be quiet, but close enough if you want more shops and nightlife at just a 15 min walk away. There was a good and cheap supermarket called Konstantinos at the end of the street.

There were two hard working cleaners that cleaned the rooms every day. We found all of the staff lovely and friendly, we didn't meet George but Barbara, Elias and Maria were great, and the cook Ella was particularly nice and attentive. Everything was clean, the pool was lovely and well kept, and the facilities were very good and food nice.

Kos was a fantastic holiday, something for everyone, and at Alice Springs it's peaceful but close to the beautiful Kos town and harbour. You can hire a bike for about 3€ a day or a car for 25, although the crazy Greek driving put us off, it's still very cheap!

Overall we had a brilliant time and will hopefully be going back to Alice Springs next year, maybe for an extra week because one wasn't enough!

Shaun and Natasha from Daventry

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the amazing Alice Springs. Had a majestic time food was brilliant especially the lamb and steak nights. Barbara and Elias and all staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. Would recommend the Alice Springs to everyone was such a relaxing holiday. Cant wait to return again next year to meet up once again with friends we made whilst there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at Alice springs the hotel was nicely situated 5 minutes walk to the beach, supermarkets and a nice stroll into Kos Town. The layout of the hotel was nice the apartment was very clean and a nice size. The food was good along with all other amenities. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Thank you Barbara, Elias, your family and staff for a brilliant stay. Would recommend this place to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed a week at the Alice Springs and it is a beautiful hotel - pool, gardens, rooms, all lovely and clean and well kept. It's only a short walk to the beach where we spent a lot of our days - the newest beach bars were just opening up while we were there and they were very good - twenty minutes walk will get you right into Kos Town which was also perfect. We had the platter for two people when we arrived on a late flight as the kitchen and bar were still open which was very handy - we hadn't expected that. The changing room for last day was more than adequate - it was very nice indeed. Would highly recommend both hotel and resort and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our 2nd time at the alice springs, we stayed for two weeks but wished we could stay for a month, we couldn't wish for a better place to have our holiday.
Credit to all the staff, Elley is a wonderful cook and the food was delicious thank you Elley.
the maintenance man (george) keeps the grounds looking wonderful.
the hotel is maintained to the highest standards and you can see this when you arrive.
nothing is too much trouble and any help you would need Barbara & Elias will always be there to help you. we didn't see George this time as he was away.
The Lamb night is superb and the lamb is so tender and delicious
The BBQ night i had the Ribs and there were delicious and by the end of it i had everything over my face where i had enjoyed it so much and ended up a full face wash, the meat on the ribs was so succulent and the sauce on the ribs was delicious.
the pool is lovely and always checked and maintained to the highest standard
i can't recommend this hotel enough for anyone wanting to have a relaxing holiday and to be looked after but by the hotel.

thank you so much to Barbara you are a credit to Alice Springs and will miss you very much and thank you for everything

Elias you are the "cheeky chap" as i call you, again thank you so much for making our holiday special i still like the colour blue!!!!!!

everybody who works at the alice springs the cleaners, the night porter, Elley, George, Elias, Barbara & George you are a credit to " Alice Springs" & Thank you for making our holiday so special

we can't wait to return next year, we have made friends for life.

with regards to the location you have a supermarket a stone throw away and a beach a stone throw away, you have everything you would need for a great holiday everything else is walking distance to the main town center about half hour walking.

thank you once again for making our holiday a fantastic time

Best wishes

Emma & Jacqui

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from 1 week stay at alice springs everything at the hotel was very good .very clean rooms,lovely gardens, and pool,all staff helpful and friendly .would recommend this place to anyone 2 minutes to beach restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Address: Lampi 100, Kos Town 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Alice Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.