We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant

The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant
New Glasgow | 5592 Route 13, Hunter River, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
+1 902-964-3313
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Hunter River
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: Here at The Olde Glasgow Mill our dishes offer guests an opportunity to enjoy the freshest local products from land and sea. The Olde Mill is located in the heart of the Island and the best of the local products are literally at our fingertips. My team and I pride ourselves on our east coast seafood, and outstanding local lamb, beef and poultry. Every dressing, sauce and dessert is vigilantly prepared from scratch. The ambience of The Olde Glasgow Mill pairs perfectly with the culinary dishes that we've prepared for you. My culinary team is here to satisfy, and you will not be disappointed! Looking forward to serving you. Chef Emily Wells
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our table along the Clyde River was bright and open. The view was peaceful and relaxing. Sarah, our server, was friendly and prompt as we ordered our dinners. The wine list was varied and extensive for PEI. We ordered the 4-course meal. The soup was outstanding, the goat cheese salad wonderful. Palate was cleaned with a bit of raspberry sherbet. Then the main courses - scallops with rice and salmon with rice. All of it was superb. We polished it off with sticky toffee pudding. It was sone of the best meals in years. The chef came out to talk with us, clearly focused on ensuring an super experience. This is a one-of-a-kind find in PEI. I plan to be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    17
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tables Available with Peaceful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and 18-year-old daughter visitied Prince Edward Island for a long weekend in July 2012. An online recommendation for this restaurant was found and we were able to make a reservation by email. We ate at the Olde Glasgow Mill on a Monday night and were seated at a window table on the enclosed porch where we had a wonderful view of the river and scenery. The decor of the porch is mostly monochromatic white, very peaceful, and you observe more of the variations of green in the landscape just beyond the windows.

We girls thought the scallops were absolutely wonderful, large and firm. My husband enjoyed the chicken from the special fixed-price menu. The chocolate cake for dessert was a big winner for my daughter.

Our waitress was friendly, courteous and attentive. The chef even came to our table to inquire how we liked our meal!

(As we have dietary restrictions, we usually do our best to eat at restaurants where accommodating our needs does not present a challenge to the staff. This young chef completely understood and was sensitive to our needs.)

When we return to PEI, we will visit the Olde Glasgow Mill again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
“Vegetarians, avoid this restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Let begin with we received excellent service and the atmosphere was awesome. The "Goat Cheese and Tomato Salad " I ordered was very good and the drinks my spouse and I order were also excellent. In fact every thing was excellent except for the entree. Meat eaters will likely have an exceptional experience.

We are vegetarians and are used to having limited dining options. We found this doubly so on PEI. We thought with the Olde Glasgow Mill we have found a winner we found there was a "Vegetarian Mushroom Risotto" on the menu. Unfortunately what was delivered was a beautifully presented and prepared and exceptionally awful risotto. They had failed to make it clear that this was a "universal donor" sort of entree. The risotto lacked any fats in it preparation (like olive oil, cheese, and butter that is traditional), salt was undetectable in it, it was prepared with plain water rather than stock, and lacked any pepper to round out it's flavor. When plating they did sprinkle fresh ground parmesan onto it along with a drizzle of olive oil and offered fresh ground pepper. However after breaking through that top layer we were left with the blandest risotto I have every tasted. We had to order extra butter and mix it in with a large amount of salt and pepper before we were interested in eating it. We took home the leftovers and tasted them again the next day. We decided to throw them out instead of eating them.

Certainly this is a "vegetarian dish" but it is clear they we also aiming for reduced sodium, low fat, bland diet, and vegan. I respect that these are also important audiences but if you are vegetarian almost any other restaurant is a better choice unless you stick to only having the appetizers.

My desire is to not to destroy this restaurant but to make sure fellow vegetarians searching for a place eat don't experience the disappointment that most expensive meal of their trip to PEI (we spend about $100) is the worst. Let me conclude this is a very nice restaurant but it is simply not a good vegetarian choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Looking for good food outside Charlottetown?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If you're staying on Prince Edward Island, outside of Charlottetown, good restaurants are hard to find. One of the good ones is the Olde Glasgow Mill in New Glasgow. It's well worth visiting, if you're anywhere within a half hour drive. The decor is good, the service friendly, and it's nicely situated on a river bank. Most importantly, the menu has a variety of good choices that are very well executed.

We made a reservation for our table and were glad of it because, when we arrived, there were a number of walk-up customers who seemed to have a bit of a wait ahead of them.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fine dining on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

It has been almost 3 years since our visit to the Mill. Our last meal there was good, but nothing special, so we weren't sure what to expect again. Because we had dined in Charlottetown (25 minutes away) for 2 nights in a row, we really didn't feel like dealing with parking issues in town and another late night return home... so we decided to check out the Mill. Sure glad that we did! Five of us went and were seated in the air-conditioned comfort of a window covered room with views overlooking the river - lovely. We were warmly welcomed and told that our server would soon be with us. Krista (spelling?), our server, was attentive, cheerful, knowledgeable, and helpful - a delight! Three of us chose the "menu" - a choice of appetizers, sorbet, main course, and dessert - for a very reasonable $40 pp. Two of us chose a roasted carrot, ginger, and maple so
up that had a surprising - and liked! - zing to it; the other chose a very fresh goat cheese salad.
We then had a lemon sorbet that was rereshing and palate cleansing in preparation for the main
dish. Two of us chose chicken from a local farm - Larkin - that was so moist, so dense, and so delicious. The plate was accompanied by perfectly cooked veggies (small carrots, green beans,
yellow beans) and a yummy mashed red potato/carrot mixture. We then followed the meal with dessert - sticky date pudding, deep chocolate cake, and ice cream (I was too full for a full dessert,
so asked for a simple dish of vanilla ice cream). The two diners who did not choose the menu had
a scallop dish with risotto and veggies (received a rave review) and a halibut dish with a generous
serving, balsmati rice, and the veggies. The latter diner began with a green salad that was
perfectly dressed and substantial. We chose a bottle of wine from the varied list - ranging from the
low $20s to moderately expensive. We had a $32 bottle that pleased us all. At the end of the
meal - close to 9pm - the chef came to the room to check on his guests' reactions to their meals - a
very special touch. For the 5 of us, the bill was $295 - including all taxes, but not the tip - so about
$60 per person for a lot of food, 3 cocktails, and a bottle of wine. We will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant also viewed

Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
 
Brackley Beach, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Glasgow Mill Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.