We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let us go to Kos?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nicon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nicon
Save
You added Nicon to your Saves list
Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Let us go to Kos?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Nicon Studios are typical Greek accommodation in a pleasant spacious complex. There was always a strong breeze in the area so leaving the front door and the porch door open for 5 minutes meant there was no need for air conditioning. Kos town is quite a trek even if you try a short cut taking a left side road at the marina gates. This explains why most people spend the late evening at the Nicon Pool Bar, which has large screen tv inc premier football , music, bar meals, reasonable priced drinks and wi fi (which could be picked up in our room).
The much vaunted Greek Night was let down by the food. The fillet looked like chicken, had the texture of fish and was tasteless - reconstituted meat at its worst! At least it was cooked unlike the Souvlakia which was raw on the inside! The dance troupe consisted of a young man and woman in costume assisted by a young male member of the staff sporting a thin head band and a long stick, a cross between Rambo and Charlie Chaplin! The girl later changed into a sort of belly dancer outfit but her gyrations were more like a lap dancer! To be fair they had a fairly successful night using a high degree of audience participation. We would go back to the Nicon but give the Greek night a miss.

Room Tip: There was no problem with our room behind the pool bar and not near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    42
    10
    13
    2
See reviews for
49
71
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Good value, friendly service, great food and hospitality. Not many places we would return to as we like to visit different places but would consider returning here in the future. Nothing was too much trouble from arriving late at night the bar was still open and we were made to feel welcome to leaving with a guard if honour! Well done Nicon appartments.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Spent a week at Nicon with my friend in July, two 28 girls. Family friendly and a rang of people there. 15 minute walk to town, bus 1 euro each way. Wouldn't get it first thing in the morning as rammed but fine the rest of the time it's fine.Taxi is cheap 7 euro at any time of the day. Hotel v clean, lovely pool and good value meals. Karaoke and Greek night all Worth going to. Only criticism is that air con wasnt v good, could do with replacing. We paid 35 euro for this for the week. Rooms are basic but what we expected. Kos is beautiful and worth going on the beach trip the hotel offer, don't buy any other Thomas cook trips though as they're cheaper in kos town. We went to turkey for the day but pretty tacky and boiling so wouldn't recommend that. Lovely restaurants along the sea front, we didnt have a bad meal. Thanks for a great stay and to the friendly staff, always willing to help.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we stayed here for over a week beginning August, place is lovely,pool area great, other guests friendly,rooms clean, couldnt fault it for what it was, bar staff are friendly, certain one a bit too full on and touchy feely so if you have teenage daughters just keep your eye on the ball ! if you go you will know what I mean , harmless fun, we hope so.! but not everyone likes all that and if it happenend over here they would probably get the sack.
the walk to kos town was a mission in terms of cyclists everywhere, its like tour de france does kos, ! pushy waiters outside restaurants trying to drag you in, 3 island boat trip was lovely, the beach wasnt up to much bit mucky and man made, but the pool is the best place to be.
overall it was pleasent and nice to stay, probably wouldnt go back in high season as with most places it was heaving, would go back to apartments without kids though.

Room Tip: dont get a room overlooking the entrance the mopeds and cars are going all night long,if you do, get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the nicon last week in June first week in July checked out trip advisor like we always do wasn't disappointed it was a brilliant holiday staff were all helpful especially nick, kostas, Romeo, and not forgetting Artur who was great fun owners spiros & Tina were always around for a chat and if any small thing was wrong it was sorted without question food was good and reasonable rooms were basic but spotless good location plenty of tavernas within ten minute walk same to the small beach KOS town 25 minute walk buses and taxis available will be going back to the nicon no question

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall not bad, rooms are a little dated, kitchen is quite large but found them a little gloomy. The grounds around the appts are very well kept, and overall a nice feeling to the place. The bar area is ok, had some nice snacks, and the staff were always very pleasant. It's about a 30 mins walk to kos town, where there is an abundant array of tavernas and bars. The harbour is fab especially at night when all the boats are lit up, and you can book boat trips to turkey if you wish. Kos is a lovely little island and worth hiring a car and exploring, I will definitely be back but the nicon appts were not for us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I booked the Nicon Apartments for our honeymoon in July 2012 (I had to choose August from the drop down menu as it has taken me this long to write a review that I can't choose July anymore!) We were looking for a fairly inexpensive self catering deal and the Nicon apartments came out pretty much one of the cheapest. With a quick look at some reviews online (which were generally positive) we booked up.

Everything about Kos and the Nicon apartments was fantastic but the one thing that this place has above anywhere we have been before is the service and the friendliness of staff. It is a small family who own/run the place and they make you feel like part of their family from beginning to end.

The apartment complex was great. The rooms were basic but perfectly adequate and were cleaned thouroughly every day (except Sundays if I remember correctly). The pool/bar area had a good set up with a laid back atmosphere which seemed to cater equally well for families/couples of all ages. Being a fairly small complex, you see the same faces every day and everyone becomes friendly which adds to the great atmosphere of the place. The pool was a good size and well maintained as were the grounds which had some lovely trees and plants. We ate out and about most of the time but we did have the occasional bite to eat at the complex and the food was excellent. The menu had a good choice of snacks which were made by Phillis and Costas (who worked during the day). I had a lot of Greek salads from various places and the one I had at the Nicon was one of the best. They also make one of the best frappucinnos we have every tasted. There were plenty of sun loungers although you had to be up early to get one by the pool. This was no big deal as you could still get one on the grassy area beside the pool or some would usually free up later on in the day. This didn't really bother us as we went for a wander into town most days so didn't get to the pool until later in the day anyway.

Evening entertainment was great too. Once a week there was a Greek night which we would highly recommend. With a fantastic barbeque, drinks and traditional Greek dancers who got everyone up dancing it was well worth the money (I can't remember how much it cost but it wasn't much at all). There was also weekly karaoke (I'm not a big fan of karaoke but it was still okay - not too in your face) and a weekly quiz. The general vibe at night was great - relaxed, fun and friendly with Niko and Artur (who worked in the evenings) having a good laugh with everyone.

There is a small supermarket close to the apartments which we found handy for things like bottled water, snacks, etc.

The heart of the town is about 20 minutes walk from the apartment (I think there is also a bus service into the town but we enjoyed the walk) with plenty of restaurants to choose from along the way. The walk itself was nice and relaxing and everyone seemed to be going at the same chilled out pace. We ate at various places but ended up having favourites, one of which was the Blue Ocean Taverna (which is infact in the opposite direction from the main town but closer to Nicon) which served fantastic traditional food and you could sit and eat just feet from the water. The town itself was beautiful with many things to do - from old ruins to markets and small shops to wander around. We went on a boat trip to Turkey for the day which was a good day out (the Hamam was brilliant) but we prefered the vibe Greece had to offer.

On our last night, we went to the moonlit thermal springs with Niko. This was a fantastic experience. We went around midnight so it was pitch black on the way down so it wasn't until we got in the water that we realized that were dozens of other people in the water already. This was a fantastic end to a fantastic holiday.

When the coach arrived to take us to the airport the next day, Spiros was there to wave us all off which was another nice touch.

I've always said that its the service that makes a place what it is and the staff at the Nicon apartments have got a service that money can't buy. We will definately return to Kos at some point and the Nicon apartments will be our first port of call!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon

Address: Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#12 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 217
Also Known As:
Nicon Kos Town
Nicon Hotel Kos Town
Nicon Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.