We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grounds, food and service.. BUT some other things let it down.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens to your Saves list
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Lough Rynn, Mohill, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great grounds, food and service.. BUT some other things let it down.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just back from a lovely relaxing night away in Lough Rynn. Being a 90 min spin from Dublin makes it a very viable option for 1 night away.

There are 4 key things that made our stay very special:

- The staff: excellent across the board from start to finish- friendly and efficient without being overbearing.

- The food: everything we had was super fresh and tasty- the breakfast in particular was a real treat. We ate in the Sandstone restaurant in the evening and it really is a lovely dining room, runs like a dream and has a nice ambiance.

- The grounds: we spent hours wandering around, it’s a photographers paradise. Beautiful trees, walled gardens, boat house, lake, turrets- the list really is endless.

- All the nook and cranny drawing room/common areas- really lovely to relax in during the day, read the paper, have afternoon tea- I think we spent 5 hours in total over the 2 days just lounging around in the different drawing rooms. Gorgeous.

There are also however a few things that let the hotel down:

- We were in room 207. There was a wedding on- so from 1am-4am there were hordes of people shouting and roaring outside our room, in transit from the wedding venue out of the hotel. They really should ONLY put wadding guests in the rooms along this corridor (201-208 i think??) the noise levels for a non wedding guest were pretty bad.

- The room had no bath- which we thought for a hotel of this standard was a bit odd. We don’t have a bath at home, so always look forward to taking a bath if away on a hotel break, so this was a disappointment.

- The lack of Spa facilities does take from the experience somewhat- even an outdoor Jacuzzi or something would do, they don’t have to invest in a full spa. Clearly they have done the math though and realise it’s not viable. But for us the lack of spa would deter us from coming again i think. It might not be an issue for older guests who have little interest in going to a Spa but it’s a big thing for us.

- There are quite a few (20+) various laminated A4 pages around the hotel giving room directions and other notices- surely it would not cost much to have these replaced by classier signs? They look awful, really cheap.

- The AirCon in the hotel room- very noisy and took us ages to work out how to turn it off. There was also a half moon shaped window over the door which let in a lot of light from 7am onwards- so having been awake for 3 hours during the nite due to wedding revelers, we were then woken very early by the light.. so all in all not a great nites sleep!!

A lovely lovely place, but unless i come back here to go to a wedding (infact I really hope i do get to come back here for a wedding sometime as it's really made for a wedding) I don’t think i’ll be staying again.. not when there are so many alternatives with Spa facilities.

Room Tip: Do not stay in 207 (or rooms close to 207) if you want a good nights sleep- the rooms in this corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    94
    48
    21
    7
See reviews for
90
310
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tipperary ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I visited Lough Rynn castle 31st April. This is a beautiful large residence in a secluded part of Co.Leitrim. We received a lovely welcome . Our room was overlooking the lake. There are walks around the castle. That evening we had our dinner in the bar which was delicious. The breakfast next morning was of a very high standard. We would recommend this hotel for rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent the night at this castle for one night. The rooms were very similar to a hotel room. Nothing too authentic or old fashioned. The grounds were nice and gardens beautiful. Food was great and reasonably priced. From what I've heard it is smaller in comparison to other castles in Ireland. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

stayed here two years ago for three nights. beautiful setting and itslovely views.

a lovely Donegal gent showed us to our room. he was so friendly.

went for after noon tea .it was yummy. had dinner later one of the evenings and two years later my husband still talks about his dinner . he had duck. he jokes that he would have went home with the duck!

best hotel staff ever :-)
everyone should visit lough rynn hotel

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Jsut back from a one night stay in this beautiful hotel. On arrival on the Sunday we were greeted by the most friendly of staff, each one more friendlier than the other and all very helpful. The reception area could be a little bigger, but that is only a minor detail. All of the public rooms have a very individual style, but in keeping with the Manor House that this hotel used to be.
We had Afternoon tea on the Sunday served to us in the Bar , we ordered tea for 2 people, there was a huge amount of food served on an old style three tier cake stand and all of the plateware and sliverware was immaculate. The food was fabulous, three types of finger sandwiches, a selection of cake slices all homemade and tiny profiterolles and Mille feuille to top it off YUM . The tea and coffee came in a china pots and was piping hot.
Our rooms were lovely, while we did not have a view as our room had a large velux window, the room was very large and very comfortable. The bed was comfortable with decent pillows. ( I hate cheap pillows) and snow white bed linen . It took me a little while to figure out how to switch off the air con before we went to bed. But the room was very comfortable during the night and we did not need to switch it on again before we left.
The bathroom was a good size with a decent shower and for me the best bit in the bathroom was the magnifying makeup mirror which extended in different directions and had its own back light.
The grounds surrounding Lough Rynn are magnificant, the walled garden is really lovely with their hidden steps down to the Lough shore. Lovely !
We had dinner in the bar later that evening, we ordered steaks and they all came as we ordered , medium, well done and rare....... well done chef !
but the next time we stay we will make a booking for the Sandstone restaurant, the menu looked amazing.
For all of us the main thing that stood our for our short stay in the hotel were its staff. They were very efficent at their jobs, extremely friendly without being over familiiar and very very helpful.
We will definitely be making another booking with Lough Rynn Hotel and the next time we will be staying for a much longer visit..
As I said at the top of this review, a beautiful hotel, great food and FANTASTIC Staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a wedding. Lovely hotel generally speaking. The common rooms are lovely as was the function room. Staff were lovely to deal with. Our room was a let down though. Smallish in size given the cost. And the curtains didn't block light out at all making it hard to sleep in. Beautiful grounds and a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for nite with friends, more a manor house than castle but smashing decor, staff friendly and food A1, Hawk Walk on the afternoon we arrived in grounds, well worth a visit. Check the beat rate room option on Lough Rynn's own web site for graet value mid week prices. Grounds lovely with rolling lawn and walled garden.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens

Address: Lough Rynn, Mohill, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Mohill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mohill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rynn Castle is a 4 star deluxe hotel set on an estate of 350 acres. The Hotel comprises of 42 bedrooms, an AA Rosette Award Winning Restaurant and caters for functions up to 320 persons. A Victorian Walled Gardens takes you to the shores of Lough Rynn, natural woodland, meandering walk ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rynn Castle Estate And Gardens
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens Hotel Mohill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.