We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Miranda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Locanda Miranda to your Saves list
Locanda Miranda
Via Fiascherino 92, 19030 Tellaro, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tellaro
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Tellaro is a great little town with spectacular views over the Bay of Poets towards Portavenere. Locanda Miranda is a very good value and Alessandro is extremely helpful as a host.
Our room was on the side of the hotel on the top floor - spacious enough and with a large, newly renovated bathroom. More than adequate. As per other reviews the food is great (not cheap though) and highly recommended even if you aren't staying there.
Though right on the main road into town there isn't much night time noise except on weekends. Parking is provided. We used the bus to get into Lerici to catch the boat to Cinque Terre (highly recommended) and to Portavenere. By far the easiest option though it stops running too early to have dinner in Lerici. Beautiful area and Miranda is a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    25
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
7
45
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
s. california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

The Locanda Miranda was the first stop on our 3 week trip to Italy. We drove there directly from the Pisa airport, an approximate 45 minute drive, arriving just in time for dinner. It was just wonderful. They serve beautiful gourmet seafood (all fish menu). We were privileged to eat dinner there both nights of our 2-night stay. This is a lovely small hotel, run by a lovely Italian family, located in a small picturesque seaside village. Alessandro manages the hotel and it was great being able to talk with him. He was very generous in sharing much information with us (I remember our "mussel" conversation one morning at breakfast). He and his parents made our stay very enjoyable.

We recommend the Locanda Miranda without hesitation and hope to have the pleasure of staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I am still enjoying the memory of the exquisite food, it is the best restaurant food that I have ever tasted. The hotel was recommended by a friend in England and we didn't know what to expect but our expectations were exceeded. We were given a room looking our towards the sea which was spacious, tasteful and romantic.
I would recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone, in particular couple who love good food. I don't think that the hotel is ideally suited for children as the access to the beach is steep. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We spent two nights at Locanda Miranda and we enjoyed both the hotel and its restaurant. The hotel is family-run and the service is very personal and friendly. We had a great room with a huge terrace all on our own: the view was truly stunning!
The food was excellent; some of the best fish we have ever had.It was a pity that the restaurant was closed on Monday night and we had to eat elsewhere in Tellaro (we got a good tip from the owner's though!)
The village of Tellaro is gorgeous and I enjoyed walking to the centre to buy my newspaper every morning before breakfast. The bus connection to Lerici is excellent (no need to take the car to reach the harbour and the boat to the Cinque Terre) and the beach of Fiascherino (also within walking - and some climbing - distance) was an irresistible attraction on our last day.
Locanda Miranda is an excellent base to discover the shores of Liguria and the North of Toscana, so plan to stay longer than we did!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

This place is fantastic. We stayed in room 205. It was amazing, a huge room with 3 balconies looking over the sea. The view is amazing. Tellaro is beautiful and we could not have asked for more. I wish we had stayed here longer rather than going to Tuscany.

My husband is Italian and I am Australian, we have stayed in many many places all over the world and we loved this hotel. It was perfect, not too big, not too small. Wonderful, wonderful wonderful food (however it is expensive)

Anyhow I recommend this place for anyone wanting a romantic place to stay, or just a great hotel in a good spot.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

A group of us stayed at Locanda Miranda for two nights and had a wonderful experience. The rooms were very comfortable and welcoming. Dinner was fabulous both evenings. The dinner service was exceptionally good thanks to the server Grazia. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a romantic get away that is off the beaten path.

  • Liked — Family run business with lots of personal touches.
  • Disliked — I prefer a larger breakfast than a continental breakfast.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

We found Locanda Miranda initially through the Karen Brown website and then contacted the property directly. All we can say is "Wow" after spending three wonderful nights. Giovanna, Angelo, and son, Alessandro are gracious hosts. When Giovanna took us to our room and flung open the drapes overlooking the Bay of Poets, our breath was nearly taken away. What a view and what a wonderful place to stay!!

From the moment we arrived until we departed, they were always available to do whatever they could to make our stay enjoyable and memorable. Alessandro provided many helpful suggestions on how to maneuver and get around the area.

We parked our car when we arrived and did not move it again until we left. It was just so easy to take a bus from Tellaro to Lerici and then catch a boat to the Cinque Terre villages. We had options to return to Miranda either by boat or taking the train from one of the villages to LaSpezia and then a bus or cab back to Tellaro. Cinque Terre is within easy reach yet Locanda Miranda offers a very quiet setting to just "get away" from the hustle and all the tourists converging on Cinque Terre.

Do not miss the opportunity to have dinner at Locanda Miranda. We enjoyed a lovely five-course dinner (all seafood dishes) served up by our hosts that were simply delectable.

Locanda Miranda is an opportunity "not to be missed."

  • Liked — Location; ample breakfasts; superb dinner; owners
  • Disliked — The fact that we could not stay longer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Miranda

Address: Via Fiascherino 92, 19030 Tellaro, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Tellaro
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Tellaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locanda Miranda is celebrating this year its 50th anniversary of activity, a family owned hotel, Angelo owner & Chef, deus ex machina, along with wife Giovanna began in the late 1959 to work in the Miranda kitchen and they are still there, a real "historical memory" for the entire area, later son Alessandro come along to help with the hotel. Locanda Miranda is also a "quality" fish restaurant, you can love or hate it, but fresh fish is a statement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Miranda Lerici
Locanda Miranda Hotel Lerici

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Miranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.