We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahalgam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts
Save
You added JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts to your Saves list
Pahalgam, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Though property is located at a very good location. But overall service has not been great. Housekeeping is not upto the mark. I would not say it is value for money. Beds are not warm in that kind of cold.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
28
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

we stayed in hotel alpine (JKTDC) at aru valley for 2 nights during November 2013.... definitely it is the only well maintained property of JKTDC... i experienced that since i have stayed in all JKTDC properties in gulmarg, yousmarg, sonmarg, srinagar during our JK trip last year... hotel alpine (JKTDC) at aru valley provides very warm hospitality, perfectly located in serene area.... you can very well cover pahalgham places from aru itself... if you stay in aru valley, you can save around 1500 bucks which you have to pay for taxi to visit aru valley... if you ve a booking at hotel alpine, it is not mandatory to hire a taxi from pahalgham stand that means you can reach upto hotel in aru valley with your taxi that you might ve hired in srinagar or somewhere else.... hotel alpine has a nice suite room at reasonable cost... i will surely recommend that room for your stay in aru valley.... All rooms are well maintained... very friendly hotel staff of all the places we ve stayed in JK...plan for at least 2 nights stay here... you will undoubtedly enjoy walking around the tiny aru village along riverside and scenic valley... if you plan for trekking, many routes start from here about which the hotel staff will guide you well... am adding some pics of room and hotel... enjoy your trip in the lap of nature....;)

Room Tip: Go for the suite room... only one available... worth for the money... perfect for couple....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Situated in the lap of the mountains,on the lush green slopes of Pahalgam, a stay in these huts will be enough to relieve you of any headache.We were 13 people and had booked two 2 BHK huts.There were 2 bedrooms,2 bathrooms,1 big siitting cum dining area with a TV in each with a big veranda.We were provided with two attendants who would wait upon us during our 3 day stay.They were very friendly..always apt to have a chat with us or play badminton.There were very obedient too and would listen to all our needs.Although they were unknown to khichdi they still helped us to make it when we craved for it.The rooms were quite cozy and there is effecient hot water supply.The picturesque 360 degree view of the mountains including the snow capped ones will fill your eyes with happiness and make you feel beautiful like themselves.Cold nights were overcomed by the bed-warmers and we had a deep peaceful sleep.You can have a walk on the lush green slopes whenever you are little melancholy.You may bump into a horse among many others who like to stroll in these areas thinking it to be there home.If you are a nature lover...this is your 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Noida, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed in winters and were allocated 2bhk huts. It's better if you have your own car or ask the taxi person to come to your huts after visiting the TRC office at Pahalgaon. You have to visit the TRC office first. Moreover, try to reach there by evening since, the office gets closed after 6 pm I think.
Rooms were clean with basic facilities. Hot water was available and electric blankets/ beds were functional with some delays. The caretaker of huts helped us out with food and snacks. We could not find kitchen in our hut but, I think it was adjacent. The caretaker helped with plates/ utensils.
I find the JKTDC huts and food at Gulmarg better as compared to Pahalgaon. Pahalgaon huts are bit more lonely and independent :). However, if you want to experience nature and spend sometime in the proximity of mother nature then, this is the place.
Do carry basic things like lighter, matches, torch/ small emergency light, electric kettle etc. In case you can tip the caretaker then, he will help you out with everything.

There will be no problem with your luggage also, as they have coolie's and other helpers who can take it to taxi stand at reasonable cost.

Pahalgaon is again colder but, our experience was good staying at JK tourism huts.

Room Tip: Huts closer to market are nice option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

JKTDC Pahelgam means

1. Best location- Virgin green meadows in front of the cottage but 2 mins walk from Pahelgam market n taxi stand. U enjoy the serene nature but have all amenities at stones throw distance.

2. Comfortable rooms with bukhari ( fire place ), electric blower and electric blanket.

3. Spacious rooms with large living room, modern toilets with WC, kitchen (in 1BHK) bedroom (s) and balconies with magnanimous view.

4. Good personalised service of Nasir Bhai.

5. Food by caretaker is expensive. You can buy food from mkt, keep it warm in front of the blower till u eat.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allahabad, India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Very nice two bhk huts& best place to stay but location is average, dey do provide only outside food but one attendant is there with every hut , pahalgam is just heaven but dere is scarcity of good hotels, anyway dis is d nice option

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had done on the spot booking after seeing Hut no.228 & 213.....they were offering 25% discount on Rs. 6000 -2 Bhk hut because on mid season till 15 Nov.......Spacious room and dining area....TV was not working on first night.........Room attendant was not good..... Location of hut is fantastic, near by market and very good view all around........

Room Tip: Choose any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts

Address: Pahalgam, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Pahalgam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Pahalgam
Also Known As:
JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts Pahalgam, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JKTDC Pahalgaon Huts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.