We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday yet!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Springs Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alice Springs Hotel to your Saves list
Alice Springs Hotel
Lampi 100, Kos Town 85 300, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Kos Town
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best holiday yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked this holiday after asking Thomson for somewhere in Greece that's quiet, close to the beach and not too expensive.

Not knowing anything about the area we looked at the brilliant reviews of the hotel, but weren't expecting it to be so perfect for us. It was busy but quiet at the same time! Every room was occupied but you could go down to the pool or garden at any time of the day and no one had reserved a sun bed, and there was always plenty free. The bar area was also fairly busy but not rowdy, and the place seemed to attract nice guests looking for a nice peaceful holiday.

The location was great, a stones throw from a lovely beach, and we even had a sea view from our massive balcony. There's a nice taverna across the road called Efkalipty, a few more round the corner and some nice beach bars which served good and also reasonably priced food - we found the best restaurant in the area to be Filarakia, about a mile away on the beach. On an excursion to the beautiful mountain village of zia we passed through Tigaki, Marmari and a couple of other resorts, and the hotels looked okay but in the middle of nowhere and not really In walking or cycling distance to anything any good, so We found Lambi very good being far enough away from Kos town to be quiet, but close enough if you want more shops and nightlife at just a 15 min walk away. There was a good and cheap supermarket called Konstantinos at the end of the street.

There were two hard working cleaners that cleaned the rooms every day. We found all of the staff lovely and friendly, we didn't meet George but Barbara, Elias and Maria were great, and the cook Ella was particularly nice and attentive. Everything was clean, the pool was lovely and well kept, and the facilities were very good and food nice.

Kos was a fantastic holiday, something for everyone, and at Alice Springs it's peaceful but close to the beautiful Kos town and harbour. You can hire a bike for about 3€ a day or a car for 25, although the crazy Greek driving put us off, it's still very cheap!

Overall we had a brilliant time and will hopefully be going back to Alice Springs next year, maybe for an extra week because one wasn't enough!

Shaun and Natasha from Daventry

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    63
    14
    11
    5
See reviews for
200
254
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at the amazing Alice Springs. Had a majestic time food was brilliant especially the lamb and steak nights. Barbara and Elias and all staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. Would recommend the Alice Springs to everyone was such a relaxing holiday. Cant wait to return again next year to meet up once again with friends we made whilst there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at Alice springs the hotel was nicely situated 5 minutes walk to the beach, supermarkets and a nice stroll into Kos Town. The layout of the hotel was nice the apartment was very clean and a nice size. The food was good along with all other amenities. All the staff were helpful and friendly. Thank you Barbara, Elias, your family and staff for a brilliant stay. Would recommend this place to all my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed a week at the Alice Springs and it is a beautiful hotel - pool, gardens, rooms, all lovely and clean and well kept. It's only a short walk to the beach where we spent a lot of our days - the newest beach bars were just opening up while we were there and they were very good - twenty minutes walk will get you right into Kos Town which was also perfect. We had the platter for two people when we arrived on a late flight as the kitchen and bar were still open which was very handy - we hadn't expected that. The changing room for last day was more than adequate - it was very nice indeed. Would highly recommend both hotel and resort and would certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our 2nd time at the alice springs, we stayed for two weeks but wished we could stay for a month, we couldn't wish for a better place to have our holiday.
Credit to all the staff, Elley is a wonderful cook and the food was delicious thank you Elley.
the maintenance man (george) keeps the grounds looking wonderful.
the hotel is maintained to the highest standards and you can see this when you arrive.
nothing is too much trouble and any help you would need Barbara & Elias will always be there to help you. we didn't see George this time as he was away.
The Lamb night is superb and the lamb is so tender and delicious
The BBQ night i had the Ribs and there were delicious and by the end of it i had everything over my face where i had enjoyed it so much and ended up a full face wash, the meat on the ribs was so succulent and the sauce on the ribs was delicious.
the pool is lovely and always checked and maintained to the highest standard
i can't recommend this hotel enough for anyone wanting to have a relaxing holiday and to be looked after but by the hotel.

thank you so much to Barbara you are a credit to Alice Springs and will miss you very much and thank you for everything

Elias you are the "cheeky chap" as i call you, again thank you so much for making our holiday special i still like the colour blue!!!!!!

everybody who works at the alice springs the cleaners, the night porter, Elley, George, Elias, Barbara & George you are a credit to " Alice Springs" & Thank you for making our holiday so special

we can't wait to return next year, we have made friends for life.

with regards to the location you have a supermarket a stone throw away and a beach a stone throw away, you have everything you would need for a great holiday everything else is walking distance to the main town center about half hour walking.

thank you once again for making our holiday a fantastic time

Best wishes

Emma & Jacqui

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Just returned from 1 week stay at alice springs everything at the hotel was very good .very clean rooms,lovely gardens, and pool,all staff helpful and friendly .would recommend this place to anyone 2 minutes to beach restaurants and supermarkets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at Alice Springs. Had a fantastic time. Barbara, Elias and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Didn't meet George as he is in Australia at the moment. Lamb Night and BBQ Steak/Ribs night highly recommended. Food and drinks were reasonably priced and food also very good. Location from Kos about 10/15 minute walk, so good location. Accommodation was basic but very good and clean. Overall, excellent and can't wait to go back and have arranged to hopefully get together next year with some other guests at the Alice Springs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alice Springs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Springs Hotel

Address: Lampi 100, Kos Town 85 300, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family run hotel is located in Kos Island, a part of the picturesque Dodecanese Islands in the Greek Mediterranean.We offer spacious, air conditioned double rooms and apartments within 80m of beautiful Lambi beach. The centre of the city is a mere 1.5km walk away or alternatively there is a a bus stop only 50m away.Kos Town offers some great shops. In the centre of Kos town you will find an indoor market that sells local produce such as Ouzo, honey, pottery, seeds and soaps. Lambi also offers some fantastic ancient ruins for those who like to take in the local culture whilst enjoying their luxury holiday, or if you would prefer the atmosphere of the more lively resort of Kos Town.Psalidi which features a water park and is located in close proximity to Lambi and Kardamena which is the liveliest of the resorts of Kos and offers a fantastic selection of bars, nightclubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Alice Springs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alice Springs
Alice Springs kós
Alice Springs Hotel Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Springs Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.