We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIFIC” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wakefield Road, Garforth, Leeds LS25 1LH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“HORRIFIC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room the night we were staying and it cost 180 for two rooms.
Everything was just appalling. The rooms were completely outdated, we were not even supplied with tea and coffee just a mars bar and a bottle of water to share! This was one of the most shocking parts.
The beds were springy and the duvets were thin. Even the headboard banged against the wall everytime I moved a muscle.
The facilities (gym and pool) were both rubbish.
I cannot even compliment the service as we had to wait about an hour just to find out whether they had two rooms spare.
The location is not even good, it is about 15minutes away from the city centre and on the side of a roundabout in a small town.
I would never return here!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear emilyjgd,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the over all issues you had during your stay. I want to assure you that out hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    135
    146
    66
    56
See reviews for
86
117
22
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here during a study week, staff were lovely and always helpful. The location is awkward, however, and fairly remote. Other than that, a pleasant experience, especially the staff! Rooms were clean and indoor facilities are reasonable.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah Y, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent visit to our hotel. I was delighted to hear that you were pleased with your guest room and you found our staff to be accomodating. We strive to make our guests feel welcome throughout the whole stay. We hope to have the oppourtunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Y
Admin Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel is situated just in the right place for us to visit all of our family. We stayed for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Our room was OK even with a sofa bed for our daughter - after all it was only a short stay. The bed was comfortable and everything worked as it should. The room and bathroom were clean and well maintained.
Breakfast was great and we really enjoyed taking our time after the majority of guests had gone off to work (believe me retirement is much better ).
We found the bar meals were very good and reasonable value but the restaurant a tad expensive. One point worthy of note is that our daughter is vegan and the hotel really went out of its way to provide food that she could eat - Top marks for this.
The swimming pool and sauna were an added bonus. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
There is ample well lit and secure car parking. It is worth mentioning that this hotel allowed us to take our little nine year old dog - well she is part of the family and has impeccable manners.
We will most definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah Y, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for the recent review following your recent visit to the hotel, this can be really helpful for other tripadvisor users. I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the friendly service, something which we pride ourselves on. We will always go out of our way to provide for the needs of our guests and Im very pleased you appreciated the effort our staff made to make you feel welcomed. It's always great to hear such positive feedback. Thank you very much and I hope to welcome you back in the future for another pleasent stay.

Sincerely,

Sarah Y
Admin Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stopped here for two nights on business. Entrance and bar area all looked good and checked in efficiently with plenty of car park spaces. Bedroom was tired. The duvet and pillows looked like those of an economy hotel limp, not white and lifeless. The room was generally tired and needs updating especially the bathroom. There is a bar to help you get out of the bath on the wall but this just hampered you whilst in it. The tv kept going off in the middle of a programme and you had to wait 20 mins to switch back on. Advised reception on check out as I had plenty on. Room was clean. Breakfast was fine and the buffet lunch provided excellent. In conclusion it was ok but not worthy of £100 per night. Internet was slow but manageable if using hotels wi-fi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Rob M,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here a while back it was really good, nice, warm, close to bus stops, good bus service into leeds, it had a nice swimming pool, very clean good bar, nice staff over all a good stay :) it's cheap if you're coming to the football you get discounts in holiday inn's so thats' even better

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah Y, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to leave a comment following your stay with us. Im very pleased to hear that the location of our hotel was accomodating to you. Im glad that you found the overall stay a great experience. Your positive feedback will be passed on to all of our team who will continue to provide service at this standard. I hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn- Leeds Garforth in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Y
Admin Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent three nights here while working in the area. Rooms were average, not a great deal of space. Naturally due to the location it's for car users but if your on foot the pathways and access is poor. First day at breakfast I got up to return to the buffet tables and returned to my table to find my half finished fry up and my newspaper had been removed. Resorted to the German tactic of leaving my coat over my chair for the last two days. Staff and hotel okay, nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Lee N,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Don't want to sound that I'm just moaning but.... Stayed in a so called executive room.

Initial thoughts were comfy massive king size comfortable bed and a large room.

Switched on the tele to find that only a few channels were available on picture not great from the old tv in the room.

Thought I'd get on with some work. No Internet found whilst sitting at the desk. Logged a call with reception to say Internet was down and proceeded to wait for an hour before reminding them again. Said they logged a call on second phone call then nothing..... I did eventually get onto the Internet whilst standing right by the door. Ideal for an executive room or any room??

Asked for the manager to call me..... No go there.

Lastly a fan constantly started and stopped all night outside the window. Would of been fine if it kept running as you can get used to the drone.

Overall not impressed and won't stay here again. A lot better at the express in Leeds city centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MrJohnportlockson,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth

Address: Wakefield Road, Garforth, Leeds LS25 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Garforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth Hotel Garforth
Holiday Inn Garforth
Garforth Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.