We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bahamas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kos Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bahamas
Save
You added Bahamas to your Saves list
Amerikis, Kos Town 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Kos Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“GREAT HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have just returned from the Hotel Bahamas and this is the first time we sent in a review of the hotel, we have stayed there for the last 4 years running and should of come onto trip advisor sooner. Having read a number of the reviews we come out in agreement with the majority of holidaymakers who have stayed there, its a great hotel with 30 bedrooms all of which are kept clean and tidy, just the right distance from Kos town its ideally located. The family who run the hotel George, Sula, Billy and Costas are lovely people who try their very best to make sure you get your money's worth from the holiday, their staff are just as attentive. The hotel has a 2 star rating but as far as we are concerned we would give it a 5 star, we have read the critcism's from the minority and think its nitpicking everyone is entitled to have their say.This is our honest opinion and think its a very friendly hotel whether you are there for the first time or like ourselves have gone back a few times, we would recommend the hotel to anyone.Thanks again Billy and Costas the cocktails were 5 star and we will return for more of the same.

Colin and Lynn
Stayed 18th Sept/Oct 4th

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    35
    13
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
250
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We've just returned from a great holiday at the Bahamas. We had the warmest greetings from all the family and having arrived quite late Costas made checking in quick and simple so that we could get into town for dinner as quickly as possible. We had a room above the bar which has been said to be noisy but we never had any problem with this - on the odd occasion when we went to bed early the only noise that could be heard was people chatting, laughing and generally enjoying themselves - no loud music, rowdiness, rugby songs, etc! - and we slept with the French doors open and still had no problem sleeping! The rooms are a good size and kept spotlessly clean with a fridge and hairdryer provided. The bathrooms are compact but the power showers make up for any lack of space making it easy to wash away the days sun cream and sand if you've been to the beach.
To the newcomer, the bar prices may seem a bit expensive - 5 Euro for spirits and cocktails ranging from 4.5 Euro to 6 Euro but believe me for this price you get at least 3 to 4 times British pub measures when ordering spirits and the cocktails are substantial and full strength and expertly mixed in front of you by either Billy or Costas. They are considerably better value than many of the town bars! Having tried - and loved - one of Billy's Mai Tais, I managed another 2 before having to retire to bed. Conversely, when out in town we ordered the same in 'XL' - one of the bars on Kanari Street - and received a glass half the size that tasted like pineapple juice with no discernible alcohol to be tasted! Contrary to what I've read on another review, you don't have to spend lots of money to be made welcome in the hotel bar, you just have to take the time to talk to Billy and Costas and you'll soon see why so many people keep returning to this hotel. However, if you decide to have a drink or two in the hotel bar you won't be disappointed! If you happen to be a football fan, the hotel has a fantastic array of boxes beside their large TV (one of 3 in the bar area) that can pick up any live football match being played - just ask one of the boys and they'll find it for you! Upon request, Billy found me West Ham v Everton that was being shown on one of 10 Al Jazeera Sport channels with English commentary!
Away from the bar, the pool is a good size for a 2-star hotel and gets the sun all day. There are enough sunbeds for all and mattresses are 1 Euro for the whole day. Mama Sula cooks great fresh food and prepares tasty salads at the poolside bar - if you happen to lay in and miss breakfast the full English is highly recommended!
We had the most enjoyable and relaxing fortnight here and can't wait to go back again! Many thanks to the family and their staff for all their hard work and to a great bunch of people we met at the hotel - Lin & John, Bev & Phil, Angie & Tony (Alright son?!) and not forgetting Pat "the ninja" & Dave - you all played your part in making our holiday unforgettable (except for a couple of nights that are a bit blurry!) but most of all Billy and Costas who are the most gracious of hosts - a credit to Thomson Holidays who deserve at least 3 stars for always going above and beyond the call of duty!

Room Tip: Rooms above the bar don't get the sun so don't get too hot. Rooms facing the town get early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Have just visited the hotel Bahamas for the 1st time with my boyfriend. I enjoyed every minute of my experience . From when I got here I could tell this what I was looking for a relaxing holiday nice and quiet. When we got here late on a Saturday we decided to go into the bar for a couple of drinks where one of the owners billy made us feel really welcome. The next morning we went by the pool where the is plenty of sun beds and George the dad nice man greeted us every morning . The snacks at the bar are nice with the mother doing most of the cooking . Rooms reasonable size and clean . There is plenty of places to eat within a 20min walk of the hotel . Having being out for a meal returned to the bar which is open late where billy and costa alternate shifts and where you can watch all the football as they have sky sports . I can tell why there are some people return year on year as we had a fantastic time .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

