We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms a disgrace, staff excellent.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dunadry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dunadry Hotel to your Saves list
Dunadry Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Islandreagh Drive, Dunadry BT41 2HA, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Lisburn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rooms a disgrace, staff excellent.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Firstly staff and food here cannot be faulted. Excellent. But the rooms....in no stretch of the imagination is this place a 4 star hotel!! Possibly a 3 more like a 2! The rooms are a joke. We stayed in a "superior" garden view room. The beds are 2 singles joined, there wasn't even a valance sheet on it! The furnishings are old and in need of an update. The bathroom was a disgrace for a 4star hotel...telephone socket beside toilet!! A shaving plug from the 70"s. A shower curtain that was frayed and didn't cover the bath area when showering. The dust on top of light canopy was a half inch thick. Taps that have seen better days... The patio doors have so much paint on them they don't close properly and are therefore draughty. But the icing on the cake has to be the carpet....its filthy!! Stained, worn and grubby. These 3 words sum up the room... The only redeeming features are the staff and food. Both excellent. Go for a meal but give staying over a miss if you want any advice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgibson, Head of Sales & Revenue at Dunadry Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Welltravelled,
Thank you for your review. Naturally, we are very disappointed by some of your comments. Bedrooms, and in particular the superior rooms, are being refurbished. The Dunadry is a very popular, busy Hotel, hence the requirement for regular re-fresh and refurbishment which is currently being carried out.
Thank you for your comments about staff and food and we hope that you will return later in the Season,
Thank you again for your comments.

Helen Gibson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    84
    75
    49
    26
See reviews for
72
113
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Hi,

This is a review of the Function room facility and the ‘Copper Bar’ following a recent visit.

I’m sure this hotel has a few function rooms, this is in relevance to large room just through the doors at main reception.

Upon arrival to a formal function the ‘Copper Bar’ is the obvious choice for a pre dinner drink, passing through the reception area it is on the right passing the somewhat impressive wide wooden staircase. The bar was well manned by young staff who did a reasonable job of coping with a large influx. The small bar has great character and is well established.

We were then directed to the large purpose built function room, again having been there for many years and no doubt hosting a wide variety of weddings and formal occasions it easily holds up to 200 guests. It was well presented although I get the feeling that it could benefit from a little TLC and perhaps a lick of paint.

The 4 course meal was fine, all served on warm plates by friendly staff who obviously know the routine. The food was tasty and above average, no complaints there then.

In conclusion a well established hotel having served guests for many years, it seems to have a good name locally and aims to be in the higher bracket. Close proximity to Belfast International Airport (Aldergrove) & decent staff will stand it in good favor, a little makeover would certainly do no harm.

NB: Belfast International Airport is just outside Antrim town and is approx 15miles (30mins by car) from Belfast City centre.

Ellie May’s pub / restaurant is just opposite this hotel and would make a nice change for dinner if staying a few days, it has good reviews also. Other than that there is very little else in the local area with a car being essential to explore.

If this review has 'Informed' your decision please tick the 'Was this review Helpful' box.

Les

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I organised a long weekend event here for 16 people and could not have been more pleased with the standard of the hotel and the courtesy with which we were received. The owner John was charming and we were carefully looked after. Everything was where we needed it to be, and on time, with friendly and efficient staff. The hotel itself has a fascinating history, and there are details such as locally crafted furniture in the bedrooms which give it a truly individual feel. If I have one criticism it is that the courtyard/garden area can be noisy if there's a wedding or other large party in progress, and many of the bedrooms open onto this area. Nevertheless it was hard to fault for our purposes, and it's remarkably tranquil and rural considering it's so handy for the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I do not normally write reviews but felt the dunadry hotel deserved 1!

I brought my mum and sister here at the weekend for my mums 60th birthday. We had an absolutely fantastic time!

Staff are so welcoming and brilliant at their jobs. Couldn't fault our stay at all. Carlos on reception has always got a smile on his face and the boys in the country club really welcomed us with open arms. Beds were comfy and maids are a delight. Food was fab! Was such a treat and we will definitely be back.

Thanks to you all x

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limavady
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have just returned from a delightful and much needed short break where we were well looked after. This is an excellent hotel with kind and helpful staff who treat you as an old friend and do everything possable to ensure you are well catered for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for a swift one night stay and wedding reception.

The service was excellent night and day. The staff all seemed highly trained and motivated making the overall experienced extremely efficient, warm and friendly. It was one of the best weddings I have have ever been at and I musts say this was in part to the way the hotel was run.

The food was excellent for a large event, you could taste the love.

Well done to the management and staff - thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed just the one night, in room 209, enough for me. The room was large and although dated, acceptable, we were not bothered by next doors slamming doors and my wife enjoyed a good nights sleep, the bed(s) were two large singles joined together, my wife enjoys a softer bed whilst I prefer a harder one I found I was lying in a well and didn't sleep well confounded by the soft pillows which would have been thrown out long ago in my own home. The carpet was quite heavily stained which is very off putting,(it looked as if it may have been vomit) and the inside of the bathroom door and door surround was unclean with finger print marks and shoe scuff marks. The bath is not large and the shower is above the bath and a nylon shower curtain....my pet hate protects the floor.
We paid £100 for a midweek overnight stay which included 3 course dinner and breakfast. Dinner was excellent my wife had salmon and I had the steak, the starters arrived within minutes of ordering, as soon as we had finished plates were cleared and once again within minutes mains arrived, portions were large well cooked and very tasty, dessert was just as good. The staff were attentive and well mannered. Breakfast was a pleasant experience too with good sized portions and good service.
We didn't attend the gym/spa.
Seems to me the hotel would benefit from a carpet cleaner and attention to beds and pillows.
Well done to the restaurant staff and chefs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunadry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunadry Hotel

Address: 2 Islandreagh Drive, Dunadry BT41 2HA, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Dunadry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunadry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunadry Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dunadry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunadry Hotel And Country
Dunadry Inn
Dunadry Hotel County Antrim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunadry Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.