We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Greece!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Alexandros

Taverna Alexandros
Irakleoys | Old Town, Kos Town, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 172 Restaurants in Kos Town
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Greece!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

What a fab little restaurant tucked away behind the church near the main square. You know a place is happening when people are waiting to be sitted. From starters, such as grilled prawns, beautifully grilled fish then gooey baklava to finish, you can't go wrong and all fairly priced.We went 3 times during our stay. The owners and waiters are really sweet and according to them I had hair like Mick Jagger. Try the place, you will get some "Satisfaction" I'll get my coat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    21
    8
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place Alexandros - when it is open!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It looked promising to try and lunch there - so we did and din't regret it. What else does anyone need on a blistering hot day at 1400 than a shady spot for a cool beer, Greek salad and cooked prawns with fresh bread. Yes, that could have been the start of a long affair. Its patrons are mainly German speakers due to a recommendation in travel book. No complaints about the service or bill. However we made the error of trying to repeat the experience after walking from the catamaran terminal with a suitcase only to be met with a deserted terrace and to be coldly told "We are not open for lunch today (despite it being only 1300 and the opening hours declaring its serving 100-1500), you can come back at 6". Well no thanks, if you cannot be bothered, neither can I. To make a bad day worse, w ate at the place around the corner which had the worst Greek salad I've eaten accompanied by stale bread - in Greece! So be warned: when open & in a good mood - fine. But be warned: we are not always interested in our customers, loyal or passing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Restaurant with Greek soul and kindness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Amazing. Its a must when you are in Kos town. The food is very good, and they all love their job.
They all smile when they are on job. Be early, the restaurant get soon fild up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stumbled across this taverna on a trip to Kos town three years ago, now whenever holidaying in Kos we always return. It is quite simply the best authentic taverna in Kos town and is increasing popularity. Make a point of eating there at least once, you won't regret it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Cheap and cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very delicious meal, friendly stuff! Calm atmosphere, but very close to downtown.
We try lamb acient, seafood pasta and house rose vine

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Alexandros also viewed

 
 

Been to Taverna Alexandros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Alexandros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.