We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Hotel in beautiful Sicily (awkward location)...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esperidi Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Esperidi Park Hotel to your Saves list
Esperidi Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   S.S. 115 Svincolo per Selinunte, 91022 Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Castelvetrano
Greater London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stylish Hotel in beautiful Sicily (awkward location)...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The drive to the hotel - in my case from Palermo - was stunning: beautifully green with dramatic contrasting views of mountains, vineyards, sea and ancient ruins. The same can't be said for the setting of the hotel itself, sadly. Located on a highway that runs between Castelvetrano and Selinunte, it's far from the most idyllic or perfect for anyone that relishes long, scenic walks or runs. Well placed though, for a traveller seeking car hire, in order to explore - with plenty of parking spaces available and easy road access to Sicily's bounteous offerings.

Recently-built, the four star hotel lives up to Italian style expectations. The rooms are spacious and clean. The room fittings are top-quality, the shower is excellent (even for someone who relishes a bath). The artwork on the walls is attractively modern and continues the stylish theme (although it may not be top-of-the-pops with traditionalists). There were far too few hangers in my wardrobe (perhaps should learn to travel lighter) but the chambermaids obligingly and speedily brought me more. A small criticism would be that there are too few draws/storage areas provided, so toiletries, books, cosmetics etc., need to be left out on surfaces. A good safe was provided; the air-conditioning functioned well and could be easily self-adjusted, within certain parameters. My little terrace with two chairs and a small table offered side views over the outside drinks area, pool and panoramic vistas.

The common parts of the hotel continue the stylish theme. There were nice touches too, at the side of reception, with the large wooden bookshelves replete with help-yourself novels and magazines (mostly in English thanks to the mainstay of the recent clientele). I found reception staff generally smiling and helpful with a wide range of requests. Admittedly, I had the advantage of being able to converse in Italian. When it came to checking-out my bill had many errors but when I pointed them out they were investigated and corrected, with a smile, so I paid the correct amount.

The breakfast buffet was copious and comprehensive, the staff smiling and helpful. The breakfast soundtrack was sometimes amusing; notably one day featuring a gladiatorial theme; when I jokingly commented on this to the staff they told me they needed energising that day! The evening meals were a good standard, with an emphasis on fish (so great for non-meat eater) and pasta; vegetarians were also obligingly accommodated for. Highlights, for me, included the 'caponata' (a Sicilian aubergine, tomato and olive speciality), the fresh artichoke hearts, the grilled local fish and the fabulous minestrone.

The small gym had several 'out-of-order' machines but those that were working helped compensate for the fact that I couldn't run outside due to the (slightly perilous) highway setting. The swimming pool area was fabulous and vast with comfortable loungers. Although some debate ensued - especially after heavy storms - as to how adequate sterilisation levels of the water were. Due to the location, it wasn't appropriate, either, to have post-dinner walk so we tended to congregate in the eclectically pretty bar or outside seating area. This made for some convivial and fun evenings amongst a largely like-minded and very friendly crowd.

If you're considering staying here, appreciate the value and the hard-working staff but don't limit yourself to the confines of the hotel. Take advantage of the free people-carrier, that will transport you to nearby Selinunte each morning, to enjoy the fabulous beach and unmissable Carthaginian ruins. Get the local bus (which stops right outside) and wander around attractively authentic, unspoilt Castelvetrano. If you can arrange - or get onto - a tour, don't neglect to explore and admire the mediaeval wonders of breath-taking Erice, (around 75 minutes drive away).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    38
    31
    27
See reviews for
54
70
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

