We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ecellent place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant

The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant
New Glasgow | 5592 Route 13, Hunter River, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
+1 902-964-3313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Hunter River
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Here at The Olde Glasgow Mill our dishes offer guests an opportunity to enjoy the freshest local products from land and sea. The Olde Mill is located in the heart of the Island and the best of the local products are literally at our fingertips. My team and I pride ourselves on our east coast seafood, and outstanding local lamb, beef and poultry. Every dressing, sauce and dessert is vigilantly prepared from scratch. The ambience of The Olde Glasgow Mill pairs perfectly with the culinary dishes that we've prepared for you. My culinary team is here to satisfy, and you will not be disappointed! Looking forward to serving you. Chef Emily Wells
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ecellent place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

For a fine dining experience here is the place to eat - water view - fresh organic vegetables from just up the road at Alexander Fresh Vegetables and cokking done with your pallet in mind

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place was lovely... An interesting interior (assumably constructed from an old mill), and it has been redone and is quite pretty inside.
The atmosphere is nice; there are large windows where tables overlook a river. The service was excellent, friendly and attentive. The food was terrific! We had steak and salmon, and both dishes were really great- wonderful presentation and fabulous taste.
The chef came to our table to ask how everything was.
Summary; a delicious place to have dinner at- wonderful, creative, and good quality food in a nice atmosphere. We would definitely return!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“"Fall Flavours"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the second review I've written for this restaurant. I can't say enough good things about the food and the service here. We had the "Fall Flavours" special. Started with Butternut Squash Soup with wonderful bread, followed with homemade rasberry sorbet. Entre of a tenderloin of beef so tender and big and juicy we hardly needed our knives to cut it, served wih purple mashed potatoes and mixture of fresh,steamed broccoli, carrots and cauliflower. Desert was apple strudle with ice cream and whipped cream. All this for $35.00. Service was wonderful and chef came by several times to check if everyone in the restaurant was pleased with their meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful M earl and Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I treated my husband and his sisters and spouses to dinner for his birthday. We had a lovely table overlooking the river. The room is bright and airy wit artwork that also adds to the atmosphere. Our meals were all delicious. Halibut, scallops salmon and steak were chosen and all received rave reviews. Lovely fresh vegetables cooked perfectly. Dessert eas also scrumptious. The table d'hôte is great value. The only negative Asa there were several large parties that arrived and is was rather noisy as some folks seemed loud. Apart from that I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“fresh and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I arrived on island after a lot of driving and was in great need of fresh veggies and a healthy meal. This was a recomendation by the hotel owners. VERY friendly staff and helpful with a healthy choice for dinner. Tomatoe and mozz., with a fresh salad.....then instead of an entree' i had a 3 way plate with 3 different apps. A beautiful old Mill to dine in.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant also viewed

Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
 
Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.