We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in a stunning valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Termas de Reyes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Termas de Reyes to your Saves list
Termas de Reyes
RP 4 - Km 19, Termas De Reyes, Argentina   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Termas De Reyes
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Relax in a stunning valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I were cycle touring and camping but decided to treat ourselves to a couple of nights at Termas de Reyes. It was wet and very cloudy when we arrived but that just added to the magic as when the clouds lifted we were stunned by the absolute beauty of this small tucked away gem. Lolling around in the thermal pool in 38 degree water was very soothing as was enjoying a drink overlooking the valley from the patio bar.
The service and food was very good. We also enjoyed a wonderful walk up a currently closed road which gave us more excellent views. It was also our first stay at a hotel that does not cater for children under 16 so it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielM49, Gerente at Termas de Reyes, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Google Translation
Estimados amigos, los recuerdo perfectamente.- Y nos dio un gran placer atenderlos en nuestra casa.- Vuestra aventura es un desafió y nos dio mucho placer dar un poco de tranquilidad a tan duro rally.- Espero lo comenten con sus amigos en vuestro país, nuestras bellezas y en especial las de la Provincia de Jujuy.- Los Esperamos nuevamente !!!!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    55
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
107
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were initially going to stay for one night in this hotel, we ended up staying 3 nights.
We were mostly backpacking in our holiday with my wife, staying at B&Bs. Prior to driving to this hotel we had a home stay in the middle of the Andes, 4 hours walk away from Iruya, in San Juan.
Upon arriving to this place it felt like pure luxury. It's a place of nothing but relaxation, with big, comfortable bed, cable TV, excellent bathrooms, and strong, hot showers.

The dining area is enormous and the waiters are very helpful. I liked that the hotel has a restaurant, since it's in a relatively remote location, that meant that we didn't have to worry about where to dine. It was all about how to relax.

The thermal pool is just great, specially after days of trekking in the mountains.
The private thermal baths are also very, very relaxing but my wife wasn't impressed with the massages.

The food is good, the facilities are great.
I would recommend it to anyone who has been roughing it and is in need of a little break.

Room Tip: Prices for rooms are mainly based on the view from the window. They all have the same facilities. Ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The owner of the hotel picked us up from the airport and gave us a short tour of the major landmarks in Jujuy before taking us to the hotel. Termas de Reyes is in an amazing location, perched on the side of a mountain in a river gorge.

We found out the hotel had originally been built as a health spa in the 1940s and Eva Peron converted it into a sanatorium for children where she personally taught some primary school classes. The current owner is the son of one of the original hotel employees and grew up in the hotel. Many years later, when the hotel was a wreck and the government was selling it for a song, he bought it and renovated it. The name Termas de Reyes alludes to the hot springs which were considered sacred by the Inca, whose emperor conducted pilgrimages to bathe in the thermal waters.

Once we got to the hotel, the staff was very polite and helpful, even if they only spoke rudimentary English. Our room was nice and the bed was very comfortable (I'm very picky about beds because I have back problems). We slipped into the complimentary bath robes and headed down to the spa.

The first impression was something out of a classic James Bond movie. The spa is beneath the main lobby of the hotel and is built around the mountain, giving it a panoramic view. We had free access to all the facilities including private thermal bath cabins with a view of the gorge. Amazing as that was, I think the best part was floating in the open air thermal pool and enjoying the smell of wild herbs and pines wafting down the mountain. On a rainy day the clouds had descended to engulf the hotel and swimming in the hot pool while getting sprinkled with cold raindrops was amazing.

The restaurant surpassed our expectations, both in quality and price. We stayed at the hotel for four nights so between the two of us we tried pretty much everything, and liked it all. I especially enjoyed the pepper sauce steak, and my wife loved the humitas which is a regional dish. We drank some delicious white wines called torrontes which were decently priced at around 10 dollars per bottle, a product of Cafayate in neighboring Salta province. The atmosphere was a bit stiff though, the waiter would appear every time our glasses were half empty to refill them. I’m just not used to someone filling my glass for me.

During our stay we also went on two of the excursions offered by the hotel, one to the Salinas Grandes salt flats and the other to the Quebrada de Humahuaca. Each excursion departed around 9:00 am and returned around 6:00 pm, giving us plenty of time to relax in the spa which is open every day until 9:00 pm.

Overall it was an amazing experience and a good deal to boot. I would certainly stay there again and I recommended it to all my friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ldor Gral San Martin
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

I´ve been there at least 6 times!....It´s an excellent getaway from stress and routine. This isolated hotel used to be an orphan children home, built by Juan Domingo Perón. Nowadays It´s a very well maintained hotel with an exclusive Thermal SPA with a gorgeous view of the ravine and the river. Rooms are so comfortable. Children are not allowed, so the environment is so quiet and relaxing. Guests has access to the SPA (thermal baths, Dry Sauna, mini gym, relax room). SPA treatments are under charge (very recommendable). Food is not so good in my case (I´m vegetarian), so they might have some healthy food options, in order to be coherent with hotel´s philosophy (relax, detoxification, etc). Best baths are on the left wing. Leave your own essential oils and or bath salts to reach a complete relaxation. SPA facilities are very well kept an so so clean; this is very important!. If you prefer, there is an outdoors thermal swimming pool with hydro-massage.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Front view are the best but windows are so small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

The location of Termas de Reyes was stunning- beautiful forests and in the heart of remote nature and fresh air. I wish I could say the same for the hotel...While staying at Termas de Reyes I constantly had to remind myself that we were in 2009, as the architecture, decor , the hotel spa and gym unchanged since 1975, the rusting stillwater thermal pool, and heavy smell of mothballs--all constantly made me feel as I if I was either back in the 1970's or stuck in a very creepy remake of The Shining. Though the staff was attentive and polite, I was astonished that they could represent their facility with such seriousness and charge close to $200.00 a night. Coming from Buenos Aires, I was astonished at the difference between cutting edge cuisine and architecture in BA and probably one of the worst hotel experiences of my life at Termas de Reyes. One word of advice to the hotel- renovation!

Stay away from this hotel until its renovated- trust me!

  • Liked — the nature and the forest surrounding it!
  • Disliked — the hotel itself!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Termas de Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termas de Reyes

Address: RP 4 - Km 19, Termas De Reyes, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Termas De Reyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Termas De Reyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Spa Termas de Reyes, is nestled in a privileged place of Reyes gorge, 30 km from the city of San Salvador de Jujuy, with its own thermal spring and all the amenities of a four star style. - Account thermal water service in each of its luxurious rooms. - Spa, Fitness Center, Natatorium thermal and Restaurant. - geographically, the gateway to the towns of Purmamarca, Humahuaca and Jama pass with neighboring country of Chile. - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Termas de Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termas de Reyes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.