We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good the bad and the ugly:” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Deluxe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Deluxe Hotel to your Saves list
Diamond Deluxe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nea Alikarnassos Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Kos Town
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The good the bad and the ugly:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Well, where do I start? A hotel of contrasting good and bads…Read on to find the REAL deal...
(We visited mid September 2013)

So, lets start with the good bits:
Location – Good, 5 mins from Kos town, opposite the beach, quiet
Pool – Fantastic pool, and if you have a junior suite you get your own loungers and direct access to the pool from your double doors. VERY cold pool though (mid September). Whether you had your own loungers or not, no problem to get a bed. Very comfy too – we visited a few other hotels and their rickety loungers were a nightmare.
Breakfast and half board buffet – generally very good. A great selection, everything was fresh and nothing too much trouble for the manager and staff
Concierge – Fantastic. So helpful and friendly- offered us loads of help and advice including a fantastic sunset dinner in Zia.
Rooms – Very good, we had a round bed (which was odd!) but the bed was SO comfy. Varied pillows to suit your taste also, nice touch. Air con works – almost too well! Nice empty fridge allowing you to use it for what ever you want…
Barman – Lovely bloke. Really friendly and said hello to me by name every day and a remembered what drink I have…
Shop – you don’t normally get shops in hotels like these, allowing you to buy water / beers / snacks etc. outside the hotel bar, so this was a nice touch.

And now onto the bad bids
Wifi – forget it. Its rubbish!
A la carte restaurant – when we arrived we were offered a “free” night at the Italian a la carte restaurant instead of the buffet. Don’t bother! They offer you a set menu of ONE choice per course, none of which looked appetizing –so you end up paying for the a la carte meal anyway. Not impressed.
Spa – Overall, the service was good – but some of the facilities look like they have seen better days, such as the steam room or the wet room shower.
PC in room – again nice touch, but if you want to get on line – good luck!
Jacuzzi was freezing- can understand the pool heaters (f they even have any) being switched off in Sep, and as the hotel wasn’t full, but not the Jacuzzi!
Towels – you have to pay 10 euro per towel deposit which is a bit frustrating, I guess because people nick them – but no deposit for the robes and towels in the room they replace every day…
No currency exchange at reception –but no real biggy
Noise – generally extremely peaceful until the guy gets his lawn mower out mid morning. Understand it has to be done, but maybe do it early evening when no one is using the pool?

So there you have it – definitely worth 4/5, but a few small points to fix and I would be tempted to score higher…For the money you can’t argue. We visited a few other 5* places and to be honest did feel too let down… If you get a deal on this place, go for it. If not, keep looking...

Room Tip: Go for the Junior suite. You get your own loungers, ground level and direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
lIt is always important for us to receive our guests’ feedback and we are pleased to hear that overall, you enjoyed your latest experience with us in Diamond Deluxe Hotel. It is always important for us to hear what our guests think of our services since we value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. This brings us even closer to our target, which is to achieve service excellence.

I appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention, therefore I assure you they will be forwarded for further discussion to the appropriate personnel.
We will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience. Your suggestions are extremely helpful and will definitely taken them into consideration as well.
Feel free to contact me directly in order to further discuss the details of your feedback.


To conclude, we deeply wish to have the chance to welcome and accommodate you back in Diamond soon.

Looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Always at your disposal for any further information.
Do not hesitate to directly contact me for any future queries.
Sotiria Ediaroglou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    154
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
125
434
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heysham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I booked a junior deluxe suite pool front room ! we booked 9 months prior to our arrival. We got a room overlooking the road with a brick wall between the joining room with no sunshine. We asked to be moved but owing to us arriving late evening was told to return in the morning. Still no room was available and after returning 4 times over 2 days we had enough and decided to unpack and try and enjoy our holiday. The bed was very comfortable and the shower great. A big negative is there are no drawers or hooks to hang anything just a wardrobe also the flooring near the bathroom could definitely do with a re vamp. The hotel is very clean and staff friendly and hard working. We had a nice bowl of fruit and bottle of wine left in our room for our anniversary which was a nice touch. The food was very nice especially the starters and sweets, the mains were good but not always hot enough. The swimming pools are beautiful to look at but freezing cold so not many in swimming only the very brave. The bar prices are high and the wine not very nice. We found a taverna the 3 stars and maria's supermarket about a mile down the road, the taverna made a nice change for a snack and a beer, and we bought wine and beer at the supermarket at reasonable prices. The beach was OK with decent sunbeds but the sea difficult to get into very rocky and a lot of seaweed it could do with a jetty, I just had a paddle. Bodrum is worth a trip nice place but don't bother with the market, prices are as good in the shops, and beware you are only allowed to bring back 40 cigs (2 packs) not 200 like we thought and they will take them of you. Overall we enjoyed Kos especially the town. The hotel is not in the town but you can catch a bus outside the hotel or hire bikes. The hotel is very nice to look at but lacking in atmosphere the only Greek thing about it is the food. I would return to Kos but not this hotel it is a little remote.

