We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Pork Hock good as Germany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthaus On The Lake

Gasthaus On The Lake
5790 Beach, Peachland, British Columbia V0H 1X6, Canada
(250) 767-6625
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Peachland
Cuisines: German, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb Pork Hock good as Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a birthday dinner there in the pub on Saturday night and it was very good. I have eaten there 3 times now and think it is as good as any restaurant in Vancouver. The helpings are bigger! I thought it deserved a good report since all 3 times over the last couple of years I have eaten there have been of excellent quality. The service is friendly and prompt. We had eaten out on the lakefront terrace in the summer and the view of the beachfront and lake if ideal. Having eaten both the Wiener Schnitzel and Pork Hock traditional German plates there you cannot wrong with either. My wife had the vegetable cabbage roll and loved it. Well done.....!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    75
    37
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good food, great location, cool building, poor service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped by for some drinks and appetizers in the spring. It was pretty busy for a Sunday afternoon in the off season. Beautiful restaurant with a ton of character I can only imagine how much fun it is in the summer and how packed the large patio must get. With a great view and easy access for both drivers and pedestrains (right along beach ave). Food was great and everything on the tables around us looked excellent. Drinks came in various sizes perfect for light to seasoned drinkers, selection was good. Our service was very poor which was too bad. We had to asked for every refill and always waited with an empty glass, the wait for the bill was as long as the wait for our drinks and food and our waitress walked passed us twice with the debit machine in her hand before stopping to receive our payment. Besides the slow service it was a nice experience, good food, great atmosphere, great location and friendly staff. We'll probably be back.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ktown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“everybody should go at least once”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our server was excellent!! She was very friendly and had a sense of humour. The food was decent however my wife being a european cooks better authentic meals at home. We went for Valentines Day and I thought it was great with the little decor accents they used. I would go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to the Restaurant for my birthday dinner and the food and service was fabulous. My husband's steak was one of the best he had eaten recently, and the pork hock was delicious, as usual. The starters were also excellent. The service is wonderful and they are very accommodating if you want different sides with your dinner.
We usually eat in the Gasthaus Pub which is also great, but this time we opted for the fine dining and were very pleased.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great European Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Every European would love this place. We had a midevil feast party and it was a bit pricey if your not a big eater but alot of food and great food..come with an empty stomach. great atmosphere as well.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gasthaus On The Lake also viewed

Peachland, Okanagan Valley
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 
Peachland, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Gasthaus On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthaus On The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.