We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 4* hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dunadry Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dunadry Hotel to your Saves list
Dunadry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Islandreagh Drive, Dunadry BT41 2HA, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Trim, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4* hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is far from a 4* one. The good points first: it is in a quiet location and the hotel itself was quiet but this may be due to the off season. The bathroom was very nice - lovely modern tiling and sanitary ware. It was very clean and we had sufficient toiletries. The breakfast was self service and there was a good choice of food. When the heating was working the room was very warm and the water was plenty hot. However the bedroom decor was from the 1970's/1980's (old cheap wood paneling on the wall and a recessed fluorescent bulb among other things). The windows didn't close properly (luckily the weather was calm) and the heating wasn't working the second night we stayed there. The following morning we had no hot water - a cold shower is my worst nightmare. The staff could have been a bit more friendly (bar Billy who was very nice) and the evening meal was ok but nothing spectacular. The duvet was only a few centimetres wider than the mattress as it was stuffed in to a cover that was too small. At the very best I would rate this hotel as a 3*. While it is an old building (which is fine, as it gives it a castle-like feel) the bedrooms in particular very much need to be acquainted with the 21st century.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    84
    74
    49
    26
See reviews for
72
111
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night weekend break but was extremely disappointed. It was like stepping into Faulty Towers. The allocated room stank of cigarettes despite being 'non smoking'. Reception offered another room but this one was like stepping back to 1970. Hideously outdated décor, duvets that barely covered the top of the beds and the actual duvet covers were too small, windows didn't close properly, horrible curtains and carpet, TV remote didn't work. Bathroom was nice, newly tiled which was the only positive. Wi-Fi had to be purchased for 12.50 per day unless you asked reception for the password (we discovered this ourselves, certainly weren't told). On the 2nd night there was no heat or hot water, and the same the next morning. Food was ok, but the dinner menu was rather plain. I'm not by any means someone who only stays in luxury hotels, so I have realistic expectations, but the people praising this hotel must have extremely low expectations and standards. It was one of the worst hotels I have every been in. I certainly will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dunadry hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here for one night break great value will definitely be back.manager very hospitable made sure tv upstairs was turned on so we could see rugby.meal and service fab and a michael buble singer in the bar afterwards and to top it all had good craic with other couples who were also away to chill for the night.Thanks everyone at the Dunadry.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Can recommend this hotel extremty highly. Food was amazing, lovely atmosphere, pleasant staff, great music, spacious rooms.

This is not the hotel for you If you are looking a modern hotel. But I loved the atmosphere, decor, furniture, entrance hall, staircase-just about everything in the hotel!!

spa treatments were lovely-though a few sofas to relax on with a coffee/tea would have been a nice touch rather than tables and chairs.
Music playing during reflexology was not that relaxing-pop music played!! Pool and jacuzzi were lovely
Breakfast was delicious too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbocking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Twenty minute drive from Belfast Ferry terminal. Great hotel plenty of atmosphere and great food. Staff were very attentive. The food in the restaurant was 5* already planning a return visit. The bedroom was large and well appointed with a good size flat screen tv. The bathroom was functional and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place is definitely not for the comfortable luxury lovers. It is dated in many areas, but has plenty of character in it. I am a type of person who prefers exceptionality rather then standardised chain type accommodation. I loved to be away from Belfast (it is about 15 min drive), gardens are lovely there (though terrible weather gave no chance to wander around them and by the river), staff are very friendly and helpful (however hotel looks understaffed as same people are bringing out meals at the dinner and doing reception shifts. I found them spirits a bit down with signs of tiredness). Rooms are warm, same as the swimming pool (water in Jacuzzi is very hot!). We had a huge family room which looked refurbished to me, so absolutely no complaints! We loved it. Here are my major disappointments:
1. No safe in the bedroom.
2. Breakfast was of a very low standard. A very minimal selection, no fresh veggies or cold meats/salmon. On a quiet morning they have no buffet and guests have to order from menu. We ordered three meals and ALL of them were inedible. Presentation of food was horrible (a tiny piece of fish sitting by itself in a huge plate with no bread, veggies, sauce...), taste was too salty, texture of a dated product... Very sad as they do have a good kitchen and can really use a bit more effort to improve breakfast quality. We had dinner on one night and we were blown away with how good it was! It was a package meal, but you can avail a deliciously made steak!!! It is a pity as not every guest goes for an evening meal, but pretty much everybody has breakfast!
3. Bar staff were selling Sambuca but neither of two had an idea how to prepare it! It is the first time ever I met a bartender not knowing this simple thing! Very disappointing..
Anyways, I found this hotel more lovely than poor and would come back or recommend it to certain people.

Room Tip: facing the garden and not above the function rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed as was attending evening do of a wedding. Room was like a sauna to the point it made me feel sick, even with the window open!

The ballroom was stunning for the wedding but room had no hot water in the taps and noise all night made sleeping impossible :(

Bar staff were incredibly helpful shame same couldn't be said for reception!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunadry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunadry Hotel

Address: 2 Islandreagh Drive, Dunadry BT41 2HA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Dunadry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunadry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunadry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunadry Hotel And Country
Dunadry Inn
Dunadry Hotel County Antrim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunadry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.