Room Tip: Pool front but you are unlikely to get what you ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for your review, we always want to have some feedback in order to get improved day by day and provide you with the most nice memories during your stay.
Since your review about the hotel and its facilities is really nice and you didn't had any problem with the room and the services provided the only thing i have to mention is your reservation "missunderstanding". Upon arrival we received your accommodation voucher in which was written that you had booked for a Junior Suite Deluxe and not for a Junior Suite Front Pool. There is usually a bit confusion in those 2 categories. The Junior Suite indicates a room the front pool indicates the position of the room around the hotel. Unfortunately we didn't have any front pool rooms available at the moment and we couldn't arrange any during your stay because there were always other guests arriving with already reserved a front pool accommodation.
If you decide to come back to our hotel please make sure that you will book for a front pool room or a junior suite front pool.
Thank you again
Kind Regards
Sotiria Ediaroglou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our second stay at Diamond Deluxe. This time we had a suite, the rooms are spacious, very clean and well furnished. Your own private terrace and pool overlooking the sea. Only down side is there is a road between the hotel and the beach and the sea a little uninviting otherwise would be perfect. I enjoyed sunbathing on the beach and you were brought watermelon which I thought was a nice touch. Hotel is situated outside the hustle and bustle of Kos town so is nice and quiet, but only a short taxi ride if you want some night life. Well worth hiring a car and exploring the Island and eating out at some of the great tavernas and Kos restaurants. Hotel food of a very good standard with plenty of choice but better Greek food to be found in Kos. The biggest plus this hotel has to offer is all the staff. Too many to name but from your first impression with reception, being shown to your room by the grooms to using the bar or restaurant the staff here are exceptional, so friendly and make your stay very special. The cleanliness too throughout was first class. The sunsets here are something that mustn't be missed.

Room Tip: Suites excellent, Maisonettes or pool rooms very good. Second floor rooms have amazing sea views. ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for another great stay with us! We are very pleased that you enjoyed again your time here. Your very nive review gives us all great motivation in order to keep up the good work and continue providing you with the most memorable vacations.
Hope to accommodate you to Diamond Deluxe Hotel again soon!
Sotiria Ediaroglou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I went to this hotel after hearing it was amazing! We booked the diamond suite which has a private pool. I was not impressed by the room. After the amount we spent we thought wed get more! The pool was freezing! as with all the other pools in the hotel. The room over looked apparently an ocean view... the room has the main road between the room and the ocean. You can be laying there in your private space and a bus will stop there!!! not private at all!

The beach was terrible. Cobbles and dirty. The sand is like ash and no bar staff at all.

The pool bar was not very good. Dimitri was terrible. He is the manager of the bar and should be open until 2 am but closes it at his own convenience!! When we complained about this, the management had no idea he was doing this.

The manager Hercules was very good. we had a late flight on departure, so he arranged for us to stay in another room after we checked out. Very nice of him.

Very clean hotel. Quiet!! No one in the pools due to the temperature of it being freezing!!

Food was average, different buffet every night. Only has two places to eat.

There are loads of sunloungers, nice weather and met some amazing people who made our holiday!

The airport in Kos is terrible!! on departure there were 5 flights going out at same time! The airport was not organised!

Room Tip: go for pool side. do not pay extra for private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

It is always important for us to receive our guests’ feedback and we are pleased to hear that overall, you enjoyed your latest experience with us in Diamond Deluxe Hotel. It is always important for us to hear what our guests think of our services since we value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. This brings us even closer to our target, which is to achieve service excellence.

I appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention, therefore I assure you they will be forwarded for further discussion to the appropriate personnel.
We will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience. Your suggestions are extremely helpful and will definitely taken them into consideration as well.
Feel free to contact me directly in order to further discuss the details of your feedback.


To conclude, we deeply wish to have the chance to welcome and accommodate you back in Diamond soon.

Looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Always at your disposal for any further information.
Do not hesitate to directly contact me for any future queries.
Sotiria Ediaroglou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having travelled to various countries and stayed at various hotels on this trip it was by far my family's favourite hotel. We were blown away with the service we received from all the wonderful staff at the hotel. Special mention needs to go to Niko who always had the best smile and couldn't do enough to accommodate your every need. The management of Diamond Deluxe was first class and are a wealth of information about the wonderful beaches that Kos has to offer. Irakis, Ireni and Sortiria were very knowledgeable about all the places one should visit when in Kos. Our package included half-board and everyone of our meals was delicious. There was always a variety to choose from. Our rooms were large and had views of the beach and of the pool. They were cleaned daily and there are facilities to make a tea or coffee during the afternoon or late at night. The pool is a highlight of the hotel because it is so big. However, the beach across the road from the hotel was not very inviting because it was full of seaweed or was too rough. You will also need water shoes as it has rocks. Overall, a great hotel with exceptional customer service.
If you are looking for some entertainment of a evening at Niko and Dimitri the bartender to perform their magic show. This is usually reserved for special guests. A very big thankyou to all the wonderful staff at the hotel for making our stay an unforgettable experience. Can't wait for our next stay from your new friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for you wonderful comments on our hotel and our services.
Your review gives us a great motivation to continue the hard work in order to satisfy all your special needs and give you the wonderful vacations you deserve!
We will be more than happy to accomodate you again in our hotel!
Thank you again.
Sotiria Ediaroglou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Arrived to nothing but quality Place and staff look the part and to a person are ! from bar to restaurant , room cleaning to ground and garden staff, impecciible.Food to a good though not exceptional standard, would recommend trips to Kos town, Petrinos to a very high standard, as are many others.Some staff stand out,to Asta Demitrius Nikos a big thank you,you all added life to a place that sadly though theme nights were held,was we are sad to say Souless..If you love wine as we do you will struggle to find something to justify the 18 to 20 plus euro price tag on bottles for say an evening dinner.Stayed 14 days, to long, seven we think is good for a touch of class but as. our title suggests, it is not greek .Beach a nice place,change from pool. Three island dolphin tours a must from kos harbour.Overall fine stay, your quality of service is high, turn your product to that level and you are indeed de-lux. ps between yourselves and the agents that sell your hotel .descriptions of rooms seem to vary greatly, ours was not as requested , We were assured when we rang the agent that we had a superior double with pool view , We ended up with what dissatisfied customers have now named a dungeon room with no view and half an hours sun in the late afternoon.Not all complain,they just don't come again ! how sad for your staff who strive to make us so welcome. Rita & Sam England.

