We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel to stay in Oberau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tirolerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tirolerhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchen 275, Oberau 6311, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oberau
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A good hotel to stay in Oberau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here as part of a large group of 30plus and having read other reports was expecting a lot of the hotel.
In the main it was very good.
The room 209 was an excellent room looking over some school playing fields and the mountains and local church.It was a good size and possibly capable of taking 4 people.It was kept clean.
The dining room was also good in layout and with plenty of room.
Staff were pleasant in bar and restaurant and efficient.Also reception staff good although one gentleman who I think was a family member was not conversational albeit he was efficient.
Only slight downside was the food for dinner which was not to the same standard as the 3 lunches we had which were good which I can only put down to the "mass catering of our large party".Examples were overcooked pork steak,very grissly Veal wrapped in bacon and a lambsteak which was mainly bone.In contrast one fish dish was really good and the Italian Buffet
excellent.Breakfast was variable as some mornings we had cooked breakfast but others just a cold table.
Overall a good stay with some great walks although the town not as nice as Soll which we have stayed several times.

Room Tip: Room 209 quiet and good views also large with plenty of hanging space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This would be our third trip to the Tirol in the last 12 months and we chose the Tirolerhof after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and were delighted with our choice. We booked through Inghams lakes and mountains flying from Manchester to Salzburg. Landing time was later than expected due to adverse weather conditions but after landing and collecting our luggage we were met by our excellent rep Dobrin and were soon seated on the coach for an expected 2.5 hour transfer. This too was delayed due to the bad weather having caused a landslide which meant the road had to be closed and the driver had to find an alternative route. We arrived at the hotel about at 23.45, about an hour later than expected and we were met by one of the owners Martin Erharter. After dropping our luggage in the room we went into the dining room not expecting much at that time of night but we were offered tomato and cream soup, a toasted ham and cheese sandwich with a small side salad followed by ice-cream and wafers for dessert.

Buffet breakfast was excellent. Along with the usual cooked meats-cheeses-bread rolls-cereals-yoghurts-juice-fruit salad-nuts etc there were also boiled eggs some mornings and on 2 days scrambled eggs and bacon. A small toaster was also available to use. Although I didn’t try any the home made jams were very popular. Coffee was brought to you but tea drinkers were self service. Lots of flavoured tea bags along with breakfast tea and tea pots available.

We also received a packed lunch as part of our deal. 2 rolls with cheese and ham-chocolate biscuit/wafer-piece of fruit and a bottle of water which would see us through to supper.

Supper is served between 18.00 & 19.30. Salad-Starter-Main-Dessert. Good choice on the self service salad bar followed by soup although we did have smoked salmon/cream cheese one evening. You choose your main meal at breakfast time from a choice of 3 (x1 is veg option). Other than the salad and buffet evening the evening meal was served at the table by waitresses who were all very polite and helpful. The food was of a good quality, nicely presented and contained more vegetables than we have had in other parts of the Tirol. We had an Italian buffet one evening and a farmers buffet on another evening. Farmers buffet was easily our favourite meal. Another evening we had a dessert buffet with a huge choice of cakes/pastries/ice-cream/chocolate etc.

Drinks were fairly priced. A glass of white/red wine 2 euro, ¼l 4 euro, ½l beer 3.20 euro. Jug of tap water was already on the table.

The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout and is non-smoking in most areas. The reception area has a nice seating area with payable internet computer. Wi-fi was available but there was a problem with it whilst we were there. It was fixed before we came home and didn’t cause us any problem by it not working.

Included facilties were the wellness area (sauna-steam room-salt shower-relaxation area etc) and a small indoor swimming pool (I used this every morning after running and before breakfast and I mostly had it to myself). There was also a child’s play area in the basement and table tennis/table football. Children’s play computer in the lobby area.

We had a basic room on the first floor with a balcony. Standard Austrian twin bed (2 mattresses/sets of bedding on 1 bed frame). Flat screen TV with Sky and BBC world news. Lots of storage/hanging space. Bath with shower over. Hairdryer etc. Table and 2 chairs, additional seating area. All very clean and tidy.

