We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield to your Saves list
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

we had a brilliant weekend, good food comfortabel bed, attentive staff & the pool was really clean & so warm - we would certainly recommend it we rebooked while we were there.
even though thee were 2 wedding parties there was no noise & plenty of nice comfortable seats in which to relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Groggy

Thank you for your great comments on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us where I happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    233
    147
    88
    59
See reviews for
94
237
26
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

A warm welcome at the reception and after settling into our room a phone call to check if everything was satisfactory. Any queries or demands were dealt with promptly.
An enjoyable stay and a good location just off the M1.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Melvyn

Thank you for your kind review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for the Wakefield area being a stones throw from the M1. We were part of a large group attending a wedding (not at the hotel) and the hotel was ideal for such a party, there were stag and hen nights in progress and other wedding parties and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. The service at the bar was good, the staff pleasant and attentive (a blown light bulb was attended to within 10 mins) Breakfast was a bit of a queue and a scramble but the food was good. Our evening meal in the restaurant was fine considering the number of guests the staff needed to serve.
It is not the place for a quiet weekend away.... but nobody wanted that!

Room Tip: Ask for a bedroom remote from the function rooms if you want to go to bed early any night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Graham

Thank your for your recent review where I was pleased to read that we were the ideal base for your celebrations over the weekend with family and friends.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A midweek break was purchased for my husband and i for our anniversary. i contacted the hotel to book and explained our needs and recieved very positive emails from the hotel from that first contact.
On arrival the staff were friendly and efficient in dealing with us through booking in proceedures, and our room was clean and welcoming. The information in the room was very helpful and clear on all aspects from obtaining more pillows, or fresh milk to connecting to wifi, from times of meals and need to book a table, to access to spa and gym facilities, etc.
The staff were friendly and efficient through out our stay, from waiter to room service or front desk. No task was too big or small, no question deemed as silly and all our needs were addressed promptly and efficiently.
When the fire alarm sounded, i rang front desk to check if full evacuation was required as the layout of the hotel suggested lateral evacuation may be possible. The receptionist was calm and professional, reassuring me that this was not necessary at that time but should the position change they would come and let us know.
The food was very well presented, tasty and of a high quality. We sampled breakfasts, bar menu snacks and light bites, and an evening dinner in the restaurant. All the food served was good quality, tasty, well presented, met my vegetarian husbands needs and supplied him with choice so that it was more than just a token dish, as well as being clearly marked on all menus seen. Dishes were also available which were marked as gluten free, or offered a range of formats on request, for example eggs at breakfast. They also offered to meet any other needs put to them and to provide other non menu options on request, which i believe covered all tastes.
The Hotel was clean and was tidied quickly and efficiently so tables were not left with dirty pots or glasses. Attention to detail was given, even to polishing individual pieces of cuttlery and glass ware when setting tables.
The Spa and Gym facilities and changing areas were clean and both supervised and maintained discretely throughout the day. I noted that previous guests had complained of having to pay for towels in the spa and gym areas, but the cost was only 50p and was not aimed at hotel guests anyway as we were free to take towels from our rooms and have them replaced from main reception straight to our rooms.
Daily room service was available and they could be approached at any time for assistance while on the floor, other times help was available by contacting the front desk.
I can not praise the staff i dealt with enough for their time, attention to detail and care and friendliness towards all customers and heartily recommend both the hotel and the spa and gym facilities. We even had the opportunity to see the hotel spring into action like a well oiled machine to admit a large party of youth, quickly separated into males and females and accommodated in different parts of the hotel along with their chaperones, on one evening. On the next evening we were again priveledged to see the staff again spring into action to attend and serve a large booking for dinner. On each occasion the staff remained calm and efficient, meeting all individual needs, as well as those of the party as a whole. Nothing appeared too much trouble.
This was a much enjoyed trip and i hope to go again soon, to relive a very pleasant and enjoyable experience. I would heartily recommend this Hotel and its restaurant, plus the gym and spa to all persons.

Room Tip: Just ask, nothing seemed too much trouble while we were there, not just for ourselves but for others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Dianne

Thank you for your brilliant review after your recent stay with us. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay and hope that you will soon be back with us for another stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

i stayed at the cedar court hotel on monday 23rd july 2012 . i was suprised how nice the hotel was when i entred the staff on reception are very pleasent and helpfull .. the rooms were large and spaciouse the bathroon could have been bigger .. the pool and leasure facilitys were great and then the resturant .. one word wow the food i couldnt fault .. all in all a nice break for the money .. i would recomend you stay here if its on groupon again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Diste2601

Thank you for your lovely review where I was pleased to read that you not only enjoyed the hotel but the facilities we had to offer during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I can safely say this is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in. On the day prior to check in we received a very rude call asking why our payment hadn't gone through. We then asked her to look again and she would find it came via booking.com which meant we paid on arrival. No apology received. Then we arrived at hotel and our rooms were meant to be ready for noon. At 12:05 our rooms were still not ready. Asked for a room to get changed in for the wedding we were attending which was finally arranged after a call to housekeeping. We then got back to hotel, picked up room key and once in the room they had mixed up our bags. We phoned down to reception to be rudely asked to sort it ourselves. What hotel would EVER do this?!?!?!
Following day, breakfast advertised as hot was stone cold so when we went back up to get cereal we were rudely told off for going up more than once by what looked liked a member of a military organization.
We managed to speak with a 'manager' who didn't have much about him to resolve the issues.
All in all I would advise to avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Nick

Thank you for your tripadvisor review.

Unfortunately check in is not available at the hotel until 3.00pm on the day of arrival. Wherever possible we try and accommodate requests for early check ins however this is not always possible due to the hotel being full the night prior and check out not being until 11.00am

After investigating comments regarding your lugguage - I believe when you raised concerns that the lugguage in the room was not yours, she asked if it had been confused with your friends lugguage who had also arrived wanting an early check in and did not request that you sort it out between yourselves.

I am sorry that you did not find breakfast to your satisfaction and that overall you were disapointed with your stay.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calder Grove hotels

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

super two days, very clean,quiet room,food Excellent, great pooland seating round,staff helpful and friendly, what more can l say apart from thank you.. Maureen

Room Tip: Super super super !!! could come every week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Maureen

Thank you for your fabulous review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would happily look forward to welcoming you back each week!!

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Address: Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Calder Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from junction 39, M1, this well established family owned hotel encapsulates the warmth and hospitality of Yorkshire. Whatever the reason for your stay, the four star Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield offers a variety of facilities such as 149 bedrooms,restaurant,19 conference and function suites and the popular fitness centre to unwind in the pool at the end of your day. The hotel offers free WIFI throughout all bedrooms and public areas and shows SKY sports in the lounge area on a daily basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Cedar Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.