Room Tip: check you get what you request !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,


It is always important for us to receive our guests’ feedback and we are pleased to hear that overall, you enjoyed your latest experience with us in Diamond Deluxe Hotel. It is always important for us to hear what our guests think of our services since we value your feedback as it helps us in enhancing and developing the service we provide to our guests. This brings us even closer to our target, which is to achieve service excellence.

I appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention, therefore I assure you they will be forwarded for further discussion to the appropriate personnel.
We will certainly take note of the points that you have mentioned as we constantly strive to improve our guests’ experience. Your suggestions are extremely helpful and will definitely taken them into consideration as well.
Feel free to contact me directly in order to further discuss the details of your feedback.


To conclude, we deeply wish to have the chance to welcome and accommodate you back in Diamond soon.

Looking forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Always at your disposal for any further information.
Do not hesitate to directly contact me for any future queries.

Sotiria Ediaroglou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel facilities and rooms appear slightly in need of a facelift if they were to live up to the "de luxe" description! The staff are very friendly and helpful but the same can't be said of the management. Although we reserved and paid in advance for a "superior de luxe" room and although we emailed them to tell them that my wife is disabled and we would need to be close to the main hotel/restaurants etc, we were put in a small, inferior room as far from the hotel as they could put us. When I complained we were promised a better room 3 days later but the room they then offered us had a shower over the bath which my wife would never be able to get into or out of. So disappointed that we stayed for 4 days in stead of 10. I wouldn't recommend this to anybody. "De luxe" it ain't!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katerina K, Guest Relations Manager at Diamond Deluxe Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for your feedback. It is always important for us to hear what our guests think about the hotel, I can assure you that your comments will be dealt with accordingly and will be passed on for further discussion.
Regarding your reservation I would like to enlighten you about some small details. Before your arrival you send us an e-mail informing us that your wife has walking problems and that you prefer a room in ground floor, upon arrival you received a room in ground floor (which was in the same distance as all the rooms from the main building since all the rooms are allocated around the pool and the main facilities). Upon arrival you informed us that you weren’t satisfied from the room since you found it too small and even though fully booked we arranged for you to get another room as soon as possible permitted. The new room that we allocated you was more spacious and had a shower in order to be more easy for your wife to get in since she had walking problems you still didn’t like the new room and you decided to leave earlier. From the part of the management and the team we made anything possible to accommodate you in the best way. We are really disappointed that you didn’t enjoyed your overall stay but we really believe that we made anything possible to handle the situation smoothly.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me for any further inquiries.
Always at your disposal,
Sotiria Ediaroglou
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Deluxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Deluxe Hotel

Address: Nea Alikarnassos Lambi, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kos Town
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kos Town
#11 Family Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamond Deluxe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a beachfront location in Lambi, Diamond Deluxe is a 5-star hotel offering rooms with PC and free wired Internet. It includes a spa centre and a 2,000-m² pool complex.Diamond Deluxe Hotel rooms are luxuriously decorated in shades of white with golden details and hardwood floors. They are equipped with air conditioning, LCD satellite TV and DVD player, and feature hydromassage facilities. Their balconies or verandas boast spectacular views of the sea or the pools.The Mazarin Spa includes 5 state-of-the-art treatment rooms and an indoor heated pool with water jets. Natural ingredients are used in all therapies following the holistic philosophy of the spa.Emerald Restaurant serves a rich breakfast buffet overlooking the pools and the gardens, while the Peruzzi Italian Restaurant offers local seafood with a modern twist. Hotel Diamond Deluxe also has three bars, at the lobby, the pool and the beach, serving drinks and exotic cocktails in elegant settings.Diamond Deluxe Hotel is within 3 km from the town of Kos. The airport is 24 km away. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Diamond Deluxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Deluxe Resort
Diamond Deluxe Hotel Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Deluxe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.