Just a note about transport, have a look at the bus stop because the post bus service have a price list displayed at the stop and you can buy a weekly local/regional ticket which also includes use of trains etc which might be preferable/more use than the local bummelbahn (Landrover made to look like a train towing a trailer) ticket you will be offered.

Tuesday evening there is a free performance held at the local school 200yds from the hotel by the local band who after marching from the church to the school gave an enjoyable concert with a variety of tunes. During the performance 2 girls walk around the audience selling schnapps and there is also a table set up where you can buy beer etc. This must be how they raise funds for the band because there is no collection during or after the performance so buy a schnapps or a beer to help them out.

On Thursday evening there is music provide by Tirol trio but we got Tirol Duo due to the double bass player taking a holiday. Lots of fun and laughter was had by all who attended.

There are lots of numbered routes/paths throughout the valley but do buy a map because there are a few signs missing on some of the less used paths. You can walk several hours without seeing anybody else if you walk on these paths. We used mayr 41 (1:30,000-20m contours) which was adequate but I noticed in the sports shop in the village that they had more choice and up-to date versions including kompass maps which I prefer.

The tourist information is approx 1 mile walk away (equi distance between Oberau & Niederau-next to the tennis courts-swimming pool) where you can also book free guided walks.

Hard to find fault and we would definitely recommend the Tirolerhof to anybody wishing to stay in the area and would like to thank family Erharter and all their staff for a most enjoyable holiday. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The excellent reviews on here helped us to choose this hotel, and we were not disappointed.
We arrived late at night after a delayed landing and a coach detour due to a ferocious thunderstorm. After taking our luggage up to our rooms we were served a three course meal in the restaurant consisting of home made soup, cheese & ham toastie with salad, and ice cream. Even at this time of night (about midnight), everything had been freshly prepared and was served with a smile.

The hotel itself is lovely - large, comfortable rooms and everything is immaculately clean. The facilities are excellent and we made good use of the leisure facilities, including the sauna, steam room, aroma room, fruit showers, etc. The indoor pool is small so we didn't use it while we were there.

We really enjoyed the food. The Erharter family have their own farm and everything was fresh and of a high quality - I particularly liked the home made jams at breakfast. The sweets dessert evening was very good with probably about 40 different ones; the portions were very small so you could try lots of different ones.

The Tirolerhof is a very friendly hotel run by Martin, his family and other staff. They all work very hard to make sure you have an enjoyable holiday and are all very helpful. The staff on reception helped us to sort out transport to Kitzbuhel and also phoned a hotel there where our friends were staying. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Martin plays guitar and sings and provided the entertainment one evening for the music and dance evening along with an accordion/keyboard player. As well as being very good musicians they were also very funny and we had a great evening!

Oberau and the Wildschonau Valley is a walkers' paradise, whether you just like a gentle stroll or like a challenge. We walked virtually everywhere although we also used the "Bummelbahn" - tourist train. Both gondolas are great and the wood museum at Auffach is really interesting, as is the farmers' museum (all free with the Wildshonau card).
There is a brass band concert every Tuesday evening and this was extremely good, although we would describe it as a wind/concertband.

Our flight home didn't leave 'til 8.40 p.m. so we got nearly a full day's walking in on the last Saturday. We had to vacate our rooms by 10 a.m. as new guests were arriving from other flights but Martin gave us a room for our suitcases (there were 14 of us leaving on the late flight), and let us use the facilities downstairs - showers, lockers, towels, etc.

