We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday every time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nicon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nicon
Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Kos Town
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Myself and my husband have now stayed at The Nicon three times even returning with my parents the third time, and the welcome we recieve everytime is lovely - my parents have even booked to go back now! Do not hesitate to stay here, its a great base for a stay in Kos & if you get chatting to Niko behind the bar he'll be sure to point you in the right direction for all the best restaurants...thanks to him we found some real gems where you'd never think to look!
Spiros and Philis are such lovely owners and the attention they pay to the grounds and food is better than ive seen in many other places. One good thing here is that you really don't have to venture out some nights because the food served is always lovely & don't miss the greek nights here - yummy BBQ & traditional dancing!
over all if you're thinking of staying here i'd say go for it, we no doubt will be back again in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    33
    5
    10
    1
See reviews for
39
58
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

2013 will be our 9th time visiting the Nicon Apartments. I've been reading some of the reviews recently and cannot believe the pettiness of some people.

The apartments are absolutely spotless, towels and linen changed far more frequently than anywhere else I've stayed. Yes the studios are basic and fairly small but then again will you be in them the whole of your stay, I think not! They're ample for sleeping, having your breakfast and getting ready to go out.

If you want to cook a five course meal, then that's up to you but the write up does tell you about the cooking facilities prior to you booking!

Henry the rooster is not owned by the apartments and the bounty on his head has gone up from 20 euros when we were there to 100 euros. Believe me, everyone has tried to catch him but he's a shifty character.....it all added to the fun of the holiday......yes, he crows early but that's his job!

Spiros is a fantastic person and if you speak to him, he's a lovely guy. He's also looking brilliant even though he's had a heart attack and major heart surgery. He never stops working.

Katina his wife is 70 and always comes fully loaded with shopping - don't know how she does it!

Costas and Nicos are the sons and both of them are lovely lads - always willing to help you if they can. When it was our silver wedding, Nicos even took me to a shop to buy a bottle of Champagne and let us drink it on our Anniversary (we asked if they sold champagne but they didn't and instead of buying it and charging us they let us buy our own!!!!!!!)

Phyllis makes the best chicken salad you'll ever taste and the hot plate she and the boys cook on is absolutely spotless.

The pool is extremely clean and the area around it has been recently extended and is absolutely lovely. The sunbeds are very comfortable and there's always availability no matter what time you get to the pool

Town is around 20 - 30 mins walk but as I have a disability and so does my mum so we get taxis in and back...around 6 euros.

Anyway,all in all a great holiday every time!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If there's 2 of you, it's worth getting a studio for 3 people. You could even get an apartme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Well we got so much more than we expected! I have never experienced such welcoming friendly people, our holiday was August -September for 2 weeks the weather was beautiful the boys at the bar day and evening were fantastic and with 2 teenagers sharing a room Spiros had to make a couple of visits to correct the air con, he was pleasant, helpful, as with a minor issue with the cistern on their loo, in the whole 2 weeks we never experienced the so called "Grumpy old man" The island was lovely and we went on the 3 island cruise and what a day that was, watched dolphins in wild, we also visited Bodrum in Turkey for a day trip and that was also great, if your thinking of going take loads of cash the leather goods are excellent although would not want to holiday there. The apartments at Nicon were basic as you would expect for S/C holidays but exceptionally clean, and Nico, Romeo and Costa were the nicest people you could meet, and treated everyone the same, the Greek night was excellent value and a good laugh as was the quiz night that Nico does, the food there was really good, all in all we had 2 great weeks with some lovely people. When we left Spiros came over and gave us all a hug, not something you get from many places after they have had your money! Big thank you to everyone at the Nicon for an excellent stay and warm welcome hope to see you all soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at the Nicon at the end of Sept/beginning Oct. had a fantastic time lovely ground floor apartment which overlooked the lawn and gardens at the rear. Bit like Mcdonalds farmyard, everything from cats, kittens, hens, chicks and not forgetting Henry the Rooster, yes he was very annoying first thing in the morning and as had a price put on his head but we wouldn't have changed a thing (just like being in the middle of the country), bets the noise of traffic and rain clattering down everyday. All the staff are wonderful especially Nicos and Romeo, everyone does their best to make your holiday one to remember. Apartments are kept clean with clean linen provided, and the showers and hotwater is the best we have experienced. Met some lovely people especially Keith and Ann (Dirty Leeds), who we had a great laugh with. Must also mention Dave our rep who was the best rep that we have ever had and certainly does credit to his job. Will definately return to the Nikon if we ever go back to Kos. Great Job everyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

