We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best fish and chips ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Cake

Cafe Cake
34 rue d'oree, 72200 Le Lude, France
0033243946657
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Le Lude
Cuisines: Bakery, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
saumur
1 review
“best fish and chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Had a meal with my partner tonight (without children for first time in 4 years)-fish and chips. What can I say?. Best cod & chips I have ever had. Service was excellent, fish so fresh & hot,as were the chips. Amazing. We will return again and again and again. Thankyou

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Congleton
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best tea of any cafe in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stumbled across this gem of a cafe whilst on our journey home. The friendly owner serves the best tea we have tasted in any cafe in France. We also had two excellent sandwiches. With a house in the Tarn, we are regular travellers in France and have stopped at literally hundreds of cafes over the years. If you are anywhere near Le Lude, make the time to visit this cafe - you won't be disappointed. My wife is already re-routing our next trip through the town!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeLudeCakelady, Owner at Cafe Cake, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review much appreiciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Refreshingly different lunchtime food - very tasty, simple English fare with the best homemade cakes ever tasted in a restaurant! We love the friendly atmosphere and a few certain ladies living in the Loire, eat there as often as their hips allow! This restaurant is run with the love and care of its' owner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parcay Les Pins
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best paninis in Le Lude”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We have already enjoyed Sunday breakfast at Café Cake, smoked salmon, scrambled egg and Irish soda bed - absolutely wonderful, but this time lunch we went there for lunch. Lovely warm paninis and a great choice of delicious fillings, served with a copious salad. Excellent value and quality.

A welcoming proprietor and uplifting atmosphere. If you anywhere near Le Lude, make sure you head to Cafe Cake.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean and delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

My family was visiting the Chateau du Lude, and stumbled upon this lovely little cafe. Run by a British couple, it is clean and decorated very nicely. We were sorry that we had already eaten lunch near the marketplace since the menu looks great, but we enjoyed wonderful desserts with coffee and tea here. If you are visiting the chateau or driving through town, stop here!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Cake also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Cake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.