We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tresor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sonnac-sur-l'Hers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Tresor
Save
You added Le Tresor to your Saves list
20 Place de l'Eglise, 11230 Sonnac-sur-l'Hers, France   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfect break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We've just returned from a 3 night mini break at le tresor and it was simply perfect.

If you need to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, this is the place for you.

Comfy beds, lovely linen, cosy rooms. We had dinner twice and they were the best meals we had in france - and lovely to just wander down from your room, sit by the wood burner, be given a glass of local blanquette before enjoying a yummy 3 course meal.

We hadn't been to this area of France before and it's beautiful. Might have had something to do with it being October but it was so quiet everywhere! The roads were a dream and there's so much to see and do in the area.

Le tresor is the kind of place that you don't want to tell anyone about. But Tilly and will have done such a great job that they deserve it.

We'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Just back from a fabulous 6 night stay at Le Tresor and must say it lived up to all expectations and more. The building and decor are gorgeous and the owners, Tilly and Will make you feel very much at home and are on hand for advice if you need it. Breakfast was exceptional, as was the amazing three course dinner you can choose to have at the weekend. We will certainly be recommending Le Tresor to friends, in fact, we have already done so....

If you go make sure you:
- buy apple juice from the farm next door - it's incredible
- try the Syrah stocked in the B&B's honesty bar
- visit the town of Mirepoix
- tour the museum at Carcassonne
- remember your ipod for the docking stations in the bedrooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here on three separate occasions and we love it! The only downside is that we never want to leave. We have stayed in room 1- the suite twice and its absolutely fabulous. The attention to detail at le Tresor is great- beautiful sheets, authentic decor, fresh flowers and an emphasis on good local produce.
Tilly and Will the owners are really friendly and helpful without being intrusive Breakfast is lovely and while we have eaten out plenty in the area, its hard to beat Tillys dinners- she is a great cook. If you are looking for an authentic, comfortable place to unwind in the Languedoc area I could not recommend this place more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Recently traveled to the relatively remote Le Tresor, which is a great base for exploring Cathar country and generally taking life easy. Tilly and Will were always available and very helpful. There were lots of nice little touches that we appreciated; tea in the garden after a long journey, a picnic blanket and towels to take to the lake, the reservations they made at a nearby restaurant. The room (we stayed in the smallest) was perfectly comfortable and overlooked the village square. We would probably have missed air conditioning if it had been much warmer, but the shutters, light colors and high ceilings had an old world charm.
I recommend taking breakfast in the quiet garden and having the locally grown fresh fruit. The table d'hote (only available some nights) was also very good - simple local produce nicely cooked and presented. Overall, we were very happy and thought it was good value for the location and level of service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Le Tresor for three nights in July 2011.

The hotel was easy to find despite being in a small village. There was also ample parking space in a square which was 30 seconds walk from the hotel.

We stayed in Room 2 at Le Tresor which was beautifully furnished, clean and overlooked the courtyard and fountain. The room also had a DVD player (DVDs were available to borrow from the lounge area downstairs) and an iPod dock.

Breakfast was served either at the front of the B&B in the sun, in the dining area or in the garden depending on the weather. You get a wide choice of breakfast options. We tried a number of these and they were all excellent and included a glass of fresh apple juice from the village's orchards.

We stayed at Le Tresor over a weekend which allowed us to sample the dinner which the owners cook on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights. The three course meal was fantastic and comparable to eating in a top quality restaurant. It was also great value at 25 euros per head and served with an aperitif of the local Blanquette (a sparkling wine which pre-dates Champagne).

Le Tresor has a lovely lounge / bar area for you to use with books, DVDs, pool table, bar and TV. The honesty bar is well stocked and any drinks will be added to your bill on departure. The hotel also has a nice garden area which plenty of relaxing seating areas.

We visited Camon, Montsegur and Collioure during our stay and would recommend these for a visit. We also enjoyed the scenery when driving through this region.

We would highly recommend a stay at Le Tresor and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights in room quatre. All in all, it was near perfect experience. The house is nicely decorated, breakfast is awesome, rooms are comfortable but the bathroom needs doing up as it doesn't match the rest of the room/house. The location is great for exploring the region and many trails are just around the corner. Garden is also very nice. What really makes the difference is Will and Tilly sense of hospitality, they really make you feel at ease straight away.
My only negative is that you could well be in England as there is only sky tv, menus are in English, everyone speaks English, even the tea is English and I happen to be French on holiday in France (living in England).

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This accommodation lived up to all expectations. The hosts are wonderful people, who make you feel at home, while at the same time allowing you total freedom in what is effectively part of their home. The garden is a great place to relax in the warm afternoon sun. All of the rooms are spacious, very clean, and have nice touches like L'Occitane toiletries. On the weekends they offer an option of a three course dinner - take up this offer! It was some of the best food on our trip. The location is a good base for cycling, running or hiking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Tresor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Tresor

Address: 20 Place de l'Eglise, 11230 Sonnac-sur-l'Hers, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Sonnac-sur-l'Hers
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sonnac-sur-l'Hers
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Tresor Hotel Sonnac-Sur-l`Hers
Le Tresor France/Sonnac-Sur-L'Hers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tresor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.