We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Pahalgam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pahalgam Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pahalgam Hotel to your Saves list
Pahalgam Hotel
Pahalgam, Pahalgam 192126, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pahalgam
Gurgaon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Pahalgam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay in this hotel but did spend some time at the hotel and looked at its rooms and facilities.

Comes across as the best place to stay in Pahalgam (though it is expensive by Pahalgam standards). Great location - ideally located in the main road - rooms are a it away from the hustle bustle though, the rooms have good views of the lidder valley and very quiet and peaceful. The furniture is old world amenities are modern, giving u a good mix.

The Cafe Inn and the restaurant are both nice - very good food.

Do check it out - we stayed at the Pine Spring, but would most certainly want to try this place the next time.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    108
    16
    9
    6
See reviews for
163
88
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Loved the view, Loved the hotel. It had great food and service was pretty good!
The rooms were big and clean well furnished. There were some amenities like pool and pingpong!!

Only thing missing was free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Agree with others that entrance & reception are deceptive but once you move in, I can guarantee you would exclaim!! One of the best properties in Pahalgam with lovely wooden rooms and all the more superb views of the rivers and snow clad mountains - from no matter which room you stay, you will have a great view!! The garden outside is worth sitting with majestic views on 3 sides of yours. The staff was courteous and ever helping however you have to stuff them well at the time of leaving or they can be blunt in asking for their dues (tips)! Food is exorbitantly priced however a small joint just outside the hotel gate serves excellent vegetarian & south indian options. Overall a place worth staying once you plan your trip to Pahalgam. Lastly I would say its bit over priced compared to the age of the property however you tend to ignore that being on vacation!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I cannot think of a place I enjoyed so much post 12 midnight.. I had visited the place off-season (December) which meant the place was not packed with people. The best part about my complete stay was a walk I took late at night, with the only noise coming was from the gushing river and overseeing a hill covered with snow which radiated with the moonlight. The staff was quite courteous and the food was good. If you like to enjoy the serenity of a place, so beautiful and calm, this is the hotel to choose when you visit Pahalgam!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moradabad
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed for 2 days in Pahalgam Hotel. This was my first trip to Kashmir and I enjoyed a lot with my pals.Ours ws a 6 nights package from Kashmirmagic.com who give very good Kashmir tours at decent rates nd services.the agent guy Ikram picked us from Airport( and a very jestful guide fr 7 days) nd very amazing 7 days-kashmir,gulmarg ,sonmarg,pahalgam started off..Everything ws fantabulous & I ws amazed by the honesty nd hospitality of kashmiri people

It was well maintained hotel with all the luxurious facilities. I was happy with the location of the hotel it has so many scenic places around it. It’s a must visit place for a serene and idealistic vacations away from the webs of the city.

This hotel is very famous for its comfort which they provide to their customers. I stayed in superior room it was spacious and well maintained room. Spacious accommodation featuring fashionable adornment and imposing sights stretching with attached bath rooms and is provided with a beautiful scenic view. Room has all the essential amenities like television, tea maker and hair dryer.

Fabulous food was available by the talented chefs ; all kinds of food was available like Chinese, Indian,.

The attendant was very well behaved and they knew how to do their job. They all are helpful and friendly. All treatment has been attentively generated to provide a sensory jaunt, whilst keeping its hub on providing clean and friendly baliness spa enjoyment.

Gym was very good it had all the equipment which you need including cardio etc. The trainer was very energetic nd treated guests as regulars.. Only the price are bit higher as compared to other hotel of same class otherwise it was fabulous hotel. I really enjoyed a lot there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The entrance to the hotel can be a bit misleading, but trust me, once you've moved away from the really small reception, and the adjoining dining area, you'll be a lot more at ease. First things first, this is not what you would call a 'Modern Hotel', and I dont think they strive to behave like one either. This is a quaint hotel, with an old world charm. You wont find anything fancy here, the rooms are simple, but comfortable. The bathroom is small, and functional. We had 2 rooms, 1 suite-B, and the room below it. The suite had a small sitting area, with a television and a great view of the Lidder river from the first floor. The room on the ground floor, also had a small enclosure outside the room with a sofa and large windows that offer a great view of the river.

The hotel had a lush green lawn, dotted with tables and chairs, where you could spend the entire day just sitting in the sun. If peace and quiet is what you want, this is the place. We loved everything about the hotel. The food was superb, we had all our meals at the hotel. Its an idyllic location, wish we had spent more time at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I, Jasmine Adesara, stayed at your hotel in Suite A, where checked in on 1st march 2013 and checked out on 3rd march.Our booking is under the name of Manish Adesara. I did call the reception boy to tell them about the pathetic and terrible room conditions that you are providing. I had specially called him to show him the muddy water that was coming in the Bath tub. I got absolutely irritated when he told me that the water was absolutely fine to take a bath. Later I showed him the Suite Room and complained of all that was wrong in the room:-

1) falling paint on top of the bed in the bedroom of the Suite.

2) electrical wires which are not concealed

3) broken commode in the toilet

4) stinking smell in the Toilet which will not go even after spraying room fresheners.

5) broken chain kept in the bedroom

6) unfixed window furniture from which my daughter fell thinking it to be fixed and safe.

7) the dressing mirror where the screw heads are visible and looks untidy

8) very old and dirty carpet in the bedroom portion of the Suite

9) broken side table in the living area of the Suite.

10) I also told that I wanted to use the Games room which was locked to play with my children the day before but no one took care of that.

11) pathetic condition of the ceiling of both the bedroom and living area of the Suite.

The travellers who are reading this must know the fact all this problems and bad conditions of Hotel Pahelgam are of one single stay in one single Suite room.
I forgot to mention the greedy staff that always wanted tips for any services provided.

After showing all these drawbacks to the reception boy, he told me that the authorities do not let them maintain the rooms and they are helpless about it.
This reply encouraged me to check out an similar property and so after checkout on 3rd March, we went for lunch to another Hotel named Senator Pine and Peak, and I requested the boy at the reception to show me the rooms. I was amazed to see the difference between the two. This property had polished ceilings, no broken chairs, no broken comode, no cracks on the walls, no wires visible in the room walls and ceilings, clean and no stinking bathrooms. There was polished and fixed furniture ,walls well painted and everything was well maintained and clean.

So the conclusion is that there is no justification in the reply of the management of Hotel Pahelgam about the terrible state in which we had to stay.

I suggest all Travellers to check their rooms before checking in and take a note of all the bad experiences we faced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pahalgam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahalgam Hotel

Address: Pahalgam, Pahalgam 192126, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Pahalgam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pahalgam - the valley of shepherds is situated at a height of 7200 ft and about 100 kms from Srinagar (nearest access to the airport) sprawling amidst the confluence of River Lidder, Pahalgam is Kashmir's most popular & picturesque resort. Pahalgam hotel and Pahalgam are synonymous, established in 1931 and spread in about 2 acres, the hotel has acquired a name for its rejuvenating ambiance, hospitality and a wholesome tasty cuisine. There are 20 suites and 25 double bedrooms located in different blocks, with a splendid view of the River Lidder and snow-clad mountains. Filmgoers recognize the hotel instantly as it has been very popular with the industry - a number of movies have been shot in the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Pahalgam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahalgam Hotel Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pahalgam Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.