We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Star hotel but 5 star value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ostan Loch Altan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ostan Loch Altan
Save
You added Ostan Loch Altan to your Saves list
Main Street, Gortahork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“3 Star hotel but 5 star value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here recently and can highly recommend it. As others have commented, bedroom furnishings are a little dated but in good condition with comfortable beds and everything very well maintained and clean. We ate in the bar on one night and despite it being very busy with locals (always a good sign), service was efficient and food was much better than what is standard for bar food. Breakfasts were also very good. There was a nice ambience to the hotel, very relaxed and all hotel staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and always met us with a smile and warm greeting this despite being frequently rushed off their feet. This is a basic hotel in terms of facilities but for the price we paid, it was fantastic value for money. I have paid much more for a lot less in Donegal. As long as guests are realistic about what they get for the price they are paying, they will not be disappointed.We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think only 2 rooms have lake views so this is not a hotel where you should expect stunning views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We welcome your positive comments about our food and service, we have had a very busy season and it is always our intention to give the best service even during the busiest times.

Our staff work very hard and always make a point of making all our guests and customers feel welcome.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
larne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived in Gortahork and decided to call here for a late lunch.We went into the lobby had a look around.One stone faced waitress walked straight past us without a sideways glance.The receptionist just sat there without even looking up to greet us or ask if she could help.We turned around and walked straight out.This cold reception would ensure we never return.If you are looking for Donegal hospitality avoid here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We were surprised and disappointed that you found our hotel unwelcoming as the staff in our hotel continually come out on top as regards the quality of the service and the friendliness and the hospitality that they offer our guests. Your experience is certainly the exception.

We regret that you were disappointed on this occasion but we hope that your next visit to us will be more rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buncrana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Myself & 4 other went stopped at the hotel for dinner a number of weeks ago.
Overall it was very disappointing.

The service was awful - long waits and a mix up with our order.
The food was cold & had to be sent back.

We told the receptionist when paying that we weren't fully satisfied and she told us that there were 2 weeding at the hotel that weekend & that everybody was burned out - not the response we were expecting.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We regret that your experience with us was disappointing. We have had a very busy season and we admit that there were occasions when our food and service was not up to it's usual standard as our staff were under a lot of pressure. However we coped very well most of the time.

We hope that you will return and that your next visit will be more rewarding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Hotel staff friendly and rooms clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was excellent with a good variety, however, restaurant left a lot to be desired, tables were not as clean as one would expect and the food quite bland.
Overall, we all enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and that your room was to your satisfaction.

We are very disappointed that you found the tables in our restuarant to not be as clean as you would have expected, this issue has been dealt with and should not be a problem in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again soon and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel is situated in a beautiful part of donegal-with fabulous views surrounding it. Reception area is comfy and welcoming. I found the bar and dining area to be on the basic side,but clean and bright. Our bedroom was quite small, with an unfortunate view of a felt roofed section and not the lake which we had hoped for.bedroom basic but clean. Shower only in bathroom-on the small side and not much elbow room, but a nice hot power shower nonetheless. Both bathroom and bedroom very clean and well looked after on our two night stay. We ate breakfast only-a nice menu choice and a lovely, well served meal.The staff in the hotel were very helpful, polite and friendly.Gortahork is a very quiet village, with just the hotel and another small bar across the road. Not many options for dining or entertainment. Nice atmosphere in hotel bar though, and there was live traditional music on one evening (excellent musicians!)
A quiet, simple hotel with basic facilities, friendly staff and a good breakfast menu. As there is not much happening in Gortahork (at the time of this review anyway!), would recommend that you bring your car/bikes and a plan for sight seeing and touring in the surrounding areas

Room Tip: Our room was quite small, with only a view of a roof.....make enquiries about other options when boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are very fortunate to have such beautiful surroundings and it is disappointing for you that your room did not have a suitable view, unfortunately during high season we do not have the ability to give everyone our best rooms.

We welcome your positive comments about the cleanliness of the hotel, our housekeeping staff work particularly hard to keep the hotel looking it's best. It is always our intention to give all our guests and customers a warm welcome and to be friendly and helpful and we are pleased that you found this to be true during your stay.

We hope that you will come to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Didn't stay at the hotel but called in for a meal - 4 adults and 4 children. Have to say the service was very poor - food average. We arrived and requested the set menu i.e. bar food - 2 courses for 13.90 euro but left 90 minutes later having had a disappointing main course and no desert. No one approached us to take a desert order - it was poor enough waiting with 4 kids on mains for close to 45 minutes - then to be completely ignored, along with others in the dining room was just too much.Needless to say we only paid for the mains but the experience left us far from satisfied and driving into town to buy the children ice cream etc. etc. Also have to say I was disappointed to be told that Wi-Fi was only available to residents! It wasn't as if we had just called in to use the Wi-Fi! Rarely submit reviews but this experience left us all feeling less than happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

We regret that your experience was not up to your expectations and hope that your next visit will be more satisfactory.

We serve a lot of bar food particularly at the weekends and the very nature of bar food service unlike the restaurant, is that people walk in from the street and expect quick service irrespective of how many more have arrived at the same time. We had a particularly busy season as regards guests availing of bar food this year and we have to admit that there were several days when our resources were stretched to their limits. However, we coped very well most of the time.

As regards WIFI it is for the use of residents only so as not to overload the system. In many cases it is children and teenagers that demand WIFI and could spend hours accessing social media sites while on the premises thereby interfering with those who are using the service for more pressing reasons. We make no apologies for this policy. However, there are times when we make exceptions for genuine reasons.

We wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visited this hotel as our aunt was born there 100 years ago. The room was acceptable, somewhat small. Unfortunately Wifi was only available in the lobby which was disappointing. The TV worked the first night we were there but refused to work the second day.

The breakfast was excellent as was the bar food. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the food and found our staff friendly and welcoming. We apologise for the problem you had with the TV in your room, technical issues do arise from time to time and the problem has now been fixed.

We hope top welcome you back to stay with us again and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ostan Loch Altan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostan Loch Altan

Address: Main Street, Gortahork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Ostan Loch Altan Gortahork, Ireland - County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ostan Loch Altan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.