This was our first holiday on our own in 20 years (our 19 year old daughter had gone away with friends), and we had a wonderful time at this great hotel. What made it so special was the staff at the Tirolerhof and the lovely people we shared our holiday with, especially the ones from the Manchester flight!
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who likes spectacular scenery, a super hotel in an idyllic location and very friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a larger room with safe and fridge - only £4 pp per night and well worth it although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great holiday. Lovely big rooms with a large double bed, modern clean bathroom, plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space, safe and another locking cupboard, lounge area, two settee (that could double as extra beds), balcony with lovely view, fridge. Rooms get hot at night and there is no air conditioning. Beds are a little hard, but those are my only gripes.This is a family run hotel, and everyone is very helpful. They all work so hard.There is a small pool, and health centre, etc. Sun terrace and bar good. Try the Schnapps - I recommend the apricot. Food was good. Buffet breakfast with plenty of choice - mainly cold food, but with bacon and egg some days, or boiled eggs available some days as a hot options. All the jams are homemade. For the evening meals you have a salad bar, then a soup course, then a choice of three main meals, and pudding. You select your choices at breakfast for the evening. They also provide you with a packed lunch which is really helpful (this may just be for people who booked through Inghams). Oberau is a lovely village. There is a small tourist train that runs through the valley from village to village (15 euros for a weekly ticket) - well worth getting. The ski lift in nearby Niederau was open when we went in May -others don't open till June. When staying in this area - the Wildschonau Valley - you get given a Summer card that includes access to a number of tourist attractions such as the Farmers Museum, the Wood Museum etc, use of the ski lifts, use of the outdoor pool, tennis courts, and guided walks - all free! We also went to Innsbruck for the day - took the bus to Worgl, then the train to Innsbruck. It cost about 4.10 euros on the bus, and 22 - 37 euros return on the train - depending on if you take the slow train or fast train. We paid for the fast train then found that there was only 15 minutes difference - so perhaps not worth it. Innsbruck was nice.
Take good walking shoes as many of the walks are steep and you need the right kit. We bought walking poles this years and they were worth every penny!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just returned from a great stay at this hotel. It is located right next door to the ski lift and ski hire shop. Room under hotel to store your skis and heated room for drying boots. Oberau offers blue runs for beginners and a black run but the free ski bus takes you to other resorts with harder runs for more red runs. resort was not too busy despite it being half term week.
Kids had a great time aged 7 and 9. They had a choice of evening meal from either adult or kids menu which was great. Staff are very friendly nothing too much trouble for them.
Rooms were clean- we had four beds and an area with table and chairs. Swimming pool very cold and small but the sauna and steam room were great for aching bones after a days skiing. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Thomas Cook

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We have just returned from Hotel Tirolerhof today after an excellent two weeks stay, when it snowed and snowed. Martyn (The Manager) and his excellent team made us very welcome and kindly allowing us to have the same room as before, overlooking the piste. All facilities are of a high standard. The staff are always very approachable from reception to the restaurant.
If you have a problem just ask and it will be solved. The meals are good, very good with a wide selection of local dishes, which are plentiful. Put it this way, the salopettes fit more snuggly.
Local ski school next door should you need lessons. If you prefer to walk instead of ski, there are a number of pathways to enjoy, and if it snows, they are maintained very quickly. Austria just keeps going...unlike another country I could mention.
A nice walk is from Oberau to Neiderau about an hour slight gradients only, and then as you enter Neiderau, make use of the 'Impess' supermarket, they serve an excellent latte and pastry...wasitline watching is not good. The views are stunning....puts Tesco's and Asda's to shame. There is a ski shuttle bus which runs along the valley to all three piste's, the pass is issued by your hotel...and it's free.
Oberau is a quiet location, but they have the necessary facilities, banks, chemist, supermarket/s, ski equipment rental shops and the doctors......they do a nice line in plasters and not the sticky ones.....so they tell me.
I would highly recommend The Hotel Tirolerhof for the traditional food and entertainment. Another visit is planned in summer....sorry Martyn. To enable us to enjoy the summer countryside.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the piste ( De-luxe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was our first trip to the Hotel Tirolerhof but it certainly won't be the last. We had a beautiful room overlooking the piste which was very spacious, spotlessly clean and well laid out. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and even kept my fussy 15 year old son happy. Martin and his family make their guests feel so welcome, and all the staff provide an excellent service including the entertainment in the hotel on a regular basis. The attention to detail in this hotel is second to none! We can understand now why friends of ours have been returning for the past 13 years, and next year we will be returning with them.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Kirchen 275, Oberau 6311, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Oberau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oberau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tirolerhof is a well loved holiday destination in the Wildschönau Valley. Right from the first moment you'll love the homely, comfortable atmosphere of the hotel and the personal touches that the hotel owners Family Erharter and their staff provide.In winter just next to the ski slopes, in summer a perfect place for walking in the mountains.Indoor pool, sauna, steam room, ... are your places for relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Oberau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirolerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.