On reading the reviews for this hotel my husband and I decided to book this hotel . Upon arrival at this hotel was greeted by one of the brothers Costas who was very friendly and made us feel welcome.we booked this hotel as it was small and friendly and that's what we got. The family run business is run by George mamma billy and Costas.this hotel is a 2 star hotel and with the service you get should be more. The pool area is a good size with plenty of sun beds for everyone and for 1 euro all day can puchase a mattress . Food at the pool bar is also nice and a reasonable price with mama very nice . The rooms are very clean and cleaned every day bar Sunday . The entertainment is also good with a quiz and a Greek night 14euros for a good feed. Billy and Costas work behind the bar and make you feel welcome and always remember your name . The drinks are reasonably priced and a good selection of cocktails and other drinks . We stayed in 1 of the rooms above the bar which we heard were a little noisy but never heard a thing . The bar is a great place to meet people after a meal in 1 of the taverners which are only a 10 min walk away the sunset was my favourite. On the whole what a great time we had and will return thank you to the family for making our holiday special.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have read a lot about this hotel from other reviewers ,now here is an honest appraisal.This is a no frills hotel very basic but clean ,improvements could be made around the pool where there are broken sunbeds and umbrellas, People do return year after year and that is apparent when you arrive as they form clicks or groups and tend to try and take over the pool area .The bar prices are very expensive for a 2 star hotel ,prices are cheaper in the more upmarket bars overlooking the Harbour in Kos town. Breakfast is very basic and a bit more effort is needed here to improve ,there are certain things that only appear later in the period because there is only a certain amount made available ( ie yogurt/honey )
and when it is gone its not replenished. The staff work hard and are very pleasant the owner and his wife can be quite abrupt but the rest of the staff make up for it. Costas and Billy are the sons and work hard and are also friendly and helpful . We made some nice friends while we where there and had a few laughs about if we would be allocated a toilet roll that day or not , yes believe it or not it was rationed as you only got one and didn't get another or spare one until it had run out . Overall the 14 days we spent there where quite pleasant but it was the people we met that made it ,not the Bahamas Hotel. Would I go back .? Yes the hotel makes an ideal base because its location makes it easy to walk into Kos town to try the many tavernas and bars,

Room Tip: Request a room not over the bar as these tend to be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks at Bahamas from 4th to 18th September. This was our 2nd time to Bahamas and this time had "4 hangers on" Claire and Alan and Janet and Alan. Weather was spot on averaging 85f each day never seen a mozzie all 14 days. At the Bahamas you always get value for money, clean and spacious rooms, very good cleaning ladies, excellent pool area and pool with good choice of meals for lunch. Probaly best bar in town with Billy and Costas in attendance.The hotel is in a really good position for Kos town which is one of the prettiest and interesting towns in Greek Islands. We all think that Thomsons should look after The Bahamas and ensure that they are available to us in the UK for years to come.
Would go back tomorrow.
Best wishes to all the family. Steve,Fay,Claire,Alan Janet & Alan.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews about this hotel we decided to book into the Bahamas for this years visit to Kos.After a long flight we arrived late met one of the owners, had a drink and went to our room which was clean and tidy. Next morning we over slept by a few minutes and missed breakfast, we asked for a cup of coffee and we where charged 5 Euros, a small thing like a complementary coffee on our first morning would have been very much appreciated.
A very poor thing we thought was the breakfast, it never changed
from the day we got there to our leaving, VERY watered down fruit juice, ham, cheese, bread
toast, and the same two cereals every day was a bit too much, a small change like boiled or scrambled eggs would have made a pleasant change,a lot of people started going into town for a cooked breakfast and we joined them a couple of times.
We spent a couple of days around the pool, and I must say that the snacks were very good, we had a couple of bottles of the local beer which was very tasty, but when we came inside to the bar we where refused bottled beer Costas saying they only serve draught beer, what a load of rubbish, after some debate Costas gave in reluctantly and brought us two bottles from the pool side bar this was a minor but unpleasant experience.
We never say anyone cleaning the pool and there was a lot of dead fly's floating about on the surface of the water, on the last few day's I noticed a lot of debris was lying on the pool floor this was still there when we left.
A couple of days before our holiday ended, as we had an evening flight, we asked if we could have a shower as we where going out for the day to see friends.This didn't seem to go down to well as we didn't wish to pay 25Euros just for a shower Costas said he would sort it out and come back at 17-15.When the time for our shower we asked for the shower room keys(every hotel has a shower room for departing guests), they claimed to know nothing about our request. They gave us a key for an upstairs room 216 and said use that.Well what a shambles, it was obviously a room some guests had just left and it was in a right mess dirty towels on the floor,dirty bedding lying around, empty bottles and used fruit juce cartons littering the place, we deceided not to have a shower got changed and left.
Our honest opinion of this hotel was poor, as we have visited Kos since 1989, I think if you where prepared to spend lots of money at the bar you where made most welcome but if like us and use the hotel as a base and only spend a limited amount of time and money in the hotel your welcome is rather luke warm.
We shall be going back to Kos again next year, but I'm afraid that the Bahamas Hotel will not be on our list of places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahamas

Address: Amerikis, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#7 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Bahamas Hotel Kos Town
Bahamas Kos Town
Bahamas Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.