We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must PEI Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Edward Island Preserve Company

Prince Edward Island Preserve Company
2841 New Glasgow Road, Hunter River, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
+1 902-964-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Hunter River
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We love food, flowers and friends. Our business is located in one of Canada's most scenic villages. We are located on banks of River Clyde which from the dining room is a wonderful site to behold. Our kitchens produce wonderful specialty foods for market and our restaurant serves a popular breakfast, lunch and dinner. All our deserts including ice-cream are made on the premises as well. If you like good food, nice gardens and great people be sure to stop into The Prince Edward Island Preserve Co.
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“A Must PEI Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a fun place to stop for lunch or dinner in addition to being able to enjoy some really good and wholesome PEI food. Potato Pie is a feature on their menu and is very popular but just about everything on their menu is yummy. Desserts are great, especially their ice cream. They also feature a delightful gift shop with quality merchadise and all their preserve varities on display. Washrooms are super fresh and the decor throughout the place is different, interesting and pleasing. Check out the lovely walk along the river before you leave and you might see some eagles.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    89
    22
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Concord MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Ice Cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stumbled upon this while we were out on a family bike ride - the ice cream and lemonade were so delicious and refreshing we returned several more times for snacks and lunch. It was expensive and the service was little slow but everyone enjoyed their meals - including the PEI mussels. The store is a great place to pick up little souvenirs and gifts - preserves (of course), condiments, china, jewelry, etc. There was a coupon in one of the local flyers for a free jar of preserves. Oh, and did I mention the ice cream...?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Top Contributor
409 reviews 409 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Sweetest lobster we ever ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were on a tour and with one of the many busses that stop here but they were very prepared for a crowd and served efficiently and absolutely the best lobster we have eaten. We come to New England/Canada every fall so have tried many lobsters so feel our opinion is well founded. The pie was delicious. A nice stop after a wonderful day with Anne of Green Gables. We had a lovely lunch and break here. Definitely recommend. Not a tourist "trap." A lovely local venue that has taken advantage of tourists and know how to expose them to the local faire.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yes there are a lot of tourist's but its still well worth a trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Yes there are a lot of tourist's but its still well worth a trip. There were are few buses but out private tour guide timed us so the luch crowed was not too bad! The service was good and I really enjoyed my Pototo bake and afterwards tasting the yummy preserves!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“on the high side of mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

A busy tourist stop with bus traffic. I ordered a lobster pot pie and got an open dish of thin gravy (?) with a few tidbits of lobster - definitely not what I expected. Salads and deserts were good. Pretty location but all things considered - not worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce2841, Owner at Prince Edward Island Preserve Company, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I agree with you on the Lobster Pot Pie, we certainly had a week of non-performance on that item and I am truly sorry for your experience. It is not normal for us to have mediocre food.

We are back to the drawing board on the Lobster Pot Pie. I can assure we will get it right.

In the meantime, please send me your address as I would like to send a gift of appreciation your way.

I do wish you and yours all the best during the upcoming holidays.

Sincerely,

Bruce MacNaughton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince Edward Island Preserve Company also viewed

Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Prince Edward Island Preserve Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Edward Island Preserve Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.