We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Company” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Sonia to your Saves list
Hotel Sonia
9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Kos Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Family Company”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We're very happy to stay at Hotel Sonia during our holiday. Hotel is very clean and especially we stayed room 5 so it was very good. If you are looking small hotel or pension in the center of Kos you should prefer this city hotel and we recommend Hotel Sonia. Madam Sonia Argyriou and her sons was very friendly...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    54
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
39
104
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We're very happy to stay at Hotel Sonia during our holiday. All family is very friendly and helper.
Hotel is very clean and new. I recommend to stay at Hotel Sonia to any one who will travel to Kos island, Greece. Location is perfect. There is no need to look for an other hotel. Mrs. Sonia is great, her husband is very kind and, I want to say.. Thank you.. one more time to her sons Yiannis and Afedoulis for their kind attention and friendly approaching us during our staying at the hotel. I absolutely will stay there
next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Helpful not once, not twice but three times!

I arrived very early morning on the boat from Syros and the owner's son very kindly picked me up at the port. I suppose I could have queued for a taxi but it was a very appreciated gesture. When at the hotel I expected that I would have to wait for a number of hours before a room was ready for me but before long one was ready for me and it was an upgrade too! So very kind of them.

However, what showed that they were really prepared to go the extra mile and more was the following day after I had left for the island of Nisyros. I discovered that I had left my identity card at the hotel. MAJOR PANIC! Yet again Hotel Sonia showed great service. Not to worry they said - they would send it to me on the next ferry from Kos to Nisyros. Sure enough I got it as promised. This indeed is great service.

What else do I need to say? My room was clean, comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel Sonia

We read the reviews and in some parts agree, though in summary I think the best phase to describe Hotel Sonia is 'you get what you pay for'!

Room.....we moved original allocated room (room 10) because it was too noisy, we could hear other guests having their breakfast early morning. We asked to be moved and was given a bigger room (room 5) which was much nice and quieter. We did have to pay a little extra for the bigger room though. All rooms are quite basic but very clean. The showers are fine and the air-con is good and they did provide a fan when asked which was nice.

Beds.....I've never experienced back ache like it. I aged 50 years 'sleeping' on hard slabs of bedding. Whilst some might like this, it was truly awful leading to sleeping on a lilo! I dreaded bed-time!

Breakfast.....Was ok but not great. You had a choice of toast and 1 egg should you choose it, coffee and orange. The bowl of jam and marmalade with the toast was always served in the same 2 tub everyday which i didnt like, couldnt help but think how many germs were on the bowls. Other breakfast options were available such as an omelette or toastie which you had to pay extra for but these were nice.

Location......as they say location, location, location. This is the prominent attribute of the hotel located nicely behind the harbour but within 2mins walking. It is quiet enough on the street with windows closed. We did have a room with a balcony though in the shade after 10am.

Staff.....Were friendly and helpful. Cleaner was very good!

Facilities.....The rooms do lack a kettle for making your own drinks although all extra drinks and food is available on site but at a cost. Bit inconvenient if you wanted a coffee first thing.

Checking out..... Was good. We had a late night flight and had to check out of our room at 12pm. Sonia and her sons kindly let us leave our bags in their secure office and then let us use a room for a couple of hours to shower and get ready for our flight home. Although we did have to pay extra for this we did appricate it.

All in I'd go back knowing what i know now but only for a couple of days. Kos Town is a lovely place. We stayed for 1 week in August and feel we would have been better staying somewhere with a pool that we could relax by a little as it was very hot, however if you are only there for a few days to explore the area then this is a great hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: Room 10 or a balcony room floor 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

It was the second time we went to Kos, and the second time we stayed at Hotel Sonia. No reason to think of going anywhere else, because we loved it there the first time, and we loved it the second time just as much! Sonia, Yiannis and Afedoulis, you are the most hospitable and friendly people, and this review comes with a warm recommendation for everyone to stay at your hotel, to eat your yummy feta omelette, to smell the jasmine in your lovely garden and to have a great time in Kos. Thanks for everything! Give Liza a hug.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy: ask for room number 14, 15 or 16. They're down at the garden, and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

rooms very very clean, positions: central of the city and the most important thing : Sonia's family very very nice and helpful :) breakfast: jam homemade excellent :D a lot of possibilities (greek yoghurth with honey, omelette with feta, bacon or fried eggs with bacon) breakfast on the terrace very very nice :) very good for families and couples and holiday with friends too :D
very very good quality in terms of value for money. The hotel is perfectly in the city center and near there are a lot of bars and restaurants. Parking on the street in front of the hotel :)
I recommed this hotel absolutely :D for us was wonderful :D

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

You can find a very friendly environment, thanks to the owners of the hotel who are really kind and helpful. Even better, prices are fitting the whole service...that means: clean rooms with all comforts at 5 min walk from the city center. You'll like it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Address: 9 Irodotou Str., Kos Town, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#7 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated in 2011 and again 2012 Hotel Sonia is centrally located in the center of Kos Town with a beautiful view of the ancient Roman ruins parallel to the harbor. Shops, buses, taxis, restaurants and clubs are all within a 50 meter walk in addition to the spectacular Kos beaches only 100 meters away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.