great holiday enjoyed staying here so much the wonderful bar staff made our holiday everything we hoped for, Weather couldnt of been better and the people who were also staying could of been hand picked for our choice of company, Beautiful views from the rooms to be enjoyed, and the children loved watching the chicken being followed by her chics also the family of cats. regarding the room i would say were very clean well kept but basic and the beds werent ideal also if you are hoping to save a little money on food by cooking yourself its a little difficult as there was no cooker just a two ring hob a small sauce pan and a frying pan did have a toaster and a kettle and few utensils and a fridge so we felt we had to stick to sandwiches or eat out but the barstaff were so lovely it made us want to eatt there. Cleaners came everyday and were very friendly but kept moving our stuff and throwing our magazines away lol As for the trips out they were amazing but a trip was spoillt when we went to the thermal springs as the we were left by the bus driver stranded even though my daughter and her family were on the bus and explained we were not yet on the bus and he was leaving 5 mins early he replied to her they get taxi which coast us an extra 20 Euros when we arrived back we explained to Nico and he bent over backwards to help us speak to the travel agent they said they would get back to us but didnt and then didnt answer phone so i highly suggest you dnt travel with TIGAKI EXPRESS. All n all we had a great time and would go back due to the lovely bar staff thank you all so much for coping so well with our lively family xxx Also a big thank you to the best rep ever Dave x

Room Tip: if you have little ones ask for a ground apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our 3rd consecutive stay in the Nicon. Rooms spotless, fresh linen and towels each day. We stayed in July/August 2010 & 2011 and September/October 2012. You could not get a warmer welcome from the top 5* Kos Hotels. Nothing is to much trouble for the family run complex. Star of the show has to be Nicos lively and entertaning, in 2010 and 2011 in the evenings he never rests, master of ceremoies for quiz nights. King of the Karaoke an all round entertainer. This year as the season nears an end he was constantly moving around the guests chatting with his new barman Romeo. Spiro and he wife constantly on thnje move to make sure every thing is up to the mark. Costa and the lovely lady who cooked wonderful breakfasts thank you very much. The two lady cleaners who always had a smile for you when you saw them.

Thank you Nicon not only for the great holiday but also for fixing the great weather 34° made a change from a wet and windy Fife.

Special thanks to Janet & Phil from the Rhonda Valley thank you for the company the last few nignhts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week at end of september. This was our 2nd visit to the Nicon and i was a bit worried that this time may not be as good as last time....I need not have worried at all.
The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean. Shower was powerful (maybe a bit too powerful as we did soak the bathroom a couple of times!! Ooops!!) and stayed same temperature and although the bathroom was a little small...we could not complain. Rooms have the standard self catering equipment but we didnt use it this time. TV remote, safe and aircon are available for a reasonable deposit.
There was always plenty of sunbeds and they are probably one of the comfiest sunbeds i haveever experienced!! Pool area is immaculately clean, the gardens extremely well kept. Playpark for little ones a bit tired but has good slide, swings and roundabout. Pool table was free....as was table football and darts.
Pool snacks & drinks served from 9am and my kids loved the bacon sarnies by the pool every morning. Milkshakes also divine. Food and drinks very well pricex & served by Costas by day and Nico and Romeo by night. All staff extremely friendly and really make everyone very welcome. Nico even serves food until silly o' clock on the days the new arrivals come.
We really enjoyed the quiz night but Greek night was cancelled due to bereavement.
There are a couple of cats who frequent the hotel but they are clean annd in no way a nuisance.
Locally there is a supermarket across the road aswell as restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Avoid the Mavromatis...poor food and service, Classic Cafe was ok but the Blue Ocean is a must. There are also many restaurants on the 20 minute walk into Kos Town. It is a pleasant walk but the constant 'ding ding' from bicycle bells annoyed us a tad. It did tend to be Europeans on holiday as opposed to the Greek and Brits who used the bells much more freely!!
I loved my time at the Nicon and will most defintely be back...already looking at times and prices for next year :-) :-)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nicon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicon

Address: Paradissi | Kos Town, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kos Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
Also Known As:
Nicon Kos Town
Nicon Hotel Kos Town
Nicon Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nicon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nicon to your Saves list