We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I fed my soul here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prince Edward Island Preserve Company

Prince Edward Island Preserve Company
2841 New Glasgow Road, Hunter River, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
902-964-4300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Hunter River
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“I fed my soul here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We didn't eat at this restaurant. We walked through the Gardens of Hope which are outside of this restaurant. We walked along a wooden path that turned into a dirt path and then into a grassy path. We thought we had reached the end, but we kept walking. Numerous times we thought we had reached the end, only to find that around the corner there was more. This is a beautiful peaceful garden.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    88
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful treat on Prince Edward Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a wonderful time we had on Prince Edward Island. We stopped at the PEI Preserve Company for a Lobster Dinner with our tour group. It was very good. The service was excellent especially for such a large group of people. We enjoyed every moment of our visit. Make sure to go to the tasting table and try all the different items. I'm sure you will find something you just have to take home. I made sure I had one of their catalogs so I can order from home and dream of Prince Edward Island!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chowder a must have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stopped in for lunch on our last day in PEI. Good choice...everything was excellent! The seafood chowder was delicious and the wraps and sandwiches are fresh and filling. We'll definitely do dinner on our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fun place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The preserve shop was excellent, do be sure and try all of them at the tasting table - you will discover one or more destined to be your life-long favorite! (we did...) And if you need an 'old-fashioned' teapot, look no further - we bought three, after searching the rest of Atlantic Canada for nearly a year with no luck.

The restaurant is something of an odd mix - paper napkins, tables set almost institutionally for the busloads of tourists - but almost haute cuisine arriving on the plates. Potato pie was REALLY brilliant! Lobster pot pie was very good. But I have to say the signature dessert 'raspberry cheesecake pie' was nothing to write home about (OK, but didn't thrill us!)

Excellent service, and the washrooms reminded me of a five-star resort. Our first visit of the preserve shop, around noon, we heard excellent Scottish live entertainment in the dining room (a full house with the tour-bus, but apparently they always have regular lunch time entertainment...) Things were quiet when we dined there mid to late afternoon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Everything in good taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is, shall we say, excellence beyond compare. The food is excellent; healthful too because there isn't a deep fryer on the premises. None of that idea of fill the plate with cheap fries and the people will think it is great. The phrase "Everything in good taste" applies to the staff and the owner Bruce Alexander MacNaughton. Ya gotta come because I can't write enough good things about this place!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prince Edward Island Preserve Company also viewed

Hunter River, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Rustico, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Prince Edward Island Preserve Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prince Edward Island Preserve Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.