We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Esperidi Park Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Esperidi Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Esperidi Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esperidi Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   S.S. 115 Svincolo per Selinunte, 91022 Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Castelvetrano
Berlin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Esperidi Park Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I spend one night.
First - my navigator system couldn`t find the hotel adress, so I spend 15 driving around. But anyway the second thing was that wi-fi in the hotel was not working and I couldnt get there the internet connection. so I got the room on the 2nd floor. Nice big bed, big bathroom, clear towels. For one night ok, but no internet. There is a nice swimming pool where i spend about 2 hours and a bar, with different sandwiches. The hotel is not full of people, so at the swimming pool there were about 10-15 people. The dinner is ok, nice pasta at the restorant. Breakfast is included. But bad service at the bar. I asked 3 times to come and give me cola and wait for 20 minites. Next time will stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    33
    25
    20
See reviews for
43
61
3
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hotel is way better than the reviews would have you believe, there are however 2 things you need to know. 1) You need a car, 2) You really need a car.
The hotel is on the main road from Castelvetrano to Selinunte and the only other option is to use the hotel courtesy car (fine to the beach not much use for any where else). The food at the hotel is great (we are a 16 stone ex head chef and very fussy veggie). The staff are great you will find their understanding of English is directly proprotionate to how you are with them!
The public transport is rubbish, the bus from outside the hotel, often turned up 20 minutes early, the trains run as and when and are often cancelled with no notice, or replaced by slow coaches.
The hotel is beautifully presented, modern light and immaculately clean. The pool area is great but under-used except at weekends when the locals pay to use the facilities. The gym is smal but very well equiped. The spa (including indoor pool and sauna etc) is expensive and only open at week-ends. Drinks at the bar and pool are pricey as you would expect ( 3.50 euros for bottled lager 2.50 for coke/fanta etc.) There is a supermarket (super6) 10 minute walk towards Castelvetrano but not a pleasant walk as no pavements & lunatic drivers.
Overall I strongly recommend this hotel provided you have a car or are willing to just chill by the pool. 1 week ok, 10 days better, 2 weeks have a plan.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

It's a lovely hotel, but it's in the middle of..nowhere so there's no walks or shops or entertainment, the pool was lovely but there's only so much swimming you can do and we didn't get a hired car, so after our daughter got an ear infection due to in and out of the pool for 4 days solid, we really didn't have anything to do! The hotel was more than happy to get us to the doctors and back though, but a (proper play area), a childrens menu, and proper family rooms would make for it to of been a more family friendly holiday. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends with children,or ones that want nightife. But think it suits business people more or couples wanting a quiet peaceful holiday.
Ps it was our honeymoon but there wasn't a hint of special treatment even though we'd told the travel agents who said we'd get it. :( We even had to share our bed with our 2 year old the 1st night until there was a second camp bed next to ours from then on!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We got a very good deal from Travelzoo so decided to give Sicily a try.

The hotel looks a little like a multi storey carpark from the outside, but once inside it is very nice. The reception is bright and airy, stairs, lifts and walkways spotlessly clean. Rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable, shower in bathroom was very powerful. Small balcony - furniture had seen better days, but adequate for the odd time we sat out there.

The pool is very big, plenty of sunbeds & umbrellas & very clean - has a pool bar. Only moan is that the boys behind bar played the same music on a link, and it seemed to get louder day by day (they did turn it down when asked). Beach towels provided at reception. Nice breeze by pool, which is very welcome. Pool surrounded by olive & lemon trees so no road noise.

We found all the staff at the hotel very helpful, not all spoke English, not a problem tho, we always managed to communicate. The girl on reception was exceptionally helpful and was v helpful when we decided to go out on the train one day. The hotel is remote, nothing really in walking distance. We did risk walking to supermarket one day, but very dangerous, no paths, and fast traffic. Hotel does offer a mini bus service to beach, which is very reliable-the driver Jan Franco is very nice. You can use it as a taxi costs approx 5 euros to nearby villages. We used it often to go and eat out at night.

We liked the beach, not very big but clean with plenty sun beds 12 euros for 2 sunbeds and umbrella. You wont get sun bed near the water tho, i think they are reserved for locals - sunbed guy friendly tho.

Food at the hotel is hit and miss. Sometimes v good, other times awful. We changed to Breakfast and lunch, and all the lunches we had were excellent. Breakfast was basic, not much choice,cereal, eggs, cheese & ham, pastries,sliced bread,bottled water - Not a problem for us, we were happy with cup of tea (water was boiling hot which you don't always get abroad) and croissant -Waiting staff were very friendly and efficient, tables were always v clean.