As the title explains, a nice hotel spoilt by a not really bothered attitude, first appearances the hotel looks excellent, new & shiny etc but in the cold light of day you can see the frontage (1st Impressions etc) has an unkempt look with grasses & weeds growing almost a foot high in the flower beds, pots & around the palm trees, this prevails at all outside areas (More later), the reception is very retro 60's & very pleasing & I must say the rooms large & well appointed with lovely bathrooms & air-con,also spotlessly clean, as was all the hotel interior, the food was adequate, unless you had a large appetite but most evening the jokingly named A-la-Carte menu,which was a starter, 1st plate,2nd plate,side dish which could only be taken with the 2nd plate & a dessert of cake or fruit, most dish's were fish (6 out of 8 in 1st 2 nights) & it was perm 2 from 4 plus dessert,also they were never ever ready for us a 7:30pm but were a constant 10 more minutes, then 10 more minutes & on, remember this is meant to be a 4* hotel.
Now the bad, you must have a car as it's situated on the side of a main road in the middle of nowhere & no foot paths to walk on, although the hotel provides a mini bus to the beach 9:30 am out 4pm back, 7 km away so your stuck there all day, you could go round the large & lovely pool area but when we arrived & checked it the filters & fountains etc were off & seemed to have been for a while, as you could barely see the blue bottom for green algae & the shallow kiddies pool had a thick green scum on it, after a couple of days the pool area was cleared of all it's brollys & sunbeds etc & then closed off, we also tried to check out the spa & wellness centre, which was also neglected & unkempt, the fountains having the same problems as the pool,anyway apparently it only opened saturday & sunday, the landsacped gardens were a grove of limetrees surrounding the hotel with a small childs play area that was untended & over grown.
Although the staff were not rude only a couple were helpful, nobody & I mean nobody including the Manager & Receptionist, spoke more than a smattering of English & the entire staff was 2 at reception, 2 cleaners,3 handymen,2 waiters/barpersons & a chef, a skeleton staff to say the least, if you wanted a drink in the bar you had to go inform reception, breakfast which was suppose to be between 7:30am & 10:30am was never set out before 8am at the earliest & was wrapped up by 10, in fact 1 morning the breakfast was not set out before 9am because the waiter slept in but nobody bothered to try & set up till he arrived & you constantly had to ask,ask,ask for cheese,bread etc etc every morning as it seemed they didn't have the aptitude to realise things had run out, you were banned from taking any drinks into the restaurant,even water but you could buy them once in, the Sky tv that was advertised had only 3 or 4 English spoken news channels & if you wanted more then you paid daily.
So the nicest thing I can say is;rooms are clean,large & nice,pool area would be fab if utilised & thank god I'm home.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This is a business hotel which is not at all geared up for holiday makers. No leaflets, no rep, no information, very limited or no trips. Food is appalling: no lovely Italian goodies at all. No choice, no buffet, very grim. If you have lunch at the hotel (which you have to do if you don't go out for the day because there is no-where else to go unless you risk life and limb walking down the very busy and dangerous road - don't even consider doing this at night) you will get the stale rolls and tired cheese that were out at breakfast time. The spa is VERY expensive with restrictive opening hours. The upgrade to a room overlooking the pool (which you will probably be offered at no extra cost!) is meaningless as no rooms overlook the pool; some just overlook the main road. Local transport is so unreliable that you are likely to waste most of the day waiting around for buses and trains that don't turn up and then panicing about the cost and logistics of getting back to the hotel - which is in the middle of nowhere. This holiday will not take you to the lovely Sicily of the travel guides.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stay here with my sister in September. The hotel is modern,light, airy, clean and excellent. I agree with the previous review - this is a corporate hotel that has widened its clientelle to get holidaymakers. However, it is a classy hotel - the pool, furniture and facilities are great. It is out of the way and they do not offer information on trips etc that you would normally get from a touristy hotel.
We got a great deal - one week for a little over £300, HB. Agreed with thecomments on food - it could be a little hit 'n miss. Given that, value was outstanding though.
This hotel is out of the way. Would recommend that you hire a car at the airport that will save you the expensive transfer fee.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURTON ON TRENT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

just returned from 11 days at this hotel. we met some very interesting people who look on the glass half full side of life, most especially Dave and Trish and Harvey and Sandra, thanks to both for your company. we had a great holiday visiting Selinunte, Palermo, Sciacca and loads more, things we couldn't have done from the other more visited part of the island. we do recommend hiring a car as the local taxis etc. are expensive and you do need a car make the most of your holiday. the food at the hotel was mostly very acceptable, but I think those with special diets in mind [veggies] might struggle. the rooms are clean, quite large and of a good standard with a free room safe and mini fridge. all in all try it, you'll be pleasantly surprised if you go with an open mind. cheers

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Just returned from a week long stay at the Esperidi Park Hotel with my husband, we arranged a hire car, Fiat 500, in the UK, this proved to be essential as the hotel is rather remote, on the edge of a shopping/industrial estate on a busy main road. The hotel is very clean, the outdoor pool area fantastic and the staff are very friendly and willing to help, the food is adequate, you get what you pay for, personally I would have liked more pasta dishes on the menu, after all that is what you go to Italy for! We explored most of the western side of the island, I think you need 2 weeks to explore the whole of Sicily. The archaeological sites at Selinunti and Segesta were fantastic, along with the punic ship in the museum in Marsala. I sampled a glass of marsala wine in Marsala, stay clear - cleaning fluid comes to mind! Good reasonably priced places to eat in Marinella, 15 minute drive from the hotel, great pizzas cooked in a clay oven, half a litre of good quality house wine for only 4 euros.
We had a great holiday and would definitely go back and stay on the eastern side possibly Catania/Siracusa so we can explore the other half.

Definitely recommend the Esperidi Park Hotel for couples with a car!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

we have just returned from a fantastic wk's holiday at esperidi park and one wk was just not enough. so after reading all the negative reviews on trip advisor before we went, we were a little bit hesitant to say the least about our trip.... we need not have worried. the hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are spacious, well equipped ,great AC and lovely balconies.the dining rooms and bar are all really nice. the pool area is huge, fantastic and completely relaxing. however the 3 best things about the hotel are, 1. the food is absolutely lovely, this coming from a couple who would list food and fine dining as a hobby, (so all the negative comments about the food, have probably come from typical brits who like chips and egg for their evening meal whilst sat under a fosters umberella at an establishment called sloppy joes or something like) if thats your thing... this is not the place for you. but if you like good, fresh, rustic italian food you will love it. oh and did i mention the local wine is fantastic and is like 4 or 5 euros for a caraf!!! 2. the staff are wonderful, no they don't speak much english.. but why should they??? we're the one's visiting their beautiful country so make an effort, get a phrase book , and they will totally appreciate your efforts and bend over backwards to help, please and look after you just like they did us all wk. and last but not least no.3 the hotel dog!! a golden retriever with the most gentle and friendly temperament i've evr seen in a dog!! so if you are thinking of planning a trip here please don't hesitate, we thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely go back.
ps if you do go, check out a restaurant in castelvetrano called lu diseu too. its absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperidi Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperidi Park Hotel

Address: S.S. 115 Svincolo per Selinunte, 91022 Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Castelvetrano
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Castelvetrano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esperidi Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Esperidi Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperidi Park Resort
Esperidi Park Castelvetrano
Esperidi Park Hotel Sicily/Castelvetrano, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperidi Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.