We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to be seen there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kos Town Castle

Kos Town Castle
Harbor Front, Kos Town, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 9 attractions in Kos Town
Type: Castles
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This was built by knights Templar and is Kos' main tourist attraction.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not much to be seen there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you're staying in Kos Town and since there's not much to visit the Castle automatically finds itself on the list. Nothing but stones, many brought from other places and placed all over, no explanations written on a board, nice view over the harbour though and that's about it

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    196
    82
    16
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seaton Sluice, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice, but needs more.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

All good, but limited descriptions and history. Would like to see more made of this. Also, facilities were limited, so had to cut our trip short when daughter needed a pee.
Great bar across the square from hippocrates tree though!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We visited Kos town and castle on a day trip from Bodrum. We found the castle very interesting and the views were amazing. I would definately recomend a visit here if u like ruins! Just make sure you take plenty of water with you, we had to cut our visit short as we were so thirsty. Never mind it's a good excuse to go again next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijdrecht
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“wonderfull castle with view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

beatifull to walk arround and a super view over the ocean.
Nice to go with children at the harbour and citytown easy to find

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalina, NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Castle on the waterfront is really interesting to walk about. You get a good feel for the layout of the fortifications. Information is lacking as you walk about, but views over Kos Harbour are lovely. Not many safety measures in place, do need to watch your step. Would worry with small children.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kos Town Castle also viewed

 
Kos, Dodecanese
Kos, Dodecanese
 

Been to Kos Town Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kos Town Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kos Town Castle to your Saves list