We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not amazing but certainly not bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield to your Saves list
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Horwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Not amazing but certainly not bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The hotel itself is a touch old fashioned, but only a bit. This is the same in the public areas and the rooms; they're modern, but not fully up to date, they just need a bit of a 'doll up' as it were.

The food at the hotel was superb though, really enjoyed it :)

Nice big flat screen TVs in the rooms too!

The staff were all superb, and really went out of the way to help us, especially so when we had some car trouble. The late night reception staff called around the staff available to find us a screwdriver and the such so we could get sorted.

My ONLY complaints were both bathroom related.
1) The extremely old fashioned hair drying contraption in the bathroom was not very effective, and completely fell apart when I tried to use it!
2) The toilet paper dispensers are those type which you pull out one square of paper at a time, and because they're so tightly packed in, it means when you pull a piece out, the paper tears and rips.

Aside that, not a bad hotel at all really, we'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear TR Wolf

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor - it is great to read your feedback.

We are currently in a process of modernising aspects of the hotel - and I was pleased to notice that you already appreciated the progress we have made with our new flatscreen televisions. We have also introduced free WIFI thoughout the hotel and as of September we will also be showing Sky Sports in our lounge or guests can upgrade into one of our Sky rooms.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed the food at the hotel - this positive feedback is much appreciated by the team.

Some of bathrooms are about to be upgraded within the hotel so we will take on board your observations in our planning stages of this.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    234
    147
    88
    59
See reviews for
94
238
26
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Really great night at Cedar Court!! I came along with 8 friends & we all had a fabulaous evening, the food was lovely & the Take That tribute band (Take That & Scream) were just amazing!! Would recommend anyone to go if you want a fun night out. I will certainly be booking to see the Take That tribute again!!! :0)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear TamsV

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor for our Take That Tribute Night. it was great to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the night and we can not wait to see you again at our next Take That Night in October.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We had the best wedding day ever. Everything was so so perfect.
The staff and wedding co-ordinators were absolutely fantastic.
Highly recommended !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Katie

Thank you for sharing sharing your wedding experience with us on tripadvisor. It was great to read that your wedding day was perfect and that we helped contribute to your happy day.

I have passed on your comments to Katie - your co-ordinator and everyone who assisted throughout the day.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We Attended a wedding reception on saturday the 30th of July 2011.

Good Points.

I have to say, the majority of the staff were pleasant and professional.
The Breakfast was very good.
The Health spa was good
The Hotel was clean although a little dated.

Bad points

No Ramp at the front of the hotel, we had 2 young children in a pushchair and had to walk all the way round to the vehicle drop off point to gain access to the hotel.

For the same price of £80 I could have stopped at the Malmaison in Leeds, so I dont think it was good value for money.

I asked at reception if they had a cocktail Bar, the Receptionist pointed to a bar, When I approached I asked for a mohito, to which the bartender replied, we don't do Mohito's.
So I asked what cocktails they did? She then said, we don't do cocktails.
When I pointed out the reception had told me it was a cocktail bar, she said, Yes, it is the cocktail bar, used to sell cocktails, but we don't any more, but the name has stuck :-/

Drinks were very expensive and I noticed lots of people in the car park drinking beer that they had in there boot of there car.

When we went to use the spa on the sunday morning, we were met by a very stern faced young lady, with a bad attitude.
She asked if we had booked in our children to use the pool ?
When I said, we wren't informed at reception, even though when we checked in with our children with us and asked about pool opening times and asked if children were allowed in the pool, to which we were told yes. she replied that we should have checked our book in the room, which of course was the first thing on our mind when we arrived at the hotel for a wedding reception.
The spa receptionist told us that only 5 children at a time were allowed in the pool, which I can appreciate for health and safety. However, I feel as a four star establishment, she could have been a little more helpful and courteous rather than dictating the rules and regulations.
Other members in our party also commented that she reiterated this when they tried to access the pool with their children.

The DJ on the night looked like he was on his last legs, very overweight and sat down through the duration of the night. He looked as miserable as sin and If I were the manager of this hotel, I would be asking, Do I want someone like this representing my establishment when after all, he is the one who is supposed to create a party atmosphere?.

When we sat down to the buffet, I was listening to Guns and roses "sweet child of mine"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Dear Banaana

Thank you for the feedback you have given on trip advisor regarding your stay with us recently at the Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield.

It was great to read about the positive comments that you have made and I will be looking at how we can address the areas that you felt we could improve upon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We hosted a reception dinner for over 100 people.service' decor and ambiance was very good and all our guests were very happy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Asharazdan

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments on tripadvisor about the Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OXFORD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Accommodation food and leisure amenities were good but reflected in the price. What really stood out was the very friendly and professional service we received throughout our stay. Opening the restaurant at lunchtime to allow the two young children in our party to eat comfortably was particularly appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Dear Familywalker4

Thank you for taking the time to write on tripadvisor about your stay at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our facilities at the hotel and I have passed on your comments to the team regarding their friendly and professional service which they take great pride in.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed over after a take that tribute. It worked out cheaper to get the full bed and tribute package, than to get taxis home. The room was excellent and the staff were very helpful. The room did seem to be in a strange location as it seemed to be below ground, but was fine in the end. The food on the night was excellent but I did think some drinks were expensive.

Overall a great night and will be looking to book again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerCCH, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Dear190729Emma

Thank you for posting your great comments on tripadvisor regarding your night at our Take That Tribute.

Our tribute nights are very popular and provide a great value should you wish to stop over instead of getting taxi's as you rightly point out.

We look forward to seeing you again at one of our future events.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Address: Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Calder Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from junction 39, M1, this well established family owned hotel encapsulates the warmth and hospitality of Yorkshire. Whatever the reason for your stay, the four star Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield offers a variety of facilities such as 149 bedrooms,restaurant,19 conference and function suites and the popular fitness centre to unwind in the pool at the end of your day. The hotel offers free WIFI throughout all bedrooms and public areas and shows SKY sports in the lounge area on a daily basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Cedar Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.