The week we were at the hotel, there was a wedding, anniversary and a birthday party - all quite large parties which took over the Dining Room and the outside space, also made the bar very busy. I do think the hotel need to decide whether they are catering for tourists or locals/events.

We really enjoyed this hotel & holiday, and for the money we paid we were more than pleased. We found both the staff and local people very friendly and very helpful. I think we would hire a car if staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We have spent 2 weeks here and we have travalled to all corners of the island. We are a couple with three teenagers. This is what we found:

1. Book the transfer from the airport when booking the holiday. Save hassle and get a cheaper hire car at hotel..

2. Bring a good guide book, I had the lonely planet and it was invaluable for pointers.

3. The staff are very friendly but only 2 are proficient in English. These 2 are great by the way and will book everything down to the last detail = Allessio will even go to the point of phoning the destination to translate for you.

4. There is a free shuttle to the local resort which has 2 beaches. Pineta is spotless, with cafe and beds at 6 euro for 2 or 10 for 5 in our case. The main beach is the one they will take you too unless you ask for Pineta. This is in the village under the ancient greek temples. Beds are dearer, Water is the same. Remember you are there 10 - 4 with the shuttle.

5. We hired a punto 4 door with aircon for 3 days and took in the north coast, the central mountains, Etna, Catania on the east coast and most of the south and west coast. Stayed at mountain b&b called a refuge locally while at Etna. Volcano great. Bring boots if you want to walk far, otherwise traners and socks are all you need. The cable car is 27 Euro and another 25 if you want to use the bus to the next summit. Asthma sufferers shouldnt try any of this. We walked from the top of the cable and it was lovely in the early morning before the haze and cloud forms. Catania is a hell hole- steer clear!!!! Driving is a bit of a haul especially in the 40C heat.

6 The cities arent worth the effort unless you have something specific to see.

7. We alternate between pool and beach. There are no shops- great if you,
are male. Nightlife is nil unless you go to Selinunte. August is fiesta month there every day. As usual nothing happens before 10pm when the heat abates.

Overall, its doesnt cater for package tourists at all. A good cheap place with very high aspirations which it might achieve if it can agree what it wants to do as someone else pointed out. Nice people, try to communicate with them- they will do their best.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

I have been 2 times at Esperidi Park Hotel, and everytime I found a fantastic atmosphere. The Hotel is really nice, and very Clean. I advice to try the restaurant, the food is very good and not expensive at all and the SPA!!!! I advice to everyone to go, and also to go visit Selinunte (very close to the Hotel).

For sure when i'll a change i'll come back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed 10 nights at this hotel in August 2009 while visiting my husband's relatives who live about 20 minutes down the highway. The rooms are very nice, especially the bathrooms are clean with very modern features, the beds were comfortable and we had a small private balcony. (Note: The in room air conditioning stops as soon as the balcony doors are opened). The first morning that I went down for breakfast I walked into a room with a fantastic warm buffet full of tourists from France. I was then quickly redirected to an empty room with large open bowls of stale cereals like corn flakes, a few yogurts, bread rolls and sweet pastries - a selection which barely varied the entire time we were there. The lunch and dinner menus were not that great either so I cannot really recommend the hotel's restaurant at all. Very few people who work there speak any English so unless you have someone to translate like I had, it would be difficult. My husband and other guests were very frustrated that the wireless internet connection in the bar never worked. This hotel also had a lot of big parties such as wedding receptions going on almost every night, but our room was very well sound-proofed so we did not mind. The large outdoor pool & bar area and the spa and fitness rooms are very nice and clean as well. So overall they score big points for a nice, quiet, modern, clean place to rest your head after a long day at the nearby beach or sightseeing and it's conveniently located right on a main road off of a major highway. The biggest disadvantages are the language barrier, the food selection plus having a rental car is a must if you stay at this location. We went out for lunch and dinner or ate with relatives almost every night and the hotel is not far from the town of Selinunte by car.
The beach in Porto Palo is especially nice and shallow with clear and warm little waves.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Esperidi Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperidi Park Hotel

Address: S.S. 115 Svincolo per Selinunte, 91022 Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Castelvetrano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Castelvetrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperidi Park Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Esperidi Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperidi Park Resort
Esperidi Park Castelvetrano
Esperidi Park Hotel Sicily/Castelvetrano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperidi Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.