We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Philippion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Philippion Hotel to your Saves list
Philippion Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Vas. Georgiou 14, Kos Town 85300, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Kos Town
3.5 of 5 stars 114 Reviews
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed at the Philippion from 21-28oct 2009 in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment is basic but was cleaned/towels changed daily and beds were comfy, so was great for a weeks hol! We were right by the upstairs pool so had lovely views towards Turkey. (The plane trees which previous posters had complained about had been cut before we arrived in preparation for the 28th Oct parade, and the 'Four Roses' bar was closed for season so not so noisy at night).

The Hotel itself is located on the main seafront road between the Castle and Marina, about 5-10 min walk into Kos Town. The time will depend on your willpower as you have to go past 'To Special' bakery which is next door to Kos Aktis Hotel. This shop is open all day upto about midnight and does a mouthwatering range of pastries, breads and icecreams.

We found that a lot of tavernas had already closed for winter, but still managed to try a different one every night! Of special mention is Mummys Cooking and Elia for Greek dishes, and also 'Jumbo-style' behind the indoor market where we had a lovely evening chatting to the owner who was australian but had come to kos on hols some 20+ years before and not gone home. Did want to try some other places mentioned on TA, but Caravan and Agora were closed and couldn't find Never on a Sunday - it was raining and getting dark so gave up looking!

Weather was not so good this year - first three days were great (including my sons birthday on friday), as we went into the weekend it got cloudier, then massive thunderstorm on sunday night/monday with rain for several hours. We then had cloud and rain for rest of hol, but still warm enough to be out in t-shirt!

Used local buses to get around island as cheap and reasonable timetable. the only problem we had was after catching bus to Zia and getting caught in another storm, we did not know that they had changed to winter timetable so no 4pm bus! The timetable which we had been given had no dates on it, and bus driver who took us up did not tell us that it was last bus of day. Luckily one of the shopkeepers saw us waiting in the rain, and came over to tell us there was no last bus and offered to call us a taxi. Apparently this is quite common, so surprised that taxi dont wait by busstop to collect unsuspecting travellers.

Definitely worth a walk to is the Casa Romana to look at the Roman mosaics, free to go in.

All-in-all a relaxing hols which was not spoilt by weather as we have been on hols in much worse!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    32
    12
    16
    16
See reviews for
36
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

As a late September holiday the town was just going out of season but the hotel was nice. Clean pool area, nice rooms and generally great hotel.Relaxing with no screaming children. Restaurants around the hotel were very nice expecially the italian at the end of the road near the pastery shop.
The night life had a bit of everything tasty meals and a few drinks or a mad night out down bar street if you want it . Plus a picturesque place to be. Would recommend this place and will definately go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Brilliant hotel. Don't go on the initial frontage as its situated between a restuarant and shop - but its like the tardis!! The rooms were really well thought out. We were 6 girls and had 3 apartments (all very well catered for) and each apartment was different which we really liked. Try and get the rooms over the other side of the hotel (we were in rooms 20,21 &22) which look over the pools and the view to the sea. The bar was reasonable and the food from the hotel was good. The hotel is in a prime location - near to the restaurants, habour and nightlife but far enough away for peace and quiet. You can walk into Bar street in 10 mins and the restaurants line the front. All the staff were helpful. The only issue we had was on 2 occassions we didn't get clean towels but the house keeping staff just left our used ones wet in the bath (not very nice!!). Other then this one thing i couldn't recommend the hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I only gave the room 4 because we had a few problems with our electricity card and our balcony doors locking, but both were fixed upon reporting the problems to the staff. Other wise the flat was excellent. We were in room 31B which was a corner flat so was smaller than some of the others but had a balcony overlooking the upstairs pool an an amazing view of Turkey. The rooms were simple but had everything in that we needed, including daily towels an sheet changes. It also had plates, cups, cutlery, pands ect, in the kitchen. The hotel was a very short walking distance to everything, theres is a small supermarket next to the reception area and a very nice bakery (Definatly worth a visit!) a min walk along the see front, with the pebbley beach just over the road from reception (a 10 second walk at most from the front doors). Most of the restraunts, the castle, the plane tree, the ruins, the harbour, the marina, the nightlife and the old town (shopping, the museum, and cafes, bars, restraunts) are about a 10/15 min walk away. The airport was roughly half an hour away on the coach. The restored roman house, the roman odeon, and the western archialogical site were about a 20 min walk from the hotel. The askelipion is 4km outside of kos town and can be visitied by using the green train (traveks in the road) which leaves from the sea front. There is also a red train which does a city tour. If you walk along the sea from the the right (from the hotel) you will end up in Psaldi (you have to walk past the marina and you will hit a few restraunts, one which is called spitaki this is when your definaly there) and if you go to the left and you follow the harbour round the the other side (opposite the castle) you will end up on a street full of resturants which is the lambi restruant area and if you carry on walking down you will end up on lambi beach which is the sandy beach, it gets nicer the futher you walk. I think we got to psaldi after walking for about 20 mins or so and lambi is a few min walk from the harbour. Would recommend the 3 island tour (we went on the kalypso boat) and the day trip to Bodrum, Turkey (we used the maria star boat) both of which only cost 20 euros. I woild completly recomend this hotel an Kos town for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We decided we wanted a nice break for a week in the sun and didnt want to spend too much. Firstly we need to say as we traveled with Thomson we stayed in their part of the hotel, which is a seperate newer part of the hotel. These rooms consisted of a seperate bedroom and living room area. Which we were suprised as we expected a studio. So if your not flying with Thomson, your room might be different.

Good points:
- Free air con (again Thomson specific as we saw signs to purchase this)
- Good kitchen, (microwave, decent fridge, cooker, knifes forks, plates decent glasses)
- Nice views
- Good spacious balcony
- Sea front promenade directly in front of hotel
- 2 swimming pools (1 being roof top), kids pool and jacuzi
- Very modern

Bad points
- Not able to put a do not disturb sign, and kept been woken up by maid (10:30am we like our lie ins)
- Broken lock on door, but was fixed once mentioned to the rep
- Bathroom door wouldnt shut, was a bit strange as it seemed to fix itself towards the end of the holiday
- Shingle beaches in the local area

Another point that we should mention is that its a decent walk into the center of the Kos town, maybe about 10mins. For us this was fine and for what we paid it was perfect.
Another great point is the bikes, the area around Kos town is very flat. You will find the number of people on bikes suprising, and its worth renting a bike for a day to go exploring. I would suggest doing this earlier in your holiday than later (as we did) this will give you a chance to see the area and work out how far things are to walk to.

This was a great holiday and great location and we would advise all our friends to go here and to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Came here with my girlfriend, stayed in room 29, on the second of three floors.. We had a really nice balcony with seaview, on most of the days you could see Turkey really good. I would recommend this hotel mostly to young/active people, because it's close to all the shopping and nightlife, and even for us at age of 18 and 19 and pretty crazy people, the noise was sometimes a bit loud. The pool and the poolbar was very nice, same as the restaurant. They also had a mini-market in the same building which was pretty useful. We really liked this hotel, I personally would give it 5/5 points!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We wanted to stay in Kos Town and the Phillipion was in a great location, we asked for a sea view and got one, albeit partly shaded by a big plane tree. We stayed in 27b right next to the second pool area of the hotel, which is quieter than the main pool area by reception, it had a lovely barman who played really great music to hum along too while reading a book or magazine.

The room was very spacious even though there was 3 of us, the sofa bed in the living room was made up and another sofa was there to lounge about on, there was a table and chairs in the kitchen area and a long balcony from the living room and double bedroom(twin beds pushed together). There was an outside table and chairs to watch the world go by on the busy street below, the noise did not disturb us as night as we had the patio doors shut and air con on as it was in the 30's.

There was a good supermarket about 5 mins walk away that the local's use where we bought giant tubs of greek yoghurt for 3 euro to have with our lovely fresh figs, and peaches.

We had a few good meals out and a few not so good, so choose your restaurant carefully, we found Zorba's in the old town very good they have a proper BBQ and the fish there was lovely, we also found the restaurant next to the hotel on a side street (just up from the four roses very good) I think it was called Pavo. The hotel restaurant was ok, the cocktails were very good.

Do explore on the buses it is much cheaper than going on the organised tours you can travel around anywhere on the island for a couple of euro's each way, paradise beach the furtherest away is 4 euro's each way but still good value. We visited Pila and had the best meal of the holiday at a restaurant in the main square next to the (old village house) which is worth seeing if you go there, also lots of arty shops selling pictures and handmade jewellery.

Kos town is a wonderful place to cycle around it is very flat and has proper cycle paths. Go down to the harbour and book a boat trip direct you will get it much cheaper than booking with your travel rep, we went on the posideon to 3 islands inc lunch for 20 euro's each a brilliant day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Philippion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippion Hotel

Address: Vas. Georgiou 14, Kos Town 85300, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Philippion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Philippion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippion Hotel Kos Town
Philippion Hotel Kos